We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay!”
Review of Candlebay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candlebay Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed two nights here and were treated to a delicious breakfast the first morning. We had an early train to catch the next morning so the host kindly left us a takeaway brekkie in our room of muffins, fruit and access to the coffee machine. Our room was cute and cosy yet spacious and had everything we needed plus more. The host is thoughful - leaving chilled bottled water for us and helping with what activities we should do during our stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Candlebay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Whether or not you have pets, The Captain Briggs house is worth your time! We stayed with our 10 year old Belgian Tervuren and, kindly, were given a first floor room that was immaculate. If you do not have pets, the only way you will know people bring them is when you see them! The yard is spotless and beautifully landscaped. The location is quiet and yet close to anything you need. We enjoyed walking into town~which is pet friendly, but not all businesses accept pets. Most restaurants were accommodating with outside seating.

We traveled with our niece who is gluten sensitive and I let Bev know in advance. We assured our niece she could get breakfast elsewhere BUT Bev made a house specialty quiche with hash brown crust that we all happily devoured. (I have used her recipe since with great success on our own guests at home!) Our room was spacious and spotless.

We hope to go back this summer and have recommended the Captain Briggs house to anyone going to the Freeport area. Try it and you will go back too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We recently stayed here for three days and enjoyed not only our room but the owner's wonderful hospitality. She is very informative on what to do, where to eat and how to get to various places. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. Our bed was excellent. The breakfasts were yummy and varied. A wide variety of coffees and teas were always available and the evening cookies were a delight! The location is superb--right off the main street in Freeport and walking distance to LLBean and all the shopping.

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed so be aware in case you have allergies. While we were there, there we multiple dog...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Capt. Briggs House is a very nice place to stay. I recently spent 3 nights there and truly enjoyed the room, food, and the owner is great. I would recommend this inn. Great for groups and plenty of room options. It is very convenient to downtown Freeport and shopping. Great place to stay !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ram217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Bev was a marvelous host! Her lemon ricotta pancakes with blueberry sauce, sausage and raspberry yogurt the first morning and her bacon, quiche, cinnamon bread and fruit bowl the second were homemade and delicious.
Our room was impeccably clean, full of thoughtful extras--wine cooler, champagne glasses, sign-in book for the room, shampoo and other thoughtful toiletries-- and so comfortable.
Bev and her husband had lots of good advice about the area and fellow guests were so friendly.
Home-baked cookies, coffee, and a common refrigerator in the dining room with much more for guests is available in the evening!
We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank See_Vermont_Soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for one night after a 13 hour drive to maine. We arrived a bit late and one of the owners came down to greet us, which we thought was very thoughtful. The Inn is located a block from "all the action" in Freeport (restaurants, shops, etc.) Our room was very clean, equipped with plenty of towels and clean linens. The furniture was very basic. It was not luxurious, but it was clean and we slept well. Our Golden Retriever stayed with us, and he felt quite at home as well. Breakfast was very good. A delicious cup of fresh fruit, a hash brown bottom quiche and bacon, and a scrumptious coffee cake. Coffee was plentiful, as was the oj. The Owners were friendly at breakfast and chatted with us while we ate. After breakfast, we settled our bill and packed up. This place beats any hotel you will stay at, and is pet friendly. The perfect pit stop for us! This place scores five stars for the price, cleanliness, pet friendly and yummy breakfast/coffee time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with 2 bedrooms. Both were clean and comfy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teachfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway at the end of the summer. Neither of us had made it to Maine yet despite living in New England for 7 years. We also wanted to take our small dog with us (my husband cannot bear to board her). Captain Briggs was perfect. Quiet, clean, and dog-friendly. It isn't over-the-top luxury, but it is quite comfortable. (And I didn't notice any dog hair despite there being at least 4 dogs there during my stay... not much noise from the dogs either.)

Bev was very accommodating. My husband is a vegetarian and, at the time, I was 6 months pregnant. She made sure that he had a vegetarian friendly breakfast each morning and that I had extra pillows in the bedroom. And about breakfast, it is fantastic and healthy. Expect fruit of some sort (sometimes with yogurt sometimes without) and then a solid main dish - like a hearty fruit tart or eggs benedict. Juice, coffee and tea, too. A family was also at the B&B, and Bev provided them with milk for their kids' cereal (the parents brought the cereal).

We would definitely go back... with dog and baby.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Forget-Me-Not room. Has a TV which is great because Freeport is dead at night. Wa...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.3 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlebay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlebay Inn

Address: 8 Maple Ave, Freeport, ME 04032-1315 (Formerly Captain Briggs House Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: £103 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlebay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Captain Briggs B&B, the Candlebay Inn is located in the village of Freeport, Maine, and is a quaint, dog-friendly bed and breakfast within walking distance to outlets stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Candlebay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlebay Inn Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing