We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas In Maine, USA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Christmas In Maine, USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed in The Harraseeket Inn, Freeport, Maine for 10 days over the Christmas holiday. We could not fault anything about this holiday. Everyone was so friendly, the Inn was clean, the food was excellent. Breakfast everyday consisted of a huge selection from cakes, eggs, bacon, beans, pancakes, porridge, cereals, bread, etc.and never ending supply of hot coffee or tea. Filled up every morning so much so that we didn't need to eat any lunch. They also served afternoon tea for an hour which was great also. If you were an early riser you could go down and get yourself coffee, tea, orange juice and cereal before breakfast commenced. The weather was as expected, snowy and beautiful. They are truly geared up for the weather all the roads and pathways were cleared every day so you could happily walk round the outlet stores. The Inn was in walking distance of the town so no real need to get the car out excpet for when we went exploring other areas. Visited Boston which was about hour and half away, then drove to New York on our final day which took five and half hours, but the roads are so good was very easy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about visiting Freeport.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are within the courtyard away from the main road. Ours didn't have a fireplace b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandt1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Harraseeket Inn! Christmas in Maine is pretty hard to beat. The village of Freeport is just beautiful in winter, especially when dressed up for the holidays. Thank you for your review and we wish you and yours good health and happiness in 2014.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    161
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
191
456
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Love the (casual) restaurant! Staff is always so pleasant and even though the place is always busy, they are always kind and talkative. And the food never disappoints! My favorite is their lobster roll. The soups and stews are good too. A must if you are in the area! Call ahead if you are going on a Sunday ... No reservations accepted but they will start a list. Helpful when traveling with little kids. :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KetelAndCran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your meal in our Broad Arrow Tavern. Our chefs are provided with the freshest and finest local ingredients raised and harvested by Maine farmers and fishermen. We don't take reservations in the tavern but we do in our Maine Harvest Dining Room, which offers a great New England menu and includes tableside preparations as well. We are proudly partnering with Maine Organic Farmers and Growers Association and the Maine Farmland Trust to serve our guests the very best. Thank you for your review and we hope you dine with us again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very nice hotel with a fabulous restaurant. Our room was nice, but was a bit small with too much furniture. Bathroom was nice. Location is great and you can walk to all the shops in Freeport. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is excellent. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joym126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your review! As we head into winter season we'll be renovating our guest rooms and making improvements with an eye to guest comfort. We'll pay close attention to the amount of furniture, too. We hope to see you again in 2014!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

A fantastic place to stay!!!!!! The room was beautiful and very quiet. The afternoon tea was outstanding with delicious food and as a special treat the worlds best eggnog. We ate several times at the Broad Arrow Tavern in the hotel and the food and service was terrific. The morning buffet for breakfast was excellent.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quiltdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your review! The village of Freeport is so beautiful this time of year, the festive decorations really get everyone in the holiday spirit! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Happy holidays to you and yours!
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred454
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Recently attended a company event at the Inn. Space was bright and very comfortable.Staff were attentive. However, the food at the lunch buffet was out of this world-fabulous. They were able to feed a large group efficiently and we we able to get back to our business. I would strongly recommend for any business meetings

Room Tip: did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We're so glad your business meeting was a success! Our sales staff works very hard to meet and exceed the expectations of our meeting planners and to make every business meeting a memorable one in all the right ways. Your review is much appreciated and we wish you a happy holiday season!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I was there quite a while ago, but remember that everyone there was especially nice, great food, really "Maine" environment. White everywhere, weathered but kept up beautifully. Classic!
Shopping at L.L. Bean, stay at Harraseeket. For a large inn, the food is excellent. Very wonderful breakfast with everything you could imagine. Dinners charming, cozy. Lobsters, perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you have such good memories of your stay with us and hope you get a chance to visit again. Right now the village looks so beautiful all dressed up for the holidays and the halls are decked with holly here at the Harraseeket Inn. We wish you and yours a wonderful holiday season and a bright, healthy and happy New Year!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

This was a very pleasant surprise. This Inn is wonderful and close to everything you want to see. There is so much to do in the Inn itself with the Tavern and all so there is never a dull moment. Staff is great and rooms are very nice. Thanksgiving dinner is to die for.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed our Thanksgiving Day Grand Buffet and your recent stay with us. Thank you for your review and we wish you a wonderful holiday season!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
16.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
16.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing