We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wolfe's Neck Oceanfront Campground at Wolfe's Neck CEnter
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Freeport
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harraseeket Inn(Freeport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Inn(Freeport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(Freeport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
69
43
22
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
43
22
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp storeworking farmocean viewflush toiletswest baylow tidecamp groundcamping experiencequiet hoursorganic farmbath houserent kayakslaundry facilities aresummer campcharging stationfresh eggswaste disposal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent two nights in one of the waterfront campsites. Excellent view, for just sitting and watching the tides in Casco Bay, birds, fish jumping. The sites are mostly wooded and shaded, and usually with trees separating the sites. (I hate campgrounds where there's no real boundary between my site and the neighbors). Even though all the waterfront sites were occupied, many with families, it was very quiet. Even though you are 10 minutes from downtown Freeport and the outlets, it's another world.

Some reviewers have criticized the outhouses. They are outhouses, not washrooms; they are going to give off an odor, especially in the heat of summer. I did not find them that bad, and a campground employee came around cleaning them daily. The fresh cut flowers in the washrooms near the office and snack bar were a nice touch.

Room Tip: Definitely fork over the extra money for a waterfront campsite. The RV sites with water/electric hookups are in a buggy field with no view, and looks like it could be swampy in wet weather. Even some of the "water view" sites aren't that good (one across from ours, right next to a water spigot, was muddy even though there had been no rain for 4 or 5 days). Also, check the trees around your site. Walking around the campground, I noticed numerous standing dead trees, which could crush a tent if they fell.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBPnfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My husband, daughter and our dog stayed here for 5 nights at the end of June. We had spot #98 in the tenting only section. We had a very large area right on the ocean. We were close to the stairs to the beach and the kayak launch ramp as well as the slightly smelly outhouse and water pipe. There is not a lot of trees etc between the sites but everyone was far enough away to still have some privacy. The campground was very clean and quiet. Wolf Neck Farm is part of the campground. So you hear a lot of cow noises :-) Maybe it was early in the season but I was surprised that the little office/store didn't have any produce, milk, eggs or anything for sale from the farm. The campground is right outside of Freeport so going into town is easy. There is a very nice market right before arriving at Recompence that had everything you could need so didn't have to go all the way into Freeport to stock up. All in all a very nice place in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had camping spot # 108 and were there on a weekend when it was not very busy, in fact we were kind of shocked to find basically all the spots around us empty for such a nice weather weekend. But, we found out that it was kinda swampy where we were staying, a huge puddle gathered and our camping spot became a mosquito breeding ground. The price for this campsite is pretty steep considering there is no w/e for 30 something bucks a night. It's okay, but you could drive to Acadia and to Stonewall and get camp spots for 14 bucks that is in Acadia, seems worth the drive. We won't be going back, but to each their own! It was difficult getting the kayaks from our site to the water, because of the huge cliff. They did provide a kayak chute which made things a bit easier, but not much.

Room Tip: Campground has ocean side sites, but they are on top of each other.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My boyfriend, dog, and I stayed for 2 nights in the beginning of May. Our campsite was very nice. It had a view of the bay, a well-kept fire pit, and nice mowed grass. Their website has photos and accurate descriptions of sites, so definitely check those out before you book a specific site. There were doggie waste disposal bags and trash making picking up after the dog very easy. The inner wooded sites were beautiful as well, some with views of the feilds and bay in the distance. We checked in after the office had closed and were even able to purchase firewood, all on the honor system, which gave off a very friendly, welcoming, and trusting vide from the campground. It's only a few minutes from Freeport and 15-20 minutes to Portland. We will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: pay attention to the pictures and descriptions on the campground website, they are very accurate.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrzollz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here off-season with some friends in one of the oceanfront cabins. We were in the cabin on the point, which was simple but beautiful.The cabins are well-stocked with kitchen gear, and have cold running water, with an outhouse close by. The shower and laundry facilities are adequate. There is a nice playground area for the kids. My friends have camped here for many years, and return every year because they love it so much. The spot we were in was spectacular for watching the tide rise and fall, and pick around in the rocks at low tide, and it's a very picturesque walk around the campground to see the ocean from different perspectives, and see the animals out in the field and barn. My only negative comment was that the outhouses really smelled bad, as if they had not been emptied all season, but aside from that one detraction, I would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mvgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews