We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Pampered”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

From the moment you walk in the door, the friendly inn keepers welcome you and spend all the time you need showing you places to go and things to do. The rooms are beautiful and you feel well cared for with the silk sheets, ice, chocolates and turn down service each night and the food is amazing. I just spent 7 nights at the inn and usually after that many nights you are ready to leave. I would gladly spend another 7 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Wow, what a wonderful compliment that you spent seven nights with us and didn't want to leave! Thank you! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    166
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
206
477
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
176 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband had a meeting in Freeport which was held at the Harraseeket Inn. It is a lovely old inn with lots of charm. We had a room on the third floor which wasn't big but had enough room for the two of us. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were luxurious. The inn is laid out in a odd way so it was sometimes a challenge to work your way from one end to another. It was quite a trek from the parking lot out back to our room. The breakfast buffet which was included in our rate was wonderful both mornings with bacon that was delicious. The blueberry muffins were outstanding! We ate lunch at the Broad Arrow Tavern one day and the food was good although it took a bit of time to get it. The staff was helpful and friendly. Two nice touches that you don't see too often anymore were the afternoon tea and turn down service. The tea was a lovely way to take a break in the late afternoon. Two banquet buffet dinners were good but not outstanding. Again, the service was very good. You can easily walk to all the shops in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14Art14Trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. The rambling layout of the inn does present challenges at times, though we hope you unloaded your luggage out front and took advantage of our bellman's services and our two guest elevators. Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just booked our second trip to the wonderful Harraseeket Inn, we stayed there last year with our friends from Boston and it was a fabulous experience which we plan to do every year from now on. The quality of our room was outstanding and the service from the delightful staff is second to none. My favourite part is the afternoon tea, I give it top marks and that is from a visiting Brit from across the pond and my Irish husband. Do plan a visit you will not be disappointed. Best wishes Caroline Jones, London UK

Room Tip: The Harraseeket Inn is perfectly situated for a serious shopping trip. The hotel is luxurious and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We're very honored to have someone from Great Britain compliment our afternoon tea, that's high praise indeed! We look forward to seeing you again this fall and hope you have a wonderful summer!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were told by a co-worker of my wife's about this inn when we were going to Bar Harbor. We stopped over night here and were so glad we did. The Inn is beautiful both inside and out. The historical building is amazing inside and the grounds are immaculate. It is quiet even though it was full of guests. The breakfast, which was included, was great with many selections on the buffet. The location is only two blocks from the LL Bean buildings, many restaurants within walking distance. I highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! Many of our guests stop here en route to Acadia National Park, one of America's most visited (and most beautiful) national parks. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Enjoy your summer!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Harraseeket Inn was all that you would expect for a Maine Inn and more. The staff was all very pleasant and accommodating. The room was large, clean and bright. Food at both the Tavern and Maine Dining Room were excellent. High tea was a nice added touch! Our only suggestion would be to improve service in the Tavern as it took an inordinate amount of time to get our food. Kudos for the extraordinarily soft sheets!!! The location of the Inn was perfect for exploring not just Freeport, but Portland and Kennebunkport. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! Our apologies that your service in the tavern was slow; our staff is usually quite efficient but obviously there was a glitch and we'll look into it. We appreciate your passing that information along. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Harraseeket Inn over the Fourth of July weekend. Overall, the inn is a delightful lodging. It is pretty, well-kept, and offers afternoon snacks in a fireplaced common room. The breakfast is good: it's a complete buffet featuring, of course, Maine blueberry muffins, which rival the original Jordan Marsh ones (best on earth).

The rooms are large, but they lack adequate lighting as well as enough outlets. (We had to charge a cell phone in the bathroom). We had an immense soaking tub, and the soaps were of high quality. The chairs in the bedroom could have used a lot more padding in the seats. Also, if you like to sleep in a dark room so as not to be awakened by light, know that there was only a translucent liner between the stationary drapery panels.

The bed was clothed in sateen sheets, which were nice and soft. Unfortunately, so was the bed. Had we been staying longer, we would have requested a bed board.

Turndown service missed us one night .

In short, the Harraseeket Inn is a lovely property, but it is a bit "tired" and could use some refurbishment.
.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockcreekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We apologize that our pillowtop mattresses were too soft. We do have bedboards available for those who prefer firmer mattresses. As for the curtains in your room, we're having housekeeping and maintenance department check all of our draperies to ensure they're functioning properly. We're also looking into providing more outlets for powering chargers and other devices and your suggestion about more comfy wing chairs in the guest rooms is spot on. Our renvoations at the inn are ongoing and we appreciate feedback that helps to fine tune our guest rooms with comfort and convenience in mind. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We were in the carriage house with a dog and appreciated the extra touches: dog treats, frisbee, food and water bowl and mat. The advertised clean mat cover was not provided. The door to the carriage house has a non-functioning lock.

Our room needed work to make it fresher and hypoallergenic. Carpet should be removed and replaced with hardwood or a surface that can be kept cleaner. Two windows would not stay up (opened) and wood moulding on one of the windows was broken. The mattress was very soft.

Afternoon tea and the included buffet breakfast are lovely touches and the grounds are beautiful.

Dinner in the restaurant was elegantly prepared and served. There was a bit of attitude from the maître-d' who seemed a put off by our request for an unreserved table different from the one he chose,

We went to the indoor pool in the morning , but found it uninviting because the pool room felt like a sauna. The adjacent workout area has up-to-date exercise machines, but a very limited capacity because it is quite small and on this day was too humid.

The unsecured runners on the carpet to the pool area are a possible hazard.

Front desk staff we encountered were efficient but did not solicit comments about our stay.

Overall, considering the price of our accommodations, we would rate our experience as average minus.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DavRut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns on TripAdvisor. We apologize that your stay with us wasn't perfect, as it should have been. Your critiques are taken very seriously by both management and staff and we are addressing them. We want everyone's experience to be four diamond and we strive for that. Your feedback helps us to improve, and your suggestion about the flooring in the Carriage House is an excellent one. We hope you'll give us another try in the future.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing