We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong with this place for an overnight.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong with this place for an overnight.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We had a handicapped accessible room which was fine except it had just a double bed. Had forgotten how small they are for 2 people. Think hotels should not have any beds smaller than queens in this day and age!
Loved the waffle machine for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
It is so important for us to get feedback from our guests regarding their experiences, so thank you for writing us this review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the waffle machine at breakfast. It is a very popular breakfast item. We apologize that the double bed was a bit small, and agree that queen beds are the more the "norm" in hotels nowadays. If you are in Freeport again in the future, we would be happy to reserve you a room with a king sized bed, which would be much more comfortable. Thanks again for your feedback! We are glad you were happy with your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    100
    62
    35
    23
See reviews for
70
115
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed one night in the Econo Lodge in Frreeport and found it to be a good deal for the price. This hotel was significantly less cost than other hotels in the general area and the room was more than adequate for two of us. While the furnishings were basic and the amenities were slim, the bed was comfortable, the room was very quiet and we slept great. We really appreciated having a small refrigerator in the room to keep our sandwich things in good shape for the next day. There was a complimentary breakfast available and if we have one complaint for this property, it is the breakfast room. The food was fine but the seating area was really small for the number of people that were being served. We were stuck at a table that was right in front of the air conditioner and it was really chilly! Other than that the breakfast was OK. Overall would not hesitate to stay here again and have already recommended this as a place to stay to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay! We are glad you found the price reasonable, the room "more than adequate," and the bed comfortable. Thank you for these compliments! We agree that the breakfast room is not big enough for when we are full, and are hopeful that adding more tables outside next year will alleviate some of the congestion. Thank you for recommending the hotel to a friend of yours! We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and are grateful for this feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Very dated, small room with small bathroom. Rug had loose strands of fibers at each end and was worn and dirty. Tile floor portion looks grungy. Chairs very worn with dirt/stains. Beds just ok. Pillows were old, flat, and some smelled. Heat worked ok and not too noisy. Significant road noise from I-295. Will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachpaul504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us in September and choosing to write a review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay and were kept awake by traffic noise. Normally the side of Route 1 that we are on is the quieter side. Being a budget-level hotel, our rooms are a bit small, as well as the bathrooms, and it is unfortunate that you felt cramped in the room. We will be shampooing all of the room carpets as well as the upholstery very soon, and we appreciate you letting us know that this needs to be done as soon as possible. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in Freeport, and we will be sure to put you towards the back of the hotel where it is quieter. Thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after a long day of shopping cause the price was not horrible for a place to sleep, but I would have just assume traveled an hour to something better for the same price. Room was okay, spelled funny. Fixtures were rusted, pretty dated. Comforter Had cigarette burn, wasnt vert confortable either. We git a king room and it as quite spacious though. Continental breakfast was good, very crowded though since its from 6-9 most people go between 730-9. Definitely wasn't worth the price.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlp923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
We greatly appreciate you writing us a review about your recent stay. Thank you for your compliments regarding breakfast and the size of the room! We are sorry that you weren't entirely satisfied with your stay. We hope to be getting some new furniture and fixtures in the offseason so that we can get rid of the "dated" feeling to the rooms. Hopefully upgrading some items will make the price of the room and its value more in line. Thank you for your feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here last year and had a room on the second floor - it was a comfortable, basic stay and we didn't hesitate to book again this year when we returned to Freeport...however, I don't think we will stay here again unless we're in a pinch. This time, we were on the first floor and the room was so damp that bathroom floor was wet and almost slimy through the night. The carpet felt very damp as well. I wasn't comfortable putting anything on the floor because of the dampness. It's to bad because otherwise, it is a nice budget place to stay.

Room Tip: If you stay here, try and get a second floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akalittleeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you chose to stay with us again, but apologize for falling short of your expectations. We have looked into the "dampness" in the room you stayed in, and have resolved the ventilation issue, so that should not happen again. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and appreciate your feedback. We hope you will give us another try if you are in Freeport again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

With three adults, a 4-year-old and a 1-year-old, we were looking for a place that would accommodate all of us in one room. Other hotels in the area tried to get us to book two rooms, or would charge extra for having five in a room. We decided on the Econo Lodge based on the rate and the friendliness of the front desk. The woman at the front desk made sure a cot was brought to the room for our 4-year-old, along with extra towels. We all had a good night sleep. Only cons were the dirty carpet and crowded breakfast area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
It is so helpful that you took the time to write us a review! We are grateful that you found value in your stay and that the staff was very accommodating. I do apologize if the carpet was dirty; we will be shampooing them at the end of the season which will greatly improve that issue. We hope you enjoyed Freeport and will stop by and stay with us again! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
283 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stopped here on our way further up the coast so only have one night to write about. The desk personnel were friendly and efficient but I found the room rather dated and overall could use an upgrade. The bed was comfortable but I found the bathroom to be small, cramped and dinghy. The breakfast the next day included bagels, bread, muffins, oatmeal and waffles but no eggs/sausage/bacon etc. The breakfast room was small so we ended up eating in our room - not the most desirable place to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkis229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. Thank you for your kind words about our front desk staff. We are hopefully going to be getting some upgrades in the near future. I apologize that you felt the bathroom was small and cramped. I would definitely agree that they are on the small size. We are glad you were able to take part in our continental breakfast but it is unfortunate you weren't able to enjoy it in our small breakfast space. I hope you were able to take advantage of our EconoLodge trays to help you bring your breakfast to your room. Thanks again for your review as we greatly appreciate this feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Property: Econo Lodge Freeport
Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing