We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a special family celebration!”
Review of Harraseeket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harraseeket Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a special family celebration!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We gathered here to celebrate a special occasion. It was a perfect place for our family. We could enjoy each other and be in this beautiful place where our hosts took great care of us. Enjoyed the afternoon tea, the outdoor patio with drinks, the dinner, and the breakfast; and our rooms were not only beautiful but comfortable. I particularly liked the scones, and our gluten-free relatives loved the brownies.

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as 307.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbdck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
We're very honored to have hosted your special family celebration! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    166
    58
    18
    13
See reviews for
206
477
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here the night of August 2. The Inn was sold out and the restaurants were busy. Nevertheless I received a warm and friendly welcome. The food and service was good. I will definitely plan on staying again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank frankhoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Visited for our 35th anniversary - first trip to Maine. Room had a Jacuzzi; bed was comfy and sheets were top end. Dinner at the Maine Dining room may have been worth the trip by itself. The staff could not have been nicer. The Inn was walking distance to downtown Freeport and to the LL Bean flagship store.
If this hotel was closer to Chicago, I'm sure we would be back more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHammel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're honored that you celebrated your 35th anniversary with us and hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were so looking forward to our stay at this Inn, based on what we had seen on-line. While the location was excellent for walking to the key shops & restaurants in Freeport, the Inn itself was very dissappointing. We were given a room in the newer section that totally lacked abience or charm. We could have been staying in any brand name hotel. It was plain and ordinary bordering on budget in decor. There was nothing authentic about our room that would warrant spending $250/night. A little crown moulding & creative window treatments does not constitute a New England Inn! Our one meal in the Tavern was ok....nothing special food wise. However, our server, Sheila was fantastic. We had been seated for at least 10 minutes & no one approached our table. Sheila took us over & was fabulous!
This Inn is highly overrated, likely because there isn't anything to compare it to in area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadeyJanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry your stay with us was a disappointment and would like you to know that we take your critiques very seriously. We want everyone to enjoy their stay and leave here wanting to return. When we receive bad reviews they force us to step back and look hard at what we might not be doing right. and what we could be doing better Hopefully, the end result is we improve our guest services and overall guest experience. We apologize that we failed to meet your expectations and appreciate your comments.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is not what is supposed to be for a 320/night as they charged 2 couples of us. The shower was unclean and it had human hair on the walls. The carpet is smelly and old and you will notice right away the wall papers are quite yellow in color and old looking. The flavor of an old hotel, they are trying to instill in your mind, does not come from actually being old. It comes from being OUTDATED.
The room they gave us was on the 2nd floor (220) and it viewed the roof of the entrance with the housing for the AC unit. Very bad experience and I am making sure that all my friends will never go there.
The staff is not very friendly nor hostile.They are doing the minimum to finish their job.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room around the number 214/218/220 since it will face the roof of the entrance and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grot666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We're so sorry your stay with us was such a disaster. That's certainly not par for the course at the Harraseeket Inn. Our entire staff is very dedicated to providing our guests with the best lodging experience possible, and your observations have been brought to attention of all. The Thos. Moser Room (214) is one of our most popular suites and looks over the front of the building. This is the first time we've had a negative review of that room but again, we take all guest critques very seriously and use them as a platform to improve our service and our accomodations. Please accept our apologies for failing to live up to your expectations, and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We will do our very best to rectify the problems.
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Harraseeket Inn takes up some price real estate on Main St in Freeport. From the Inn, guests can walk to all the shops and restaurants the area is known for. The Inn itself is quiet and peaceful and a nice respite. We found the room (and entire property) to be very clean, although the room was dated and no frills at all. You are paying for location. Comfy beds and fluffy towels were appreciated. The included-in-the-rate breakfast was average at best. If your intent is to explore Freeport, this is a lovely choice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We welcome suggestions on what people would like to see on our breakfast buffet, and several offerings, such as sugar free and gluten free, have been incorporated as a result of our guest requests. Of course, our breakfast chef is always willing to accomodate special requests from our guests. We hope to see you again!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed only one night and were fortunate to find availabilty as we checked in last minute passing through Freeport. This was a wonderful surprise experience. The room was very clean, quaint and comfy providing everything we would need including turn down the bed service. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The service was above and beyond attentive from the time we checked in until we checked out. Dinner in the dining room was absolutely delicious, everything prepared, cooked and presented so well we had to take pictures of every course! The included breakfast was not just a continental breakfast, it was a full hot buffet consisting of a variety of beautiful home cooked food highlighting the local produce and again the service in the dining room was excellent. We are planning a little summer get away in Freeport next year and are truly looking forward to another stay at the Inn.

Robin and Greag Phillips from Canada

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny G, Owner at Harraseeket Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Best regards,
Penny Gray
The Gray family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harraseeket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harraseeket Inn

Property: Harraseeket Inn
Address: 162 Main St, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Freeport
#1 Green Hotel in Freeport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#3 Business Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harraseeket Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn in Freeport,Maine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harraseeket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harraseeket Hotel Freeport
Harraseeket Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing