We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seek out the Harraseekett”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Seek out the Harraseekett”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Harraseeket Inn over the Fourth of July weekend. Overall, the inn is a delightful lodging. It is pretty, well-kept, and offers afternoon snacks in a fireplaced common room. The breakfast is good: it's a complete buffet featuring, of course, Maine blueberry muffins, which rival the original Jordan Marsh ones (best on earth).

The rooms are large, but they lack adequate lighting as well as enough outlets. (We had to charge a cell phone in the bathroom). We had an immense soaking tub, and the soaps were of high quality. The chairs in the bedroom could have used a lot more padding in the seats. Also, if you like to sleep in a dark room so as not to be awakened by light, know that there was only a translucent liner between the stationary drapery panels.

The bed was clothed in sateen sheets, which were nice and soft. Unfortunately, so was the bed. Had we been staying longer, we would have requested a bed board.

Turndown service missed us one night .

In short, the Harraseeket Inn is a lovely property, but it is a bit "tired" and could use some refurbishment.
.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockcreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We apologize that our pillowtop mattresses were too soft. We do have bedboards available for those who prefer firmer mattresses. As for the curtains in your room, we're having housekeeping and maintenance department check all of our draperies to ensure they're functioning properly. We're also looking into providing more outlets for powering chargers and other devices and your suggestion about more comfy wing chairs in the guest rooms is spot on. Our renvoations at the inn are ongoing and we appreciate feedback that helps to fine tune our guest rooms with comfort and convenience in mind. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    171
    58
    18
    15
See reviews for
217
486
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We were in the carriage house with a dog and appreciated the extra touches: dog treats, frisbee, food and water bowl and mat. The advertised clean mat cover was not provided. The door to the carriage house has a non-functioning lock.

Our room needed work to make it fresher and hypoallergenic. Carpet should be removed and replaced with hardwood or a surface that can be kept cleaner. Two windows would not stay up (opened) and wood moulding on one of the windows was broken. The mattress was very soft.

Afternoon tea and the included buffet breakfast are lovely touches and the grounds are beautiful.

Dinner in the restaurant was elegantly prepared and served. There was a bit of attitude from the maître-d' who seemed a put off by our request for an unreserved table different from the one he chose,

We went to the indoor pool in the morning , but found it uninviting because the pool room felt like a sauna. The adjacent workout area has up-to-date exercise machines, but a very limited capacity because it is quite small and on this day was too humid.

The unsecured runners on the carpet to the pool area are a possible hazard.

Front desk staff we encountered were efficient but did not solicit comments about our stay.

Overall, considering the price of our accommodations, we would rate our experience as average minus.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DavRut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns on TripAdvisor. We apologize that your stay with us wasn't perfect, as it should have been. Your critiques are taken very seriously by both management and staff and we are addressing them. We want everyone's experience to be four diamond and we strive for that. Your feedback helps us to improve, and your suggestion about the flooring in the Carriage House is an excellent one. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I recently returned from our first trip to Maine. It has been quite a while since I last posted a review on Tripadvisor, but will try to be better about this in the future, as it is such a valuable resource for travelers. And we use it, too, to research our trips.

The glowing reviews for the Harraseeket Inn are very much justified. Our spacious room was so very romantic, and even had a wood-burning stove. It was hard to believe the price of the room included a lavish buffet and afternoon tea! Although we didn't use it, there was a good-sized indoor swimming pool that looked very inviting. After a wonderful day in Freeport, where we did some shopping (of course) followed by a fabulous kayaking adventure at the L.L. Bean Outdoor Discovery Center, we topped off a perfect Maine day with dinner at the Inn's Maine Harvest restaurant. We ordered seafood (when in Rome....) and, sure enough, our seafood bouillabaisse and steamed lobster were delicious. Everything about our stay was perfect, and really reflected the hospitality and charm of Maine and its people. I hope the attached photos help give readers a first-hand look at our experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vivalamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you! Your review and your photos truly capture what vacationing in Maine is all about! We're thrilled you had such a good time and were able to participate in an LLBean kyaking adventure. Their Outdoor Discovery Programs are hard to beat. Hopefully you'll have the opportunity to try more of them in the future. Have a great summer and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed one night this week for business. Used one of their conference rooms, and stayed over in a lovely room.

Service was warm and helpful.

The room was great - excellent bed, incredibly soft linens and a phenomenal shower.

Am only sad I didn't get to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We host many business meetings here at the inn and frequently, attendees will return on vacation. Hopefully you'll have the opportunity to do the same, and enjoy all that this beautiful area has to offer. Have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Looking for a hotel in Freeport? Stop here! This place was perfect! From a great staff, who made us feel very welcome, to our beautiful room, to the restaurant, we couldn't have asked for more. We chose to take advantage of the Fireside Package. In our room was a plate of fresh fruit, cheese and crackers, bottle of wine, cloth napkins, and wine glasses. Our room was large with a lot of natural lighting. The bathroom had a jetted tub and a walk-in shower.

We walked a close distance to LL Bean and all of the upscale outlets. That afternoon we enjoyed the tea that is provided. What a nice touch. Yes, we did a lot of eating because that evening we had our dinner in the Maine Restaurant, within the hotel, which came free with the Fireside Package. We could eat anything, minus alcoholic beverages, and it was covered. Filet mignon and ended with crème brulee. Yes, it was a caloric splurge only afforded on vacation. Carleton, our server, helped to make us feel very special. Following a long walk, we sat by the Haraseeket campfire. It was so relaxing and it was a great way to end our magical day. Did I mention the sheets on the bed? Oh my! Soft and luxurious...only the guests could imagine the quality. The next day started with free breakfast buffet in the Maine Restaurant, as part of the package we chose. Needless to say, we ate very little of this wonderful buffet. We were still full from the night before! I am not one to write on Tripadvisor, but I came home and knew I had to write. The Grays have a beautiful hotel and we will be returning. Thank you Gray family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Fireside Package is quite popular, especially in the cooler months. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you enjoy a wonderful summer!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This inn is just that; bigger than a B&B but not a huge hotel, it's just the right size. The staff treats you like a VIP as if you were in an intimate B&B. they think of about everything here. They start off with a bountiful buffet breakfast, although you can get coffee and something as early as 6:00am. Then, tea time starts at 3:30 with another bounty of cheese, fruit, tea sandwiches and of course, tea. You want to shop? You are just two blocks from Beans and a myriad of outlets. But there is a lot more to see on the area. There's a mail boat cruise in Portland. There's Wolfs Neck State Park. There's the Shaker Village too. Rooms are nice, with silky soft sheets. We loved eating in Broad Arrow Tavern too- yummy. The best thing is the fire pit, where you can throw fire wood on the firer to keep it going long into the eve. You can also pop corn or make s'mores (ask in the tavern). Lots of pros, and really, not one con.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room that faces the garden for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your review! There's so much to see and do in the Freeport area. Shopping is just one of many activities; there's a wonderful boat trip out to Eagle Island right out of South Freeport Harbor with Captain Tom Ring; you can tour the summer home of Admiral Peary, of North Pole fame, and watch Captain Ring pull a few lobster pots on the trip out and back. There's whale watching out of Portland, kayaking with LLBean's Outdoor Discovery programs, wonderful hiking, antique shops and museums...too much to list. Maine's coast is a beautiful area to explore and our front desk staff is always happy to help plan an itinerary. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

When I needed to find a hotel close to both Harpswell and Portland, it wasn't even a question where I would stay. I had stayed here before back in 2009 and wanted to come back for the lovely rooms (especially with the jacuzzi tub!) and the in-house restaurant, the Maine Dining Room.

The staff and restaurant did not disappoint. The hotel looked beautiful and the food was absolutely to die for. When I needed a tube of toothpaste, the front desk brought it up right away.

The reason that I did not rate this as an excellent was the room. I reserved a one queen bed room with a two person Jacuzzi, and was checked in to a handicapped accessible room with, granted one queen bed, but the tub was definitely not a two person tub and the shower was not separate from the tub, you showered in the Jacuzzi tub. Suffice it to say that it was not as luxurious as I anticipated it to be based on my previous visits and what I paid to stay there.

The drapes on the windows and above the bed were markedly worn and old, and the alarm clock was probably as old as I am (31 for your reference). The small, flat screen TV was up on top of the cabinet that must have housed a previous, older tv but could not accommodate the wider tv. So when you're lying in bed be prepared to basically watch tv on the ceiling.

My sleep was less than enjoyable, as the door let in a lot of light from the hallway and the curtains did not close completely so when the sun came up at 5:00am there wasn't any hope for me.

The Inn is amazingly convenient to the shops in Freeport. You couldn't ask for a better spot to walk to the shops and outlets if shopping is your goal. The Maine Dining Room still makes the best meal I've ever had in Southern Maine. But based on my room I am worried that the Harraseeket is crossing from "quaint and old-fashioned" to "old and outdated." I'm not saying the Inn has to modernize, but with the selections of old-fashioned furniture and home furnishings it would be possible to update without losing the ambiance of the rooms. My hope is that they will do so and not lose themselves to dusty, old habits.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnissen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback that keeps us on our toes and your comments about your guest room will be reviewed and discussed. Renovations are an ongoing process here at the inn and we'll make it a priority to focus on the drawbacks you encountered and remedy them! Hopefully the next time you stay with us, we'll have earned your full approval. Thank you again for sharing your insights and we hope you have a great summer!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing