We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place in Maine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northport, New York
1 review
“Our favorite place in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We have stayed up and down the Maine coast and east and west, but our hearts and stomachs always go back to the Harraseeket. We stayed at a 'more famous' resort up the coast a few weeks back and kicked ourselves that we didn't stay here (so we came every night for dinner at the Tavern!) We have been coming for years, and we always feel welcome with warmth and sincerity. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acuamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    161
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
191
456
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
221 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We've always been charmed by the Harraseeket Inn's appearance -- the white columns, gardens, huge pumpkins in Fall and flowers in Summer. We've walked through the lobby many times on our way to the Broad Arrow Tavern, taking a break from nearby outlet shopping, but we finally got to stay at the Inn on our latest trip to Maine. It was all that we expected.
We took one of the smaller rooms (with smaller prices) with an eaved ceiling & it was great - clean, comfortable, quiet. We had a large bath w/ nice shower and bathrobes. The staff was warm and friendly and people seemed to be enjoying themselves -- sitting on the patio around the fire pit, in the comfortable lounge, at the (very large) indoor pool. If you want an old inn, but also want modern plumbing, comfort and quiet this should do.
A generous breakfast is included in your stay as well as 'tea' - fruit, pastries, snacks, etc. in the afternoon. On this same trip we spent one night at the nearby Hilton Garden Inn and found the Harraseeket Inn to be a much better value and definitely a superior property. And the Harraseeket is just such a special part of Freeport.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Wow. Thank you from all of us at the Harraseeket Inn! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

I am a regular contributor to tripadvisor and rarely give the full five star support however on this occasion the hotel and its staff are truly exceptional and deserve the accolade. My wife and I just spent three days at the inn and thought the service was wonderful. The reception was helpful without being intrusive and the hotel restaurants were first class. The Sunday buffet is fresh and generous. Interestingly, we ate every evening at the hotel and sat with locals who keep returning to the areas best kitchen. I have no hesitation in offering my recommendation. Go and enjoy!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Your recommendation made our day. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of a fly drive tour of New England. We were disappointed to have been placed in the annexe next to the building so did not feel part of the Inn experience. It had no lifts so cases had to be carried up - whilst not a long way it would be struggle for those not able to lift and carry a case. The hotel itself was good with a roaring fire in the main reception and the restuarant was busy and the good food was well served. Reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. On the second night we ate in the Tavern and it was (for us) much more comfortable and less formal. The room was modern, clean and the bed was comfortable. We would not stop over in Freeport again as it is really only a town with outlet shops which did not interest us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your lodging and dining experience. We're very sorry the bellman didn't assist you with your bags and we will check into that situation. Guests staying in our Carriage House don't have the advantage of the elevators in the main building and a bellman should have been at your service to handle your luggage. The Carriage House is actually one of the oldest portions of the inn, built in the 1700's and originally used as a way station for the stage that ran between Portland and Brunswick. Deborah Rose Dillingham fed the passengers whlie her husband (the village blacksmith) tended the teams. While many come to Freeport for its unparalleled shopping, this town also offers a wonderful variety of recreational persuits, thanks to its scenic location on the Maine coast. Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park has the most beautiful hiking trails along the rugged shoreline overlooking Casco Bay, Wolfe's Neck Farm is right next door, offering many seasonal activities in a spectacular coastal setting. Bradbury State Park is just a short distance from the inn (an incredible place to "hawk watch") and the Pettingill Farm, owned by the Freeport Historical Society, is a little known gem of a salt water farm on the tidal Harraseeket River that transports the visitor back in time a century or more. Antiquing is also a fun way to spend the day, and LLBean offers their Outdoor Discovery Schools and Walk-On Adventures for those who want to try their hand at kyaking, archery, skeet shooting, fly fishing and of course the winter persuits including cross country skiing and snowshoeing. Lots to do and see in Freeport, even for those who don't like to shop! We hope you enjoyed your time in New England!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

First off let me start by saying the establishment is fantastic in every way. The food is remarkable and my room was extraordinary! that being said, i had been going out for the evening when i overheard an employee using foul language toward another employee. This totally put me off as i thought this was a respectable place and i feel as though this may deter me from returning in the future. I don't need to hear these things when i am on vacation. Other than this incident, my stay was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank don t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
You have our sincere apologies. We would really like to hear more about this incident so that we can get an idea of where this took place. At no time should any employee be using foul language on the property. Ever. Please email further details to harraseeke@aol.com, attention Chip or Penny Gray, and thank you very much for bringing this to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We love the ambiance of this old but updated inn. The location is wonderful (walk to shops and LLBean!)! The modern bathrooms are impressive. We especially enjoyed eating at the Tavern! Continental Breakfast included.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are convenient during bad weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadianichols, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! To clarify for review readers: our room rates include afternoon tea and a full buffet breakfast which is served in the Maine Dining Room. The continental set out in the Drawing Room is for early risers who might want to enjoy a cup of coffee and pastry before the dining room opens at seven or while waiting to join friends or family for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

On a long fall weekend, my family planned a trip to Maine. While the "leep peeping" left something to be desired, the Harraseeket Inn made up for it with its gracious hospitality. The staff from the initial phone call to checking out, made us feel that we were appreciated. The Sunday brunch was worth the drive from Boston with an abundance of food; including split lobster. After tea was yummy with finger sandwiches and wonderful mini scones. Nothing elaborate, but a nice respite after an afternoon of shopping. Our room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. There were a few hiccups; a screw came off of the intake valve of the jacuzzi and the outlet cover was pulled away from the wall, but overall the room was lovely. It was a warm fall weekend which meant that flies were buzzing around the dining room... a bit of a turnoff, but I guess that was beyond their control. Access to shopping was convenient and the evening fire pit made for a nice spot to enjoy a glass of wine. A lovely weekend for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main inn... so I'm not sure of what the annex rooms were like. The third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppleasants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
16.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
16.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing