We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine Ideal!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maine Idyll Motor Court
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Last week was my second visit to this throw-back to another with modern amenities. As a child my family would travel New England by staying in cabins which included a kitchen included. Four years ago while searching for a dog-friendly lodging, I found these rustic but inviting Motor court. I return with dog in tow again for a longer stay during the week of July 15, 2012. The owners have made improvements including a large screen HD television and new appliances.

If you are attempting to save money during a vacation, you can cook in the kitchenette which is provided with a two and three bedroom cabin or use the gas grilles and picnic table to dine outside. Unless you are a 5 star snob, this rustic lodging will pull you back each you are visiting Mid-Coast Maine.

Room Tip: If available request a cabin in the back of motor court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

We first stayed at the Maine Idyll a few years back en route to Bar Harbor with a few extra days to kill. We were thrilled!! We are in the White Mountains now, and have decided to extend our vacation, and the first place we thought of was, the Maine Idyll! We booked Cabin 11 for 2 nights next week, and can't wait to get there! Looking forward to some shopping and easy hikes at Wolfe Neck, after White Mountain hiking and trekking. We love the Idyll!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmd46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here July 3, 2012. We found this place in one of the books we picked up at the Visitor Information Centre.

We had been looking for a multiroom cabin for the night and this place was perfect. We had a three bedroom cabin with a kitchen/living area for an extremely reasonable price.

The cabin had a fireplace, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, table top cooking unit and all the dishes you would need.

The first bedroom had two single beds and the other two had double beds. There is a very nice porch to sit out on with lots of seating.

There are several cabins of varying size. They are very rustic and everything a cottage should be.

This is very close to Freeport so location wise it was great.

The highway is very close, so you can see and hear it. I am betting that before it went in this was a very peaceful place. We didn't find that it affected our sleep or the quality of our stay in any way.

We tried to get a second night, but being that night was July 4 they were fully booked.

If we ever go to Freeport again, this will be our first choice for acommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nslisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed one night in the "One Maine Pine" cottage, #18. It was wonderful! Harkening back to days gone by, we thoroughly enjoyed the rustic atmosphere and down to earth approach the family takes to their business. The cottage was clean and well kept while and, except for the satellite television (which, frankly, we felt was terribly out of place), we had the feeling like we were transported back 50 years, or more. They serve a simple but good breakfast of coffee and homemade baked goods, which were quite tasty. If you can adjust your lodging expectations to those of a simpler time, this is a wonderful place to stay. It's only a few minutes from all of the Freeport shopping and maybe 20 minutes from downtown Portland.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage away from the interstate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This place was amazing. I was in cabin 11 and it was spatious for me. The walls were finished in Maine pine, my windows looked out at wonderful maine greenery, and it was very peaceful. There is some hum of traffic noise because the property is in between Rt 1 and I-295, but I didn't really notice it. The bed was comfortable with a thick memory foam topper. I really enjoyed my stay and was astonished at the value!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank vacationerS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I live in Maine. These are the quintessential cabins which show you "the way life should be". We have stayed in almost every cabin over the years since it is between the Portland airport and home. They are old and small, but very clean. It's like the places your parents stopped in when too tired to drive. Do not expect full amenities--just a quiet place to sleep (and cook if you stay longer). Cabin 18 was the first built--it was made of one Maine pine tree--hence the name spelled out with sticks on the cabin front. This year it actually has a flat screen TV, probably due to the whiners who just don't get it. Some have hand made stone fireplaces and there is firewood on the porch behind the rocking chair for a chilly night which can happen even in our summers. Close to shopping in famous LL Bean Freeeport (which is open 24 hours if you arrive late). They will leave your cabin open and you can square up in the morning. This is a family run business of 3 generations--it is no Hilton/Marriot chain type place. If you want to get out of your hotel box, try this interesting experience.

Room Tip: You can look at the cabins/prices on their website, but you must call for a reservation.Ask for a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janisakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I thought we would enjoy a relaxing weekend away. When we first arrived the lady at the check-in was very friendly and helpful. Outside the office was a chubby young man sitting in a vechicle with no shirt smoking cigarettes and when he got out of his vechicle his shorts was showing his undesireable back side like Joe the plummer.
On our way to our cottage we saw an old couple coming out of a cottage with mops and cleaning supplies, so we hoped our cottage would be good and clean.....WRONG!!! Bedspread was old and full of dog hair, floors still dirty, facets dripping and the stove top looked like it had never been cleaned. The white towels stained and also the sheets were stained. The man from the old couple came walking by as we were making our get away outa there he stopped to pat our dog and when he did he reaked of alcohol. We would not recommend this place ever!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.3 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
982 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
473 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
5 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#2 of 11 in Brunswick
262 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Idyll Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Idyll Motor Court

Address: 1411 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7108
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#5 Family Hotel in Freeport
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Maine Idyll Motor Court Hotel Freeport
Maine Idyll Motor Court Freeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing