We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful inn!”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Walpole
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful inn!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just spent two nights at this great inn--extremely well maintained and very attractive with terrific, friendly staff and outstanding food. Breakfast and brunch buffets are among the best and dinner in the Broad Arrow Tavern was very, very good. Afternoon tea is exceptional as well. It is in a perfect location--very close to LL Bean and countless outlets and local shops. Would highly recommend this inn. We honestly could not find one negative thing about the inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    166
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
206
477
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reading, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Harraseeket Inn is in most respects a very good hotel. Our room was pleasant, and public areas elegant, in particular the sitting-room.There are only two minor qualifications - the first is trivial - not enough recliners by the pool. The second is more important - the formal restaurant needs work. The menu is interesting but unfortunately it is clear that the chef who devised it is not actually at the stove and execution left a good deal to be desired.(The tavern which has lower ambitions does better and is deservedly more popular)However we enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janettat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We sometimes overlook the simplest of things and without your feedback we wouldn't be able to improve our guest services. The number of lounge chairs around the pool will be increased, and the menu in our Maine Harvest Dining Room, which is changed seasonally, will receive close scrutiny from our Executive Chef, Eric Flynn. We want everyone's dining experience to be excellent in both the Maine Harvest and the Broad Arrow Tavern. Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wow, this place is really the best. We stayed here at the end of April and had a great time. Of course the location was spot on being walking distance to everything, but still quiet. But the Inn itself was amazing. Our two kids (10 and 8)loved the pool, we all enjoyed the amazing breakfast buffet. I have been to many breakfast buffets and this one is really, really good especially for it being included! We all enjoyed the Afternoon Tea. There were food items that my 2 kids enjoyed and I felt that they were welcome in the sitting room for this daily event. Our room, we had one with a sitting area, was beautiful and very clean, I enjoyed being in the room, it was quite comfortable. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and our dinner at the Tavern was tasty and reasonably priced. We were really sad to leave but we know we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad your children enjoyed their time in the pool and perhaps when you visit again you might check out some of LLBeans wonderful outdoor discovery adventures. They have great programs for getting children and parents engaged in Maine's beautiful outdoors. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Harraseeket Inn to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. Most impressive was the attentiveness and helpfulness of all of the staff. Upon our arrival, we found the Front Desk staff, namely Kiara and Penny, to be extremely friendly and accommodating. Our warm and cozy room was tastefully decorated with antique furniture and included a wood-burning fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub. The food in both the Broad Arrow Tavern and the Maine Dining Room was excellent. We especially appreciated the extent to which both restaurants provided several gluten-free options. The kitchen staff and wait staff were very attentive and accommodating, especially Peggy, Michelle, and (Chef) Maryanne, who took care of us in the Broad Arrow Tavern, and Natasha and Stephanie who waited on us at breakfast in the Maine Dining Room. We found the housekeeping and grounds staff to be very friendly and efficient, keeping the Inn clean and beautiful. Other wonderful staff who went out of their way to assist us throughout the weekend were Karen, Debra, and Sandy, all Front Desk staff. The proximity to many unique shops, including L.L. Bean, provided hours of pleasant shopping. We also enjoyed sitting by the outdoor fire pit in the evening. The combination of great food, a fabulous staff, and a prime location will ensure our return visit. It is easy to see why all the displayed awards are well-earned. Thank you everyone at the Harraseeket Inn for making our anniversary weekend so special and perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We're very honored that you chose to spend your 45th wedding anniversary with us. Congratulations on achieving such a wonderful milestone, and thank you for posting your review! Our staff gets very excited when they see their names mentioned and your comments will generate a lot of big smiles. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next year!
Best regards,
Penny Gray, the Gray family and the entire Harraseeket Inn staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This quintessential New England inn has it all: spotless rooms with wood-burning fireplaces, warm and professional service, a superb location, beautiful gardens and that great Maine sensibility that lifts everyone's spirits. And then there's the organic bacon at breakfast… Staying here is a real treat. We've been guests several times and never had anything but a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your review!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
501 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This Inn is well run and maintained and located in an ideal location on the Main Street inFreeport, there is nothing not to like. The Inn has a Pub and Formal dining room both serving great food and included in the price is a breakfast buffet very morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, General Manager at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We hope you had a chance to enjoy afternoon tea, which is also included with your room rate. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I absolutely love staying at this Inn. Besides the fact that it's just down the street walking distance from the famous L.L. Bean store and all the other fine shops in the area and wonderful restaurants to choose from, the service in this establishment is absolutely incredible. You get a warm friendly welcome coming in the door. And the staff in the main dining room and in the tavern are the best of the best. Not all only are they all good at what they do but they remember you when you return for another visit.

One staff member that stands out to my mind is Celeste who you never know whether she's going to be working in the main dining room, the tavern, or at the front desk. But her bright sunshiny smile, her warm welcome and genuine hugs make you feel like you are at home and as if you were family. It just makes you want to not leave and when you do leave you can't wait to return.

The rooms are large and always very clean. The meals in the restaurants are outstanding and organic.

As I pack up to leave this morning I look forward to coming back soon to visit, be pampered and enjoy another great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review! There's no doubt that it's our staff here at the Harraseeket Inn that makes this such a special place. Celeste has been with us since she first got her work permit, and like so many other employees, she's become like family. Now her son is working in the dining room at breakfast. Jacob has his mother's bright sunny smile! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing