We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place; cold entrees in the morning”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great place; cold entrees in the morning”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

All is wonderful regarding the Harraseeket. Tqwo points, however.

1) they have a 3 day cancellation policy. As such, we had to wait 'til that day to call for a room. (We're driving from Chicago and didn't know if we'd get that far.) This, however, worked to our advantage in getting a good rate. Had we had a reservation, and encountered severe weather, however, we'd have lost the full night's payment.

2. Most of their heralded "free" breakfast was fine, except for the pancakes and sausage. They were cold. Obviously, they'd been sitting there a while and no one from the staff ever checked. Not a huge problem, but considering what they charge ... it's a disappointment. (Note, I was very happy that they didn't serve those frozen egg dishes I encountered earlier in the trip.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to bring our attention to these matters. We apologize for the cold entrees at breakfast and have passed your comments on to our morning crew, who usually keep a keen eye on the sternos under the chafing dishes. Nobody should have to eat cold eggs!

We do have a three day cancellation policy on advance reservations. However, we've never withheld a complete refund of an advance deposit when bad weather (or illness) forced a last minute change in travel plans. Maine weather can be unpredictable at times and our cancellation policy is flexible. We don't want people driving when the roads are treacherous.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    165
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
205
473
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were scheduled to check in on Friday of Columbus Day weekend in the early evening but due to a huge traffic backup in Boston area we didn't arrive until 9:25PM. Craig at the front desk had changed our Maine Dining Room res from 8:15 to 9:30 PM after several frantic phone calls. We got to the Dining Room at 9:30 (closing time) and were welcomed like it was 7:00 PM! Our waitress Christine was fabulous and never rushed us and made great recommendations including desserts when we now the only people left in the restaurant! Then up to a fabulous room, great bed and a wonderful breakfast buffet the next morning. The apple coffee cake (?) was one of the best breakfast pastries ever!!! Overall, a beautiful experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoefro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stopped in Freeport to visit the shops on our trip home to Virginia. It rained all day and my husband suggested we spend the night instead of driving in the rain at night. Boy was this a good idea! We had no idea what was available in town. We asked an employee of LL Bean where she would stay and she immediately said the Harraseeket Inn. We called and made reservations.
We arrived in our room and there was a problem so we went downstairs to inform the front desk and were upgraded to a king suite with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. They asked if we wanted the valet service to help with our luggage. This was so nice. I was so excited when I saw the room. It was gorgeous. The room was huge.It had a beautiful pillow top mattress, flat screen tv, couch, refrigerator and coffee maker (these were not in the first room we were given) . The front desk informed me they were upgrading rooms.
We went down for appetizers and drinks in the Broad Arrow Tavern. This was a very comfortable dining establishment. The service was excellent. A little pricey, but about what things cost in Freeport. I liked that you could order a bottle of wine and bring it to your room .The appetizers were delicious. The next morning we had the complimentary breakfast buffet. There was quite a selection on the buffet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prnrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My D-I-L and I have been staying here every Oct for eleven years when we make our yearly New England trip. It's one of the lovliest places I've ever stayed. The staff is a treasure, the food and facilities are first class and the Broad Arrow is a great place to hang out, eat, and watch our favorite football team, the Patriots. I highly recommend it to any one who enjoys "first class." Thanx Harraseeket

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stumbled upon the Harraseeket Inn several years ago on our way back from skiing at Surgarloaf, Maine. We arrived tired and hungry in the evening and were met by a gracious hostess who told us about their "Mainer Special" If you stay over Sun-Mon and eat at their restaurant you get a fabulous rate on a room with breakfast included. We took her up on the offer and had a romantic meal by the fireside in their superb restaurant. Our room was cozy and also had its own fireplace. Our expectations had already been exceeded when we arrived for breakfast the next morning. Absolutely delicious homemade breads, biscuits, muffins amidst a bountiful buffet. The experience was so memorable that we have made the Harraseeket an annual post-skiing tradition.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The Harraseeket Inn came highly recommended and did not disappoint. The staff was outstanding, the room was lovely (turn down service with chocolates and white fluffy robes!) and the location is superb (on Main St, north of the shops but in walking distance to everything). We ate in both the Maine Dining Room and the Broad Arrow Tavern and the food was incredible! The atmosphere is welcoming with special touches throughout. Tea and snacks each afternoon, adirondacks on the lawn, fires burning in the fireplaces - to name a few.. We booked one of the Inn's 3 night package deals and it was a very good value.
It was our first visit to Freeport and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tee1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Very nice hotel, although we could have done with some help with the bags at 18.30! Excellent room, really good buffet breakfast and loved the free afternoon tea, if we ever come to Freeport again we will definitely return

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevetherover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
16.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing