We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great touches”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, great touches”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Very nice hotel, although we could have done with some help with the bags at 18.30! Excellent room, really good buffet breakfast and loved the free afternoon tea, if we ever come to Freeport again we will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevetherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    166
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
206
477
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is an excellent hotel and restaurant. It really gives you all the comforts of home with a little bit of fine dining thrown in. Their service far exceeded my expectations. I will be returning next year and many more to come...

Room Tip: the corner suites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Harraseeket Inn while visiting family friends in Maine. The location is great for shopping the outlets in Freeport and it had convenient highway access to other points of interest in the Portland area. The breakfast buffet is extensive and the baked items, especially blueberry muffins, were excellent and we also enjoyed dinner at the onsite Broad Arrow Tavern. There are many other restaurants in walking distance. There is also coffee and pastry in the lounge all morning. The indoor pool and exercise room are small but very modern and well kept. While in Freeport we took advantage of LL Bean's Walk-on Adventures where one can go kayaking, fly fishing or shooting for about $20 per person.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNYC_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed in one of the Carriage House rooms with 3 dogs. The spacious room was great with a fireplace, a jacuzzi tube and a nice sitting area. Breakfast and Tea are included. The staff is great and will do their best to meet your requests. The Carriage House rooms are close to Route 1so you get some traffic noise but it did not effect our ability to sleep.

The hotel is a short walk from LLBean and the other stores in Freeport. Freeport is a great location to reach other interesting areas in coastal Maine such as Camden, Wiscasset and Portland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlf_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This hotel does not look much from the reception and the outside but it's a real gem. We checked in and were given a king room with jacuzzi bath which was just the ticket as we were in the middle of a hurricane and it's nice not be squashed into a room with a shower only. The reception staff were excellent and had great knowledge of the area. I was really impressed with the recycling bins in the bathroom and the ethical amenities. This really makes the hotel stand out amongst others. I would have loved to have seen more of Maine but was unlucky with the weather. I tend not to eat in the hotels as I like to see as much of the towns as possible whilst travelling, but the tavern here was so good we ate there both nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arwen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Booked a last minute overnight at the Harraseeket Inn for one night over Labor Day weekend. ($280) Third floor room with a jacuzzi tub. Nice, clean, traditional New England Inn style room. Bathroom was nothing fancy but was spotless and the jacuzzi tub was big enough for two. My only complaint about the room was that we could hear our next door neighbor snoring. He was sawing wood. Thank God for the iPhone white noise app! I get frustrated when you can hear your neighbors, but considering the age of the Inn everything else was very comfortable and accommodating.
My husband and I have frequented the Broad Arrow Tavern on our annual trips to Freeport in the fall, and my girlfriends and I have also frequent the formal Dining Room during our annual "Freeport Sparkle Weekend" shopping trips. I love both restaurants, however this time the Broad Arrow Tavern was disappointing in both quality and flavor of the food. Ribs were smothered in too much sauce, and my hubbys sirloin steak was a bad, fatty cut. Service was great and we chalk up the food to bad luck, because we have always had fabulous meals here. The hot breakfast buffet was great. Tasty and a good variety.
Overall, if you are considering a stay in Freeport and you want the "New England" experience I would recommend the Harraseeket Inn if you don't mind $200++/night. I looked at it as a splurge. The location is great because they are two blocks from the outlets so it's convenient to spend the day shopping without having to find a parking space behind LL Bean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luved_kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're so sorry about your dining experience in the Broad Arrow Tavern. Our ribs and steaks are usually excellent, being both naturally raised and locally sourced. We will definitely research both menu items with Chef Eric. We hope you brought this to the attention of your server but if you didn't, please contact the inn so we can get more details and address the problem more completely, and to your satisfaction. Your meal should have been perfect. As to the snoring, holy cow. The walls between the guest rooms are sound proofed and all we can say is, the snorer's DbA's must have overwhelmed the sound proofing! We're very sorry. If anything along those lines happens in the future, at our inn or any other place you're staying, contact the front desk. Our staff is highly skilled at handling just about any situation and a good nights sleep is what ALL of our guests expect and deserve.
Thank you again for your review, and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, Usa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Arrived just in time for Hurricane Irene! Spent the windy/rainy day at an excellent brunch in the dining room, swimming in the indoor pool and sampling sandwiches, pastries and tea at the afternoon tea. The front desk was moving at lightning speed as many reservations were being made/cancelled and rescheduled. After a problem with our original room, they promptly moved us to better accomodations. It was exceptional service at a difficult time for any hotel- especially with power going out in most of the town and part of the hotel. Even though the employees must have had worries of their own-homes with no power, etc. they were totally professional and focused. Can't say enough great things about the food or the service- many thanks to Karen at the front desk who saved the beginning of our vacation!!!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bellagirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review! It's quite a balancing act for the Harraseeket Inn to stand with one foot firmly planted in the eighteenth century, embracing traditional Maine hospitality, and the other in the twenty first, striving to keep apace of techonology. We'd like to think Deborah Rose Dillingham, the original innkeeper who lived here back in the late 1700's (and served food to travelers on the stage line between Portland and Brunswick while her husband, a blacksmith, tended the horses), would still recognize the Carriage House, which was both the stage stop and her home. But to keep up with modern technology, we're upgrading all our old TV's to flat screens this year, a nod to both their dazzling picture quality and improved energy efficiency.

Our staff is second to none in the business and they are like family to us. More than a few have been with us for over twenty years, which makes the "kid thing" even more special. We've seen each other's kids grow up over the years, with guests and staff alike sharing some very special memories. We want everyone, young and old, to feel at home here.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing