We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third best Italians in Maine, I think!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derosier's Market

Derosier's Market
Ranked #22 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Third best Italians in Maine, I think!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a great find in Maine's Outletville of Freeport, no more and no less than what it looks like - a great little sandwich & ice cream shop which has been there since before Freeport boomed. The veggie toasty is outstanding, and I'm not a vegetarian! But the ham Italian is darn good too! Prices are cheap, food is super fresh, quantities are large for the price, and the value outstanding. Of course I'll go back again...it's the bright spot to an outlet expedition!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank iirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

family owned for more than 100yrs. has the charm that goes with an old market and the food that has kept locals and travelers alike coming to for a century. stop in for pizza or a sandwich, ice cream or just a snack, the fresh prepared food will make you glad you did. the employees were very friendly and had our food prepared quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reacher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for after shopping ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

After spending hours and hours doing what Freeport is best at--shopping--we decided what we needed was ice cream. We went in to Derosier's having not been there before and found a very nice mom and pop store.

I forgot to ask what the brand of ice cream was that they serve but the raspberry was a good choice and the serving sizes were perfect for us.

There was a stream of people coming in even at 9pm getting ice cream and picking up subs.

There was a young lady, definitely a friend of the owners, that came in after playing soccer, which her team lost 1-0, and said "What's better after soccer than ice cream?"

We seek out places like this rather than any of the name brand places because food is always better when shared with friends and family...even though we're not either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davison, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ice cream after shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

After spending hours and hours doing what Freeport is best at-shopping-we thought ice cream sounded good as we walked past this market. The stor is tiny but at 9pm there isn't many people left buying ice cream so we had our choice of booths.

I don't know the brand of ice cream that they carry but the raspberry one is delicious. And a single scoop was the right size for the end of the day.

It is very much a mom and pop style atmosphere as a young girl came in after her soccer game, which she said that she lost 1-0, who obviously knows the owners and said "what's better than ice cream after playing soccer?"

These are the types of places we like and go out of our way to find on our journeys.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sjvjrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Understaffed but always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I order takeout from derosiers often. We love their pizza and their sandwiches. It can be slow service wise because they are a busy shop with only 2-3 staff working at once.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hlibby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Derosier's Market also viewed

 

Been to Derosier's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing