We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobster Rolls”
Review of The Corsican Restaurant - CLOSED

The Corsican Restaurant
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Corsican Restaurant is conveniently located just around the corner from L.L. Bean in the historic district and jewelry section of town at 9 Mechanic Street, in an original 1800's carriage house. We have two dining rooms and a new outdoor patio dining area. We serve sandwiches, salads, pizza, homemade soups and chowders, Blueberry pie, lemon layer cake, warm gingerbread and more. Our specialty is fresh delicious food served in a friendly Maine atmosphere. We also have gifts, Maine memorabilia and Angel from Maine ornaments.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Lobster Rolls”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Corsican Restaurant is a charming place to dine away from the crowds of Main St., Freeport. It has both outside and inside dining and is walking distance from LL Beans and outlet stores. We were very please with our choices, the lobster rolls were delicious and not served in the typical small "hot dog roll". The Corsican's rolls were much larger and packed full of lobster. The menu is diverse and offers something for everyone however seafood seems to be their speciality. The five of us all enjoyed our entrees and will go back the next time we're in Maine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank advtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    118
    41
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Bend
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“$$$ and the staff ignored us”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Yes, the atmosphere is cute, as we suspect the restaurant used to be someone's house. Yes, the food is fine (tastes good, just not enough for the price).

There was a deafening party of customers who sat behind us. I realize that there's nothing the restaurant could do to quiet them, but if it's any indication, a couple sitting at a table next to us actually left because of the noise & lack of attentiveness.

The main seating area is close quarters, but we didn't discover until the meal was over that there was both outside and upstairs seating; the employees reportedly don't like to seat customers either locale as they would have to make the trek to and from the table. We could hear customers upstairs, so why were we discouraged from sitting up there? They would already have to go up there...

The downfall and ultimate reason for the 2/5 rating was the utter lack of service. There were two servers/waitresses, and we were unable to get their attention before, during, and after the meal. No one came to the table to take beverage orders; we magnanimously accepted that and drank the provided glasses of water. However, at no point during the meal did a waitress offer to or on her own initiative refill our waters. No one told us the soup of the day or today's special -- we know they should have because we heard a waitress saunter on over to a neighboring table and inform them of such halfway through our own meal. We grew tired of waiting for our server to approach our table, as it looked like it wasn't going to happen, so we flagged her over to place our orders. Furthermore, after the food was delivered, no one asked us if we needed anything. By the time the meal was over, we figured the waitress wouldn't bring us the check, so we approached her as she stood idle near the cash register. Startled at our approach, she eventually found our bill and asked if we wanted dessert -- ha!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwade56, Owner at The Corsican Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear RoseK,
We are so sorry you had inadequate experience at our restaurant! There is no excuse for bad service and we apologize. We have two dining rooms and a new outdoor patio. We seat in all three spaces everyday. We never restrict where people sit and we always try to accommodate everyone. When there is a group of customers that are loud, we can't really ask them to be quiet but we can move our other diners to our other spaces at any time. We wish you could have sat somewhere else, obviously. We value every single customer and are trying to deliver a delicious and memorable dining experience to that person. You mentioned that the portion was small. We would love to know what it was. We learn from these reviews and take them seriously. We dropped the ball with you and that is regrettable. If you are ever in Freeport again, we would like to make it up to you. Please see me personally. We can fix this…sending you a hug... Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch spot.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We popped int this restaurant for lunch and had a very nice pleasant experience. Homey and welcoming atmosphere. The most wonderful smell of blueberry bread or cake in the air. I eat clam chowder almost meal on my vacation and this was the best so far. Kids had a very good pizza and I had a delicious hot crab melt sandwich. Good desserts too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My husband had the Salmon with Blueberries and I had the Haddock Florentine. Our meal could not have been more delicious. Great wine...reasonably-priced... and the brownie dessert rounded out the perfect meal. Impeccable service a bonus.

Helpful?
Thank kroppykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Kid friendly, really good food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because they had a kid friendly menu. We're glad we did! The lobster roll was really good. It wasn't crowded because it's a block off the Main Street in Freeport. We had a great lunch there. Recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Corsican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing