We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wolfe's Neck Oceanfront Campground at Wolfe's Neck CEnter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My mother and I spent 2 nights at Recompence Shore Campground in early September. We stayed at site 88 and the location was beautiful, right on the bay. The campground was quiet and had nice hiking trails, and was located very close to the shopping and conveniences of downtown Freeport.

We were able to book our trip using a Groupon discount, and we both agreed that if we had paid full price we would have been disappointed. For $50/night we'd expect flushing toilets and running showers in every loop. It looked like there were about 200 campsites and there were only 6 showers located right next to the camp store, and only 2-stall outhouses were available in the site loops. This was our only complaint!

The staff was friendly and helpful, checking in and out was a simple and fast process. I'd recommend this beautiful place to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JoshandEmilyPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family has camped here every summer for the past 24 years.
We love the location and friendly staff.
The back to nature feel and the lack of organized activities keep us returning.
It's a place to relax, read, hike, swim, kayak, ride bikes.
There is a local farm so one should expect sights and sounds of farm animals, farmers, and gardens.

Room Tip: A place to relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Recompence Shore and had a wonderful stay. Our site was located in a "tents only" loop and we found the location to offer a nice water view and a quiet setting. We are active people and found many nearby hiking options and felt very safe jogging in the area surrounding the campground. The location is perfect for quick trips into Freeport for many shopping and dinning options. Many people on here have commented on the outhouse facilities... We found them to be fine. When we're camping we are okay with roughing it a bit, and in our experience the outhouses were kept neat and tidy. One thing we did find slightly annoying was that you have to pay to use the showers. But in the grand scheme of things this was only a minor inconvenience. The camp store is well appointed and the staff was friendly and helpful. We had a great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattandBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My four-year old renamed our campsite "Smellyville." He was spot-on.
We heard through the grapevine of other campers that the smell ( fermented garbage/manure) was from a farm nearby or possibly the farm on the campground. It would waft through with certain breezes and make you retch. We asked a worker what it was and she just looked at us sadly and said "I'm so sorry." We called the front office but no one was available to handle the complaint. Left a message for the manager- no return call. (If the situation was out of their control it would have been courteous to at least let us know what it was, and not pretend everything was OK.)
The campground is in such a gorgeous place. We have been there twice before and loved it. We reserved the best site available in March - a premium oceanfront spot. It wasn't cheap! We had an amazing view of the cove and the ocean. But all for naught. We couldn't stay at our site due to the stench.
When we opened our camper up at our next destination the sillage lingered for hours. Honestly it was such a huge disappointment. And customer service/ response was nonexistent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recompence, Manager at Wolfe's Neck Oceanfront Campground at Wolfe's Neck CEnter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We send our apologies for the poor experience you had while staying as a guest at our campground. The smell you referred to was that of chicken manure spread by our farm on a nearby field. It was a product from a central Maine farm that had been marketed as having minimum odor and was recommended to us by a representative of the Maine Department of Agriculture. Unfortunately, the product ended up being very smelly indeed, and we do not intend to use it again during the camping season. We certainly regret your experience, and hope that as a repeat camper you will come back again and enjoy the fresh ocean air that is more typical of our campground. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My friend and I payed $50.00 per night for an "ocean view" campsite. In reality, we overlooked a salt marsh and the view was blocked by trees.
Although out of the campground's control, a nearby farmer spread chicken manure on his fields the morning of our arrival. The smell was overpowering and bad. It was difficult to sleep that night and the odor lingered for days afterward.
The site's nearby sanitary facilities were UN-sanitary. Maintenance of the outhouse appeared to be minimal and the communal water spigot, (no running water in individual sites), lacked a proper drain. As a result, one risked being splashed by a pool of waste water when one turned on the spigot. At night, mosquitoes swarmed around it.
Showers were located at some distance, near the campground office. They were relatively clean but only one provided steady water pressure and a consistent temperature.
My friend and I were really disappointed and will never return to Recompense. I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charles41556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

I grew up camping from a very young age and have always loved it since. My husband on the other hand never liked camping but for our honeymoon we agreed to split the time and spend some time camping and some time in a hotel. From the moment we arrived here he was in love, it is spacious and clean the staff is extremely friendly and quiet hours are strictly enforced. There were no fancy pools or arcades just a great campground with nice facilities on a working farm. Set directly next to Wolfs Neck State Park there are hundreds of hiking trails and being right in Casco bay there is a lot of water to kayak. Only a couple of miles from downtown Freeport (and L.L. Bean) you can't beat the location!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mrsevilbeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights recently in our small trailer in the RV section. We have traveled all over the country and usually for $42 a night, flush toilets are the norm, not pit toilets. The flush toilets are at the entrance and are very primitive and very far away from the RV section. No hot water the days we were there. I did see the plumber arrive as we were leaving. The campground was packed. I do love the pastoral setting. Good easy biking on roads and campground roads. Ladies in office very helpful and trying to accommodate all on a busy weekend. The upper section on the first night looked like the Jersey shore. Too many tenters
packed together in too little space. This is Maine after all. Is the campground trying to accommodate too many campers? All in all a good stay despite this senior's less than stellar reporting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.6 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Freeport
Econo Lodge Freeport
#11 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
2.9 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolfe's Neck Oceanfront Campground at Wolfe's Neck CEnter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolfe's Neck Oceanfront Campground at Wolfe's Neck CEnter

Address: 134 Burnett Rd, Freeport, ME 04032 (Formerly Recompence Shore Campground at Wolfe's Neck Farm)
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Freeport
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 50 years, our family-friendly Wolfe's Neck Oceanfront Campground has given families the opportunity to stay at a working saltwater farm just 4.5 miles from downtown Freeport and L.L. Bean. Set on our 626 acres of farmland and forest with over 4 miles of Casco Bay ocean frontage, our campground is the perfect place to enjoy your Maine vacation in the country. Open May-October (winter camping by appointment) 3 oceanfront cottages & 130 oceanfront, inland and wooded campsites Tents-only area (Middle Bay) 20 RV sites (inland) with water & 30 amp electric service (35' max) Limited oceanfront sites that accommodate motorhomes and trailers (dry camping) Adjacent to Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park Pet-friendly (max: 2 well-behaved, leashed pets per site) Summer kayak and bicycle rentals, farm tours, lobster bakes, Snack Shack and haywagon rides, history tours and family programs ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Recompence Shore Campground Hotel Freeport
Wolfe's Neck Oceanfront Campground At Wolfe's Neck CEnter Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing