We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
70
60
8
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
60
8
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages front porch modern luxury firewood provided each cabin has its own wooded area downtown freeport peace and quiet queen bed four nights mid coast longer stay reasonable rates stayed one night each morning bar harbor kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We first stayed at the Maine Idyll a few years back en route to Bar Harbor with a few extra days to kill. We were thrilled!! We are in the White Mountains now, and have decided to extend our vacation, and the first place we thought of was, the Maine Idyll! We booked Cabin 11 for 2 nights next week, and can't wait to get there! Looking forward to some shopping and easy hikes at Wolfe Neck, after White Mountain hiking and trekking. We love the Idyll!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckhikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here July 3, 2012. We found this place in one of the books we picked up at the Visitor Information Centre.

We had been looking for a multiroom cabin for the night and this place was perfect. We had a three bedroom cabin with a kitchen/living area for an extremely reasonable price.

The cabin had a fireplace, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, table top cooking unit and all the dishes you would need.

The first bedroom had two single beds and the other two had double beds. There is a very nice porch to sit out on with lots of seating.

There are several cabins of varying size. They are very rustic and everything a cottage should be.

This is very close to Freeport so location wise it was great.

The highway is very close, so you can see and hear it. I am betting that before it went in this was a very peaceful place. We didn't find that it affected our sleep or the quality of our stay in any way.

We tried to get a second night, but being that night was July 4 they were fully booked.

If we ever go to Freeport again, this will be our first choice for acommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nslisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed one night in the "One Maine Pine" cottage, #18. It was wonderful! Harkening back to days gone by, we thoroughly enjoyed the rustic atmosphere and down to earth approach the family takes to their business. The cottage was clean and well kept while and, except for the satellite television (which, frankly, we felt was terribly out of place), we had the feeling like we were transported back 50 years, or more. They serve a simple but good breakfast of coffee and homemade baked goods, which were quite tasty. If you can adjust your lodging expectations to those of a simpler time, this is a wonderful place to stay. It's only a few minutes from all of the Freeport shopping and maybe 20 minutes from downtown Portland.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage away from the interstate noise.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This place was amazing. I was in cabin 11 and it was spatious for me. The walls were finished in Maine pine, my windows looked out at wonderful maine greenery, and it was very peaceful. There is some hum of traffic noise because the property is in between Rt 1 and I-295, but I didn't really notice it. The bed was comfortable with a thick memory foam topper. I really enjoyed my stay and was astonished at the value!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank vacationerS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I live in Maine. These are the quintessential cabins which show you "the way life should be". We have stayed in almost every cabin over the years since it is between the Portland airport and home. They are old and small, but very clean. It's like the places your parents stopped in when too tired to drive. Do not expect full amenities--just a quiet place to sleep (and cook if you stay longer). Cabin 18 was the first built--it was made of one Maine pine tree--hence the name spelled out with sticks on the cabin front. This year it actually has a flat screen TV, probably due to the whiners who just don't get it. Some have hand made stone fireplaces and there is firewood on the porch behind the rocking chair for a chilly night which can happen even in our summers. Close to shopping in famous LL Bean Freeeport (which is open 24 hours if you arrive late). They will leave your cabin open and you can square up in the morning. This is a family run business of 3 generations--it is no Hilton/Marriot chain type place. If you want to get out of your hotel box, try this interesting experience.

Room Tip: You can look at the cabins/prices on their website, but you must call for a reservation.Ask for a cabin near Route 1 (behind/near the office)as the older ones were once quieter before the freeway was put in many years ago. However One Maine Pine is just fine if you are very tired!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janisakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews