We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just stopping in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amato's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amato's
Ranked #41 of 59 Restaurants in Freeport
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just stopping in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I must admit I have never eaten here, but have stopped in for a Coke while out shopping. Each time, I was welcomed by a friendly employee who provided prompt service. I understand they are moving to Bow Street and will be sure to check them out in their new location.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KTM990-28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average Pizza/Sub Shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I wanted to get quick and inexpensive dinner last weekend. We got it here. My wife got a pasta dish which she enjoyed, and was good considering it was a pizza shop. It certainly was not in the class of a great Italian restaurant, but it was good and a nice size for the money.

I got a nine-inch cheese pizza which was disappointing. It was a nice size for one person, and the taste was average. The pizza sauce was most disappointing. It tasted like an average pasta sauce, rather than pizza sauce. There was not enough cheese around the outer edge of the pizza, which left a lot of the less than stellar sauce with no cheese on it.

Next time we're in Freeport, we'll almost certainly try a different pizza place. I will say though and the staff and family here are very pleasant people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DFM_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Italian Sandwiches and Whoopie Pies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a very resonably priced place to grab a sandwich which are fresh made to order. They have great Pizza too and as I mentioned the Whoopie Pies are great for a quick snack later in the day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank canddlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice sub and sandwich shop in downtown Freeport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Whenever we do the Freeport shopping thing, Amato's is always one of our stops. The pizza has a light, tasty crust and the toppings are fresh and flavorful. Since Amato's is right across from the LL Bean store, there's no need to travel far to get a good sub or pizza. There are plenty of places nearby for more upscale dining, but Amato's is just right for lunch or a quick, inexpensive supper.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeverPayFullPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sad to say, first try here was pretty awful....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We ordered a calzone and small veggie pizza to go - both very greasy and tasteless; couldn't even tell which, if any veggies were actually on the pizza. So if you try them, suggest trying something other than what we tried. Next time we will go to Antonia's (a bit south going out of town) as their pizza is great but we wanted to give Amato's a try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amato's also viewed

 

Been to Amato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing