We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and beautiful”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent two nights for a husband/wife getaway. Staff was superb and the grounds are beautiful. Not your cookie cutter hotel layout, it has that wonderful New England charm and character. It's wonderful to walk around Freeport with all the shopping available. Comfortable King Bed, loved the fluffy robes, and the turn down service was nice! Great breakfast also! Two items that took away from an 'excellent' rating: two person jacuzzi tub did not live up to what we paid extra for. I'd say it's more of a 'two short person tub or one tall person'. We got laughing thinking about a couple we know who are both about 6 feet tall - would NOT work for them! We were hoping to hang out at the Broad Arrow Tavern to watch our favorite team in the playoffs but there were only a few chairs in front of the bar w/ the TV. Ended up going to Gritty's for the game. But the food was great and the overall stay was wonderful. We would return for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2Nobletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

It was our anniversary and they went out of their way to make sure every moment was magical. We checked into our room, and to our amazement, they surprised us with a gorgeous complimentary cheese & fruit plate with a beautiful, warm HANDWRITTEN notecard from the owners.

We were in room 222 which had a huge king bed, flat screen TV, bureau & a wood-burning fireplace. Yes - an actual wood-burning fireplace. Good-sized jacuzzi tub/shower, pedestal sink, toilet and big fluffy towels in a good sized bathroom. Big comfy robes were provided as well. Very quiet at night.

We had dinner later that night at the Black Arrow Tavern which is located right on the bottom floor of The Harraseeket. Wide variety of menu options. Casual atmosphere. Beautiful fireplace. I had the 1/2 chicken dinner and my husband had the prime rib special. Both dinners were absolutely delicious. They are really proud of their support of local farms & fishermen and it shows. Sheila was our waitress and she was absolutely amazing. We never wanted for anything. Impeccable service.

When we got back to our room, they had turned down the bed, left these adorable little wrapped starfish chocolates on the pillow, and replenished the ice in the wine bucket. We felt so spoiled!

Breakfast buffet the next morning was hot, fresh, delicious & included in the room rate. Again - everything was fresh & locally grown. No powdered eggs here. We got there towards the tail end and everything was still so hot & fresh. Loved it.

The Harraseeket Inn gave us an incredible anniversary experience we will never forget. You have to try this place. It's amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BostonFabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your anniversary celebration! Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. You made our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We just returned from a night,s stay in one of the townhouse rooms with our family. The room,s were dated and overcrowded with large outdated furniture, the mattress was so old and out of shape my back still hurts, and the smell in the rooms was funky. The pull out sofa was not fit for anyone to sleep on,thank goodness we brought a blow up mattress. Nothing at the Breakfast buffet was children oriented. The staff was very friendly, and I will say staying at the town house with the kid,s was very relaxing having the outdoor play area to yourself. The kid,s had a lot of fun in the pool .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabrina1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take all complaints very seriously and your comments are being reviewed among our staff members. We use Serta Presidential pillow top mattresses in our rooms and our head housekeeper is on a mission to find the mattress that prevented you from getting the good nights sleep you (and every guest) deserves. We'd love to hear from you regarding what we could add to our breakfast buffet to make it more fun for the kids. We want everyone to have a good experience when they're on vacation, especially our littlest guests. When they're happy, the parents are happy! Thank you again for your input and we hope you give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spent two nights here for my wide's birthday. We had a beautiful king room with a double jacuzzi. We thought it was great until we saw discolored water in the tub. It turns out the city was flushing hydrants. The staff and general manager were wonderful and did everything they could by moving our room to avoid this problem. In fact the general manager met with us personally and arranged for our final room change. He could not have been nicer. We had a couple of real nice dinners at the inn as well as two wonderful breakfasts. We shopped downtown until we could not walk anymore and returned each day for afternoon tea which featured fruits, cheeses, cookies, brownies and of course tea. It was an interesting start, but the two days were very enjoyable and relaxing. We have been here several times over the years and will continue to return. Kudos to the staff at Harraseeket! ! Keep up the good work! If you are looking for a relaxing break and want to shop until you drop, come to the Harraseeket.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanderneucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

We're so glad your stay ended on a good note, and very sorry that the town chose that particular day to flush the hydrants. We typically get same-day notice from the town, which is barely enough time to warn our laundry staff NOT to run any linens through the wash. We thank you for your loyal patronage and for taking the time to post your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

If life or business takes you toward Freeport, Maine, you should stay at the Harraseeket Inn. It's a lovely Inn, in the grand traditions of New England – in both design and atmosphere. The Broad Arrow tavern, located on the premises, offers excellent casual food. It's a great place to relax after a hard day of shopping at the local factory outlets. And don't forget LL Bean. It's less then a five minute walk. A very good buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. In fact, it's the best included breakfast I have had anywhere during my travels. There is also an afternoon tea – very civilized. Also included. The Inn has recently added an outside fire pit, which is a great place to meet fellow travellers for casual conversation over marsh mellows. I have stayed at the Harraseeket half a dozen times over the past three years and have always been delighted.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianCEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review, you made our day! We're glad you were able to take advantage of Freeport in the off-season, when the sales are big and the crowds are small. We look forward to hosting you again and hope you have a great spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

They are always pleasant and accommodating.
We come back twice a year. The tavern and dining room are both excellent.

Room Tip: I like all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Gourmet locally sourced dining and well-chosen wine list in the Maine Dining Room (try oysters and the Pinot Blanc); immense wood-fired ovens prepare everything in the atmospheric tavern; high-count Egyptian cotton sateen sheets on pillow-top mattresses; "Old New England" atmosphere with all modern comforts, meeting rooms, etc.; if the staff were any more friendly or helpful it would be embarrassing (especially to us New Englanders). But that's just the routine stuff.

We arrived Friday night before St. Patrick's day. Transmission in our 99 Ford was skipping. Overnight the car bled to death -- wouldn't move. All local mechanics apparently Irish, not working that Saturday. I expected to nurse the car to Mt. Desert with continuous transfusions of transmission fluid. Asked at the desk for location of nearest gas station. I was informed that the general manager had more mechanical apptitude than she and would be summoned.

"Chip" Gray appeared forthwith, asked to see the "patient," diagnosed loss of transmission fluid, dismissed my concerns about leaking into the crankcase, and more or less demanded that I accompany him to a not-too-distant parts store to get more fluid, fill up the transmission, and figure out what was leaking. We did that (in his truck fueled by used vegetable oil from the kitchen; he also admitted during the drive that he's an experienced airplane engine mechanic, among many other things), filled the transmission, found the leak, visited his stockpile of used hose and tools in a part of the hotel I am forbidden to admit having visited, and returned to the car. With Swiss Army knife, mini-tube-cutter, and hose clamps, he fixed the problem (I'm making a long story short), prescribed a series of test drives so he could make sure leaks had stopped, and sent us on our way after showing me the trailor he would use to come get us and lug our car back to Freeport if we called and said the fix hadn't held. Chip said this was all in fulfillment of his vision of a "Full-Service Inn."

Turns out the Harraseeket is family-owned, Chip's mother Penny is the Owner who responds to all these Trip Advisor reviews, who had greated us heartily several times that morning on the stairs and elsewhere, and to whom Chip had apologized that taking care of us clients would make him late to lunch. The Tavern (and I'm sure much of the rest of the fine features) are fulfillment of her visions and dreams, and she can surely count on Chip to continue this.

Also important to me, who spent teenage years on a Massachusetts dairy farm fixing machinery with baling wire so we could make hay before the sun stopped shining: not only was a dreadful start to a week-long break for us Grandfolks averted -- IT WAS FUN!

So, besides that it's a great place to stay on the way Down East, our experience at the Harraseeket had a big impact on our joy in living and our faith in the good-will of mankind. And in technology -- the ablity to use what you know, and what you have at hand, to do or get what you need. True from the stone age until today.

I expect I've embarrassed Chip with these comments, and would request that you NOT save your routine auto repairs for your visit to the Harraseeket.

Thanks for reading!

=Grumpy Joe=

Room Tip: Stay at the Harraseeket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrumpyJoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that all worked out with the vehicle problems you encountered. Chip enjoys tinkering on gadgets, machines and vehicles, (including airplanes), almost as much as he enjoys meeting guests like yourself. He's our go-to MacGyver here at the Harraseeket. We hope the rest of your Maine journey was delightful and that you visit us again soon!
p.s. Chip says to tell you that the one-legged crow prefers blueberry muffins to crackers, he feeds it one every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
332 reviews
16.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,488 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £129 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing