We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodging deal in Freeport”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maine Idyll Motor Court
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best lodging deal in Freeport”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Most of the lodging in the heart of Freeport is overpriced. Idyll Court is a few miles out of town for half the cost with the bonus of a kitchen. Some of the cabins come with a fireplace, wood and matches included. The place is gives the feeling of a campground without having to deal with the annoying walk to toilet or a wet tent.

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin. One bedroom with a very comfortable queen bed, the other a full bed, TV and fireplace. (It is a lovely living room with a bed instead of a sofa.) Both bedrooms have wood floors, and ceilings. The kitchen is small but provides everything you need but food. The bathroom has a small shower. Everything is very clean.

A few downsides: no air conditioning, just fans. Maine is cool enough that this is not a problem most of the time. Also, the cabins are small, which would be OK if there was a little less furniture.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anniefolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    59
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
38
61
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Murphy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I was travelling with a friend and we booked a cabin here and for a very reasonable price. This cabin was really cute and I wished we had stayed here for a longer portion of our trip. Our cabin included two beds, a kitchen with a kitchen table, and other amenities. It also included 2 rocking chairs on the front porch. Everything seemed very clean. Some cabins also have fireplaces. Some have just one bed and they're noticeably smaller. Our cabin was #20 and it was located on a nice quiet part of the property backing the woods. There were some traffic sounds from Hwy 1, but the woods helped minimize that. I enjoyed being able to sit on the porch and hear the birds. The other side of the property is closer to 295 and you could hear a little more traffic--so I'm glad we were closer to Rte 1. You can get muffins and coffee in the mornings at the hotel office. And this place is just a short drive on Hwy 1 to downtown Freeport.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not too close to the 295 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhotoTripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewBrunswick
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Maine Idyll Court is perhaps Freeport’s best-kept secret. Located just a few minutes from L.L. Bean, it is tucked into a lovely woodlot, perfect for relaxing after a long day of shopping. We have stayed at the Maine Idyll many times. This time we had cabin #11. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The rocking chairs on the porch were a great way to relax and unwind in the evenings. The kitchenette, fully stocked with dishes, silverware, etc came in handy. New since our last visit is the free WIFI. We also enjoyed some great meals in the village at Petrillo’s (fantastic thin crust pizza), China Rose and the sandwiches at Derosier’s are to die for!

Freeport is the perfect location for enjoying Maine’s mid-coast and for the $74 price tag, the Maine Idyll can’t be beat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed one night in cabin 12. It had two cozy bedrooms with firm mattresses, living room with love seat, glider, small dinette with four chairs, flat screen tv and fireplace. The kitchenette was small and included a microwave, sm. fridge, sm. coffee maker, two hot plates and dishes and pots. The place was very clean except for a few spiders living in the corners. The cabin was in between Rt.1 and Rt.295 and the traffic noise was present, but didn't disturb us during the night. The cabin had a small front porch with two rockers and a large picnic table out front. This particular cabin wasn't right next to other cabins. We really appreciated the complimentary warm blueberry muffins and coffee while sitting in front of our morning fire.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a sitting area and a separate bedroom for just a bit more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracylee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a relaxing weekend getaway, because we love the idea of a cottage over a hotel! The room was small but a perfect size for us two. It was clean and quiet, had an awesome front porch, and direct tv! You cannot walk to the downtown shopping area, but it is only a 5 minute drive and there is plenty of parking!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariss2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

These cabins are fabulous, clean and well maintained. The prices are extremely reasonable. These are not on the beach, a few miles north of the city. Some cabins have fireplaces, all have heat. Cabins are available with two bedrooms, one bedroom or none, all are worth the money and more. Dogs are welcome at a very affordable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed her in may of 2011. It is a line of cottages in a wooded stretch of route 1, about 3 miles from the outlet malls. We stayed in one to the left of the office and it had a fireplace, and a private porch. We had a great time on this trip, and there is a excellent state park nearby. Heading back this may for a quiet weekend. The only drawback is the highest is about 300 feet behing the property but not obnoxiously loud, I'm from Boston so it's not that bad, but at night it was pretty quiet with the windows open. Straight across from the cottages are total forest. Recommend to a family or couple for a nice getaway

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
947 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
434 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maine Idyll Motor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maine Idyll Motor Court

Property: Maine Idyll Motor Court
Address: 1411 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7108
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#5 Family Hotel in Freeport
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Maine Idyll Motor Court Hotel Freeport
Maine Idyll Motor Court Freeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing