We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night in Maine”
Review of Applewood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Applewood Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Just returned home after a wonderful visit to Freeport for a little Christmas shopping. We spent the night at a lovely B & B, the Applewood Inn, We arrived late, but our key was waiting for us and our room was beautifully designed, warm, cozy and very clean. We enjoyed a delicious dinner this morning cooked and served by the family that own the inn. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

Kids loved the suite with the loft. The breakfast was excellent and the coffee just to my liking. Facilities were first rate and the location is right in Town backing on LL Bean. What sets this place apart is the people who run it. They work hard to satisfy and go above and beyond to make our vacation pressure free.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The Applewood Inn is spotlessly clean and lovely. It's a small family owned business, which makes it very special. I must rave about the delicious breakfasts (the best French toast ever) and helpful staff. In ten days it was a "home away from home".

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our 2nd stay in Freeport and 1st at the Applewood. We had a great time with a lovely family! Our room was great and clean. Aircon was dropped in as soon as the temperature got up.Everyone went out of their way to help us. Very recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Because I was picking up my girlfriend late at night from the train station we decided that we wanted to stay at a place close by rather than drive all the way back up to bar Harbor that night.
I started making calls late at night and Jay was definitely the most helpful and friendly person i got on the phone.
Jay and his family were warm and welcoming, the room was large clean and very comfortable, and if we had been there for shopping in Freeport the location can't be better.
I give sea kayak tours in Bar Harbor and Jay and i exchanged stories and ideas about running tourist related businesses in Maine.
Small locally owned independent businesses with hands on owners is part of what Maine is all about. You would be much better off staying at the Applewood than one of the larger motels or hotels especially if you are looking for a romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcadiaParkKayakTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This inn is extremely overpriced and is infected with bed bugs!! The owners are rude and stuck up and are verbally abusive to their poor children.. There are wonderful places located in the heart of freeport that put this establishment to shame. Beware Jays overly happy and fake exterior, when I complained about the bug situation I was disrespected and refused a refund!! Don't be fooled!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cbrendan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We made the last minute decision to spend a night in Freeport, and when I called Jay, he was extremely accommodating. And from the moment we arrived, everything about our stay was superb. The room was clean, comfortable and lacked nothing. The location is close to all the shopping and dining you could want in Freeport. And their breakfast was perfect--we had a choice between several options and all were delicious. We ended up extending our stay an extra night because we found the place and the family so enjoyable.

I cannot recommend this inn too highly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSometimesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Freeport
Econo Lodge Freeport
#11 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Freeport Brunswick Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Address: 8 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1205
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Applewood Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing