We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haraseeket is a real steal”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Haraseeket is a real steal”
Reviewed 26 June 2008

We booked their "Steal Away" package - three nights with 2 dinner meals for $540.

One meal is in the more traditional Maine Dining Room - here, you can order anything on the menu and it's included. Our bill (without wine or tip) came to $135. It could have been $200. They don't have any hiden exceptions.

Our second meal was in the more informal Broad Arrow Tavern. Again, it was open for us. Our bill came to about $90 - but it could have been much more.

The food in both dining rooms is very, very good.

Your package also includes one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever experienced, as well as a very generous afternoon tea.

The only drawback was the extreme lack of space for toiletries in the bathroom. We had to utilize a drawer in the bureau.

While Freeport is very centrally located, there is very little life outside the Beab outlet. It's well located for touring other parts of Maine, however.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    166
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
206
477
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
470 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

This is a beautiful old hotel that is not just a chain. It is right down the street from LL Bean's and you can walk all over Freeport. The room we had was on the second floor and was really spacious and clean. We had a lovely view of the garden. There is a spacious parking lot behind the hotel, so it isn't a hassle to go in and out. The breakfast that comes with the room was very good. I think this is a nice, classy inn for Freeport.

  • Liked — Beautiful and classy looking inn
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Selected this hotel because it was dog friendly (we have a yellow Lab) and had great reviews. Our stay was excellent! The hotel has a limited amount of pet friendly rooms in its "Carriage House." Pets are not allowed in the main hotel building. The rooms were very clean and there was a pet welcome package which was a nice touch. The staff was extremely helpful/pleasant both at reception and in the restaurant. An excellent buffet breakfast loaded with local foods was included in the room rate. The hotel is just a short walk into town for the stores and sites. The pet fee was a reasonable $20.

  • Liked — Dog Friendly, Clean, and Pleasant Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank breezdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scallonized
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

My husband and I was givin a room no bigger than a state room on a cruise ship. What was worse was the slanted ceiling. My husband being 6 feet kept banging his head every time he would walk about the closet (room ) The room was clean, the breakfast very good. For the money we spent for 2 nights, well lets just say we will never stay there again. We were very uncomfortable.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scallonized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

We were very happy with a 3-day stay at this property last year (May 2007) and when United ruined our connections and necessitated stretching our trip a day for our trip in May 2008, we added that day in Freeport at the Harraseeket.

While we chose a more modest room this time (queen, garden-view) the hotel was almost empty, and yet they placed us in a modified attic, in #315. Honestly, more than half the square footage of the room had a sloping ceiling down to roof-windows with no view at all - a real hazard to my 6-foot tall husband.

We had this reservation for 3 months, and as a returning guest, I was very surprised with the accommodations. We were tired and only staying one night, so gave them feedback when we left, rather than making a fuss. However, this has soured us slightly on the Inn, and will probably have us looking elsewhere for the one-night stays in future. Bad business on their part, I thought.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derring_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

To me, the Harraseeket Inn fulfills every reason to pay $150 for a night,s stay. The friendly, helpful service, the buffet-style breakfast (that,s included!), the comfort and simplicity of the New England architecture/decor, the clean and quiet grounds, the food...I could go on.

If you ever grow tired of chain-hotels, next time you,re in Maine, stay at the Harraseeket Inn.

  • Liked — The whole experience.
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank London9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Great location, great food, wonderful setting.

  • Liked — Wonderful setting, close to shopping.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GandT-n-WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing