We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Conundrum

Conundrum
Ranked #24 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Service was quite slow BUT the food was very good. Staff was friendly. Have a large selection of wines.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard to beat!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is very relaxed and the music is blues but coversational. I had the pork tenderloin and it was excellent! My wife had the portobello mushroom parmigian. She said it just needed a pasta but the sauce was impeccable.

Helpful?
Thank ghey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great back deck, fun, casual atmosphere, good food!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

loved the cheese plate, and the goat cheese bruchetta. The fish tacos were awesome - done a little differently with blackened Mahi Mahi. Entree salad was delicious too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect patio dining”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The food was fresh and the atmosphere upscale casual (?) We loved sitting outside and enjoyed our cocktail and especially our appetizer. Waiter friendly and helpful, but not in the way. Great place to celebrate our anniversary.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gotta love Vinny....and his food!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

While waiting for the hostess to seat us, my wife is eyeing the very welcoming enclosed patio and I'm checking out the array of draft beers. Vinny appears ( me thinking bartender, actually the owner) and.....

V. - Which kind of beer tastes best to you? An IPA? An ale? A stout?
Me - An ale but to the darker side.
V. - Hmm-m-m..... How about I pour a range of samples and you have your own taste test?
Me - Let's do it!

I swear I had not been in Conundrum more than 5 minutes and had a pint of wonderful, local beer in my hand. Even better was his taking my wife through the same journey, except with a selection of red wines.

Vinny has that passion that you hope/want to see in a restaurant owner and was just delightful.

Then came the food....... Wow! First, we shared a bowl of the lobster mac and cheese as an appetizer which is perfect for a party of four. Although it was listed as an entree, we ordered it as an appetizer. Very creamy and perfect with a bacon flavor as a teaser. Our table of four shared the salmon (fantastic sauce!) and the duck (lots of yummmms) and the fish tacos (Yikes yummy!) and a lobster roll (which my wife refused to share!)

Oh-h-h.........then the desserts! Lemon pie and a chocolate creme de pot.....shared by four. A perfect ending!

Off the tourist driven beaten path but well worth the extra 2 miles (?), Conundrum is a local treasure!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conundrum also viewed

 

Been to Conundrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing