We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wolfe's Neck Oceanfront Campground at Wolfe's Neck CEnter
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
69
43
22
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
43
22
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp storeworking farmocean viewflush toiletswest baylow tidecamp groundcamping experiencequiet hoursorganic farmbath houserent kayakslaundry facilities aresummer campcharging stationfresh eggswaste disposal
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband, daughter and our dog stayed here for 5 nights at the end of June. We had spot #98 in the tenting only section. We had a very large area right on the ocean. We were close to the stairs to the beach and the kayak launch ramp as well as the slightly smelly outhouse and water pipe. There is not a lot of trees etc between the sites but everyone was far enough away to still have some privacy. The campground was very clean and quiet. Wolf Neck Farm is part of the campground. So you hear a lot of cow noises :-) Maybe it was early in the season but I was surprised that the little office/store didn't have any produce, milk, eggs or anything for sale from the farm. The campground is right outside of Freeport so going into town is easy. There is a very nice market right before arriving at Recompence that had everything you could need so didn't have to go all the way into Freeport to stock up. All in all a very nice place in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had camping spot # 108 and were there on a weekend when it was not very busy, in fact we were kind of shocked to find basically all the spots around us empty for such a nice weather weekend. But, we found out that it was kinda swampy where we were staying, a huge puddle gathered and our camping spot became a mosquito breeding ground. The price for this campsite is pretty steep considering there is no w/e for 30 something bucks a night. It's okay, but you could drive to Acadia and to Stonewall and get camp spots for 14 bucks that is in Acadia, seems worth the drive. We won't be going back, but to each their own! It was difficult getting the kayaks from our site to the water, because of the huge cliff. They did provide a kayak chute which made things a bit easier, but not much.

Room Tip: Campground has ocean side sites, but they are on top of each other.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My boyfriend, dog, and I stayed for 2 nights in the beginning of May. Our campsite was very nice. It had a view of the bay, a well-kept fire pit, and nice mowed grass. Their website has photos and accurate descriptions of sites, so definitely check those out before you book a specific site. There were doggie waste disposal bags and trash making picking up after the dog very easy. The inner wooded sites were beautiful as well, some with views of the feilds and bay in the distance. We checked in after the office had closed and were even able to purchase firewood, all on the honor system, which gave off a very friendly, welcoming, and trusting vide from the campground. It's only a few minutes from Freeport and 15-20 minutes to Portland. We will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: pay attention to the pictures and descriptions on the campground website, they are very accurate.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrzollz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here off-season with some friends in one of the oceanfront cabins. We were in the cabin on the point, which was simple but beautiful.The cabins are well-stocked with kitchen gear, and have cold running water, with an outhouse close by. The shower and laundry facilities are adequate. There is a nice playground area for the kids. My friends have camped here for many years, and return every year because they love it so much. The spot we were in was spectacular for watching the tide rise and fall, and pick around in the rocks at low tide, and it's a very picturesque walk around the campground to see the ocean from different perspectives, and see the animals out in the field and barn. My only negative comment was that the outhouses really smelled bad, as if they had not been emptied all season, but aside from that one detraction, I would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mvgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is a no frills campground, with minimal but usable facilities. The location is very nice and good for walks around the grounds for the water views. Also, the grounds are a working farm, and cows moo pleasantly as background effects. Also, for city folks the cows march here and there at different times of the day which is interesting to watch. There is a sea kayak put-in on the grounds under a tiny bridge. Do schedule your visit to catch a "shore dinner" at the farm, which they do throughout the summer. This is not to be missed, and there is a hayride for kids afterwards.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlcwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews