We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recompense Shore Campground is a beautiful location with plenty of amenities and activities.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We've stayed at Recompense Shores/Wolfe's Neck Farm in each of the last ten years. Theocation is spectacularly beautiful, and the facilities are first-rate. The outlet stores in Freeport are just a few miles away if you need a diversion, but the area has plenty to offer aside from that.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mart816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I have camped at Recompence Shore Campground for years now. We have a travel trailer - 26 feet. We have stayed in sites both with a without hookups, depending on the forecast.

The oceanfront sites are by far the best, but there are none with hookups, and not all of them are private. Use the website to make the best choice for yourself.

The hookup sites are much less private and much less desirable. I think Recompence would do very well to add utilities to some of their wooded sites.

With all that said, the location of this campground could not be nicer. It is part of a working farm, Wolfe's Neck Farm, and there are paths for walking, animals for petting, and a rocky coast for climbing or sitting on. Freeport - home of LL Bean and lots of other outlets - is just a few miles away, as are many other day trips.

If you like lots of planned activities, a pool and a rec room this is NOT the campground for you. It is peaceful, pretty and natural.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Superb location, with eco credentials. Quiet, laid back and beautiful surroundings. Lots to do and visit locally and helpful staff. Check out wolves neck farm. Great views over the water too. Children will love it. We would highly recommend

Room Tip: Clicked rooms...but you need to bring your own. No swimming pool, but lots of water to swim in..
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

In August of 2012 we arrived at "our tent site" (which is premium bayview) which we had stayed in the previous 2 years. Much to our extreme dissappointment and dismay, the once pristine site was deeply rutted, a mud pit and slick with some fluid which had leaked from the RV that had just left the site. Despite the fact that it was Sunday and a major event was being attended to at the Recompence Shore Farm (which is the best farm we have ever visited as far as cleanliness and animal treatment is concerned), we had the camp manager and two of his assisstants respond immediately to our concerns for the horrible condition of the site.

Not only did the staff assist in moving all of our equipment and choosing the best alternative site based on proximity to the great playground, brand new bathrooms/showers and still a view of the Casco Bay but the manager supplied us with free firewood and comped the entire stay to insure we would return.

Our one improvement we would make if we were management at Recompence Shore Family Campground is to have a separate area for RV camping. RV's mixed with rain render the campground dangerous for tenters and completely obscure other's view of the bay not to mention the generator sound and smell.

We have recommended Recompence Shore Family Camprgound to many friends near and far (we live in Maryland) and cannot wait to camp there in 2013!

Room Tip: Try to get a bay view camp site.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recompence, Manager at Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Hi Deb:

Thank you so much for your kind review about Recompence. I chuckled when I read it as I very clearly remember you, your friend and great kids when you arrived this summer. You were all very patient with us! Thanks again for writing this and please stop by the office to say hello when you are here this summer.

Best,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed for two nights on a waterfront site. The site was extremely muddy, and I felt that the office should have recommended another site since the campground was not full. Of course, we probably should have requested a change, but by the time we drove in and found our site, we didn't want to brave the gravel road back out. The long gravel road was in poor condition with potholes - not fun with a truck and camper. The scenery was beautiful, but we enjoyed it most at the nearby state park. Freeport is a lovely town, but the main attraction is shopping...not a favorite pass time for us with four young children. The restrooms were clean, and the kids enjoyed ice cream at the snack shack, but otherwise we were quite disappointed with the campground. It was quite pricey (I believe $55/night) for a site with no water or electric.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recompence, Manager at Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Hi L S – Thank you for your feedback! I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. It is very important to us that our guests enjoy their camping experience, and would have been glad to help you find a site that was more suitable for you. With 130 campsites priced between $26-46 per night, we have a wide variety of sites, and nearly every one is a little different. Sometimes our roads do get a little bumpy, especially after wet weather. However, many people find our unpaved roads a welcome change and enjoy the rustic, scenic quality of camping on a historic working saltwater farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this campground! The lady that works in the office during the day is so nice. We are from Georgia & I found this campground online. Couldnt have been any happier with it. Beautiful scenery & great spots to put up tents with a great view!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was a perfect camping spot. Beautfiul scenery, private, quiet, peaceful. This is what camping should be! Love the farm. I've camped for 30 years and my 4th time at Recompence and it just keeps getting better and better. Thank you Jackie & Jim for suggesting an amazing site. We will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.6 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
966 reviews
11.7 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#13 of 20 in Portland
103 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm

Address: 134 Burnett Rd, Freeport, ME 04032-6322
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Freeport
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 50 years, our family-friendly Recompence Shore Campground has given families the opportunity to stay at a working saltwater farm just 4.5 miles from downtown Freeport and L.L. Bean. Set on our 626 acres of farmland and forest with over 4 miles of Casco Bay ocean frontage, our campground is the perfect place to enjoy your Maine vacation in the country. Open May-October (winter camping by appointment) 3 oceanfront cottages & 130 oceanfront, inland and wooded campsites Tents-only area (Middle Bay) 20 RV sites (inland) with water & 30 amp electric service (35' max) Limited oceanfront sites that accomodate motorhomes and trailers (dry camping) Adjacent to Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park Pet-friendly (max: 2 well-behaved, leashed pets per site) Summer kayak and bicyle rentals, farm tours, lobster bakes, Snack Shack and haywagon rides, history tours and family programs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Recompence Shore Campground Hotel Freeport
Recompence Shore Campground At Wolfe's Neck Farm Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing