We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Caribou, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This property is a great place to stay. Needed a cot the night we got there and there was one waiting there for us in our room. Nice breakfast. A welcomed place to come after traveling all day. Would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oleander3-117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you felt it was a "lovely place to stay" and that you felt welcomed upon arrival. We hope that you will stop by if you are ever in the Freeport area again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    100
    62
    35
    23
See reviews for
70
115
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

After researching places to stay in the Freeport area I found this to be a good value. We only needed a room for one night as we were traveling to a few different areas in Maine. I found the front desk staff to be very friendly. The room was very clean and suited our needs. It was quiet and the location was good. The beds were comfortable and the water pressure for the shower was good. The free breakfast was ok but the room where we ate was small. I would book a room here again in the future. If you plan on staying on the 2nd floor be prepared to carry your luggage up the steps as there isn't an elevator.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel about your experience! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff and cleanliness of your room. It is great that you felt you received value in the Freeport area during our peak season. We hope that you will book a room with us in the future and pass the word along! Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had three rooms on the second floor and stayed for two nights. The rooms were on a small size, but we expected it considering the price. None of the rooms had fridges or microwaves, it was abit of an issue, since we had to store milk for a toddler somewhere. So if it's important for you, make sure you ask for a room with a fridge. WiFi was better than in some more expensive hotels. Breakfast is adequate, and there are tables and chairs scattered around the hotel, so some people would have their breakfast outside (dining area inside is pretty tight). The location is perfect if you're visiting Freeport area. We drove to Portland one day and wasn't too bad. I would definitely recommend the hotel for its cleaniness and the staff friendliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milla18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review for us! It is unfortunate that none of your 3 rooms had a fridge, but we are hoping to get many more in the off-season to fill the rest of the rooms. Thank you for complimenting the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again and be sure to ask for a fridge if you do! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

In the freeport area for the Yarmouth Clam Festival. This was our second stay here for the Clam Festival and we saw an improvement in the room this year compared to last year. The rooms are neat clean and comfortable. The room rate was very reasonable compared to other motels in the area. It is well situated for trips to Yarmouth and the outlets in Freeport. They supply a contential breakfast. The staff is helpful for any requests and directions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrig and microwave, not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmastrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay the second time around as well. Thank you for the compliments about the cleanliness, value, and friendly staff. We appreciate that you noticed some of our upgrades! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machias, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Worst night I have ever had at a hotel. Up all night long people coming in all hours of the night waking me and my wife up. Slamming doors, kids running around up stairs stumping there feet. I stayed year earlier in the year and had a little noise but still thought I would try it again, I will never stay here again.I had to make a complaint with the front desk at 12:30 in the morning went down there and they asked what room I was in and they said they were going to see what they can do I asked for my money back we will see if they will give it back. 165.00 to stay here for absolutely awful night. Couldn't leave to go to another hotel because everyone was booked solid, no vacancy anywhere.

Room Tip: First ask what's there policy on noise complaints. And do they stand by there rules.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodcritic1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We strive to provide every guest with a comfortable, satisfactory stay and unfortunately that did not happen with your stay. I am very sorry for this. We generally do not have any noise complaints even when we are sold out, as we are every night in the summer. The front desk staff did investigate the problem when you complained at 12:30am, and was unable to find anyone making the noise. I do apologize that your stay was not a good experience, and discounted your room accordingly. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Portsmouth, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Pleasantly surprised that room very neat, clean, and had wifi. Staff helpful and breakfast good. Price was best in area. We stayed two nights. Parking right outside door. There as a small re fridge and microwave. What more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Not sure all rooms were redone. Could ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel about your recent stay! We are glad that you were satisfied and "could not ask for more!" Thank you for your compliments about the staff, cleanliness, and affordability. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are in the Freeport area! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was the first nights stay in a week long vacation. The hotel was nice. It was clean. The staff was nice. They even have a contest for people that write reviews on tripadvisor. It is a less than 5 minute drive into downtown Freeport. At $72.00 the night we stayed there I think it was a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edbishop55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and be a part of our TripAdvisor contest! We appreciate your compliments regarding the location, cleanliness, and the staff. We hope that you will stay with us again and will pass the feedback along to the staff! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Property: Econo Lodge Freeport
Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing