We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far better than the chain hotels”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maine Idyll Motor Court
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Lititz, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Far better than the chain hotels”
Reviewed 18 October 2007

This is a quaint old-style cabin motel. The grounds and the cabins are clean and reasonably well maintained. Linens are basic and a bit worn. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here - sure beats the typical mid-level motel.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alaxsxaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    59
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
38
61
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

Stayed at the Maine Idyll Motor Court for two nights in mid-August and enjoyed the accommodations immensely. My small cabin (#3) had a tiny kitchenette and a working fireplace. It was very cozy, clean and comfortable - a little home away from home. The rates are very reasonable.

Each morning there are home made pastries and coffee for breakfast in the office.

Everyone at the Maine Idyll was friendly and helpful. I was part of a large group , and we were allowed the use of the living room in the main house to gather on the Saturday evening.

If you have not been there before, be sure to get directions from the management as various internet maps are not always accurate. The nearby exit (exit 24) off 295 is only for northbound traffic.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muffet37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

Hi Everyone,

My husband & I spent 3 weeks driving from Los Angeles to Maine. We ended our road trip at The Maine Idyll. What a delightful way to end a long road trip.

We stayed in cottage 13. It had a queen sized bed, kitchenette and a fireplace. We enjoyed preparing our own breakfast each morning. It was wonderful to be able to relax and have a leisurly breakfast. We also enjoyed having a fire every evening. The fireplace gave the room a real homey feel.

The one drawback were the two burners on the stove. They were kind of erratic and we had to keep adjsting the temperature knobs to get them to work. It was a small incovenience and the picturesque setting more than made up for it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and hope to return soon.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetbuny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2007

I was pleasantly surprised with my stay in Maine Idyll Motor Court! My boyfriend and I stayed in cottage #10. It has a kitchenette and a fireplace. If you want a B&B with all the amenities, this place is not for you but if you want a clean and cozy cottage with a great Maine feel then stay here. The price was wonderful and well worth it. Coffee and local bakery goods for breakfast was included. You can park your car right in front of your cottage. I was a bit concerned about being off of route 1 but I did not hear a bit of traffic at night. All I heard was an occasional cricket. Jeff from the front desk was extremely nice and helpful in obtaining the perfect lobster roll. When we return to Freeport, we will definitely without a doubt stay at Maine Idyll Motor Court.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunTrip2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2007

We have stayed at the Maine Idyll Motor Court once or twice a year for the past 5+ years. We travel between Philadelphia and Southwest Harbor, Maine about 4 times a year and athough we could make the drive in one day look forward to spending the night in one of the cabins. We have never had an unpleasant stay at Maine Idyll. It never fails to put us "in the take time to enjoy the moment mood". The family who own and manage this property are delightful. The cabins are basic, the linens are clean, the cabins with fireplaces are always supplied with everything needed to start a fire. There are many different room configerations including a two bedroom unit. Remember to bring your checkbook or cash, they do not take credit cards. I have several prints (sold in the office) hanging in my home as a reminder of the simple life I'd like to have.

  • Liked — clean, quiet, quaint
  • Disliked — road noise from I-295
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagain36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
947 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
434 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Idyll Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Idyll Motor Court

Property: Maine Idyll Motor Court
Address: 1411 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7108
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#5 Family Hotel in Freeport
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Maine Idyll Motor Court Hotel Freeport
Maine Idyll Motor Court Freeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing