We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at a lovely inn in a lovely town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at a lovely inn in a lovely town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I spent a few nights here as part of a Maine getaway. The staff work so hard!! From the front desk to the dining room manager to the housekeeping staff, I've never seen so many people dedicated to making your stay a nice one. They work very hard because of their AAA diamond rating. PLEASE do not compare this to a full-service hotel. It is an INN and attracts people who like inns. (You won't see a bell captain's station, for example.) But you will find a fire going in the lobby, a comfortable, quiet night's sleep, and a splendid view of the garden if you go that route. It is walkable from the shopping mecca that forms the hub of Freeport. Breakfast is plentiful and the restaurant serves a mean seafood dinner -- other fare, too. And don't forget your bathing suit, they have a pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PigsFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Freeport. We're very fortunate to have the most wonderful staff here at the Harraseeket Inn. They always give their best, whatever their task may be, and they're genuinely nice people. Many have been with us for decades and we think of them as family. Thank you for your review and we hope you have a wonderful summer.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    164
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
202
465
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
348 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Inn during our vacation. We had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice - they are comfortable and bright and clean. Most of the hotel and Inn rooms we have stayed in during our trip have been poorly lit. This Inn on the other hand, has modern and bright LED lighting. The beds are very comfortable too with soft high-thread count sheets. There is a nice restaurant in the Inn and a Pub restaurant too. The food is very good and not too expensive. The pool area is beautiful. My only nit was that the sink in the bathroom was a pedestal sink and we would have preferred a bathroom with more counter space. For those that want to shop it is a fairly short walk to many shops in town and LL Bean.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Odarkthirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments. The pedestal sinks are very pretty but we'll work on adding more shelf space and hopefully the next time you stay with us, you'll notice the improvement! Thank you again and have a wonderful summer!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

From the moment you walk in the door, the friendly inn keepers welcome you and spend all the time you need showing you places to go and things to do. The rooms are beautiful and you feel well cared for with the silk sheets, ice, chocolates and turn down service each night and the food is amazing. I just spent 7 nights at the inn and usually after that many nights you are ready to leave. I would gladly spend another 7 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Wow, what a wonderful compliment that you spent seven nights with us and didn't want to leave! Thank you! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
176 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband had a meeting in Freeport which was held at the Harraseeket Inn. It is a lovely old inn with lots of charm. We had a room on the third floor which wasn't big but had enough room for the two of us. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were luxurious. The inn is laid out in a odd way so it was sometimes a challenge to work your way from one end to another. It was quite a trek from the parking lot out back to our room. The breakfast buffet which was included in our rate was wonderful both mornings with bacon that was delicious. The blueberry muffins were outstanding! We ate lunch at the Broad Arrow Tavern one day and the food was good although it took a bit of time to get it. The staff was helpful and friendly. Two nice touches that you don't see too often anymore were the afternoon tea and turn down service. The tea was a lovely way to take a break in the late afternoon. Two banquet buffet dinners were good but not outstanding. Again, the service was very good. You can easily walk to all the shops in town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14Art14Trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. The rambling layout of the inn does present challenges at times, though we hope you unloaded your luggage out front and took advantage of our bellman's services and our two guest elevators. Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just booked our second trip to the wonderful Harraseeket Inn, we stayed there last year with our friends from Boston and it was a fabulous experience which we plan to do every year from now on. The quality of our room was outstanding and the service from the delightful staff is second to none. My favourite part is the afternoon tea, I give it top marks and that is from a visiting Brit from across the pond and my Irish husband. Do plan a visit you will not be disappointed. Best wishes Caroline Jones, London UK

Room Tip: The Harraseeket Inn is perfectly situated for a serious shopping trip. The hotel is luxurious and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We're very honored to have someone from Great Britain compliment our afternoon tea, that's high praise indeed! We look forward to seeing you again this fall and hope you have a wonderful summer!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were told by a co-worker of my wife's about this inn when we were going to Bar Harbor. We stopped over night here and were so glad we did. The Inn is beautiful both inside and out. The historical building is amazing inside and the grounds are immaculate. It is quiet even though it was full of guests. The breakfast, which was included, was great with many selections on the buffet. The location is only two blocks from the LL Bean buildings, many restaurants within walking distance. I highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! Many of our guests stop here en route to Acadia National Park, one of America's most visited (and most beautiful) national parks. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Enjoy your summer!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Harraseeket Inn was all that you would expect for a Maine Inn and more. The staff was all very pleasant and accommodating. The room was large, clean and bright. Food at both the Tavern and Maine Dining Room were excellent. High tea was a nice added touch! Our only suggestion would be to improve service in the Tavern as it took an inordinate amount of time to get our food. Kudos for the extraordinarily soft sheets!!! The location of the Inn was perfect for exploring not just Freeport, but Portland and Kennebunkport. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review! Our apologies that your service in the tavern was slow; our staff is usually quite efficient but obviously there was a glitch and we'll look into it. We appreciate your passing that information along. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
16.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing