We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, clean, well maintained cabins”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maine Idyll Motor Court
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

These cabins are fabulous, clean and well maintained. The prices are extremely reasonable. These are not on the beach, a few miles north of the city. Some cabins have fireplaces, all have heat. Cabins are available with two bedrooms, one bedroom or none, all are worth the money and more. Dogs are welcome at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed her in may of 2011. It is a line of cottages in a wooded stretch of route 1, about 3 miles from the outlet malls. We stayed in one to the left of the office and it had a fireplace, and a private porch. We had a great time on this trip, and there is a excellent state park nearby. Heading back this may for a quiet weekend. The only drawback is the highest is about 300 feet behing the property but not obnoxiously loud, I'm from Boston so it's not that bad, but at night it was pretty quiet with the windows open. Straight across from the cottages are total forest. Recommend to a family or couple for a nice getaway

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Maine Idyll is just north of Freeport ME and maybe 20 seconds from the Interstate. Cabins are each home-built; there are rocking chairs on the front stoops and rain roofs over them; fireplaces with wood supplied for many cabins; plenty of quiet; and clean premises. There are garbage cans for your dogs' "presents" and the paths are clean. We have stayed there several times and make it a point to do so anytime near the place and driving through to our camp in Eastbrook.

Room Tip: When reserving, have a conversation with the motel and they will advise which unit best suits your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The cabins were great,nice quaint family cabins that lend more to the atmosphere of being out in the woods than what you really are. This place is not to far out of town and is completely out of the hustle and bustle of downtown Freeport. We enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatuscaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Small rustic cabins right on Rt 1, convenient to Freeport. There are several permutations with types of beds, with or without fireplace, with or without kitchenette - you can check out the various cabins on their website. They supply the firewood and kindling if you have a fireplace. The breakfast is homemade coffee cake, OJ and coffee. This isn't the Ritz but a clean rustic cabin, albeit small, with direct TV and free wifi. There isn't a view of anything but some woods, but with the highway noise you can't begin to pretend you are deep in the Maine woods. The traffic noise isn't a problem at night.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I am so glad that we stayed here. This is just the kind of Inn that makes me feel nostalgic. My husband and I worked at a similar place in the Kaibab Forest when we were going to university. We arrived last night when it was damp and misty. A small heater warmed our room. Our cabin (#8) is tiny, but just perfect for a quick overnight stay on our drive up the Northeast Coast of America. The woman who checked us in asked if this was our first stay. I wish I could have said that we had stayed there many times. The room was clean. I awoke early this morning and took a nice hot shower. The bathroom is largewith plenty of space to lay out the contents of my cosmetic bag. We were very pleased to discover that we have good wireless internet and are catching up with emails. Our light breakfast of homemade muffins and hot chocolate hit the spot. Next time, and I hope there will be a next time, I want to stay longer and book a cabin with a fireplace.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisterandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have never stayed anywhere like this before but would certainly return.

Having read the other reviews we knew not to expect modern accomodation but we were very taken by the price which is low compared to what else we would find in the area.

Our cabin had 3 rooms which was ideal for our party of 5. The double beds were on the small side but were comfortable for the 3 nights we stayed. We appreciated having the kitchenette but with having one we were suprised that a kettle was not included. This is a cheap piece of equipment which I would have thought would have been more important that a microwave. We tried boiling water in the pan on the hob but this took ages. I would consider putting one in for convenience. Also there was a tv that didn't get any reception at all. We didn't need it but others may wish to use one that does actually work. We were also at the very back of the plot and could hear the main road quite a bit when outside, but amazingly it didn't bother us when going to sleep.

Everything else about the experience was lovely and as expected. The bathrooms were nicely kitted out, the baked goods on a morning were tasty and it was nice to have a little play area that our daughter could enjoy.

Freeport really is just for discount shops but the location of the hotel was just off the main highway to explore north of Freeport. There was a large supermarket at the south tip of Freeport so we could stock up on bits for our kitchenette.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
475 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
997 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Freeport Brunswick Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Idyll Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Idyll Motor Court

Address: 1411 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7108
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#5 Family Hotel in Freeport
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Maine Idyll Motor Court Hotel Freeport
Maine Idyll Motor Court Freeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing