We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe food handling??”
Review of Derosier's Market

Derosier's Market
Ranked #23 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Safe food handling??”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Decided to try this place because hubby and I wanted Italian sandwiches. Service was slooooow. Not only that, after the cashier served us she proceeded to make our sandwiches and I'm certain she did not wash her hands after handling cash....ugh! No gloves either. I was disgusted. Never will I go back. Also while cashier/server was making sandwiches other customers came in. Not once did she say "be right with you" to the new customer. There was another girl working in the kitchen who was making pizza. Not enough staff for a busy Saturday either - two total. First and last time for sure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonctonGal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We picked Derosier's because it looked like a cute mom and pop place. Unfortunately that was not the case. The staff was not very professional. While we were waiting for our food, we could hear one of the staff cursing at her boyfriend on her cellphone. We ordered a chicken teriyaki sub and a general tso's sub along with a slice of pizza. I'm glad I got the pizza. That was decent. My chicken teriyaki was the worst thing ever. Processed microwave chicken with a fake teriyaki sauce. It made me sick to my stomach. The general tso's sandwich was okay. Both sandwiches were soggy and not up to par. We will spend the extra money and go to Antonia's or Amato's. I wish I could get my money back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IMADALEY1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Try something other than their pizza”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We've eaten here twice - mini toasted sub was good and their lobster roll is very good and they serve a large portion for the price. But we heard so much about them being known for their pizza so decided to try one tonight for dinner. Ordered a large with half veggie and half bbq chicken on thin crust. First, after opening once we were home, not made with thin crust; then way too much cheese on both halves and too little of the toppings. The bbq chicken had an old taste, was tough and stringy, the broccoli was bitter and overall, just a mediocre pizza (s). Perhaps this can all be attributed to whoever made the pizzas ?? but we've had much better pizza at Antonia's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cheap eats!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great made to order fresh Italian sandwiches. Very reasonable prices. Historic building with great atmosphere. Been in business since 1904.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivadefiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lobster Roll”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A positive "hole in the wall" experience...Clean, well lit, friendly staff...Enjoyed our first Lobster Roll in Maine

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank retiredchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Derosier's Market also viewed

 

Been to Derosier's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing