We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low end accomodations, grossly overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed there on July 14, 2014. Price was 144.. US plus taxes. The motel is akin to a motel you would find on the highway of many small towns across the US or Canada. It was very basis, bathroom very tiny. Room was clean. Staff friendly. Breakfast facilities not bad.

There was a lot of noise in the outside hallways and it seemed everyone wore work boots running up and down the halls at midnight hollering...screaming. I think a bunch of hillbillies from south Carolina stayed there that night.

My biggest beef beside the noise was that it was grossly overpriced for type of motel and services available. They definitely take advantage of the " tourist" season.

Room Tip: try a different motel for that price, book early
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Freeport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is inexpensive, but with the extra amenities of a hotel much more expensive. The room was clean, and beds comfortable. Breakfast was waffle fare with hard boiled eggs, and all that I require for a good breakfast. Loved it, and WILL stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hornpout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review!! We are so happy that you think we have the "Best Econo Lodge in the US!" as this is what we all strive for every day as a team! We appreciate your compliments regarding how comfortable and clean your room was, as well as the breakfast options. Thank you so much for your feedback, and we can't wait to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We arrived late in the evening to our hotel. My friend had reserved two rooms through Priceline.com. We went into our room and the bathroom floor was filthy. (see photo attached). I told my husband I could not stay there. I went to the front desk and luckily there was another room available. I really did not want to stay there at all but had no choice since my friend prepaid on Priceline. Since it was late, we asked if we could just leave some of our luggage in the dirty room and sleep in the clean room. The gentleman at the desk said that it was not a problem.

Upon leaving I asked for a refund. I was told that it would have to be done through Priceline. I called Priceline and they spoke to the hotel manager, Christina. She said that no refund would be issued because we changed rooms.

Maybe this is a business decision on the hotel's part - but it sure is not a good decision for maintaining good customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cajuncouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review! I am very sorry that your bathroom floor was not cleaned properly; there is no excuse for it, and I have discussed it with the housekeepers to prevent further issues in the future. The gentleman at the desk had moved you to a different room, so we had the room that you moved from marked vacant. When housekeeping went to the vacant room to properly clean the room that had issues the next morning, there was still a guest in that room. Therefore, we rented you a total of 3 rooms for the price of 2 rooms, and for that reason, no refund was issued. If there had been no other room available for you to move to or the original room was vacant and not still being used by a member of your party, I would have been happy to discount your stay. But since you were able to switch rooms, and still occupied the original room as well, I was unable to discount your stay. I apologize for this matter, and will work with housekeeping so this does not happen again.

Thank you,
Kristina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Have stayed here multiple times during trips through New England in the summer. We don't spend much time in hotels other than sleeping so we are not that picky. This hotel is an easy location right on main street about 2 mins from the shopping of Freeport and just past a Shaw's and interstate ramps. The rooms are clean and the beds pretty comfy. There is a free breakfast in the morning, nothing special, just the regular fruit, juice, waffles, ect. My favorite thing about this place is that it is usually the least expensive option for what I think is an overly expensive area. It is also located across the street from my favorite Maine restaurant, Uncle Buck's BBQ. Great stay everytime!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cape_Show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review about your stay. Thank you for the compliments regarding the value you received, the convenient location, the cleanliness of your room, and the breakfast. We are very grateful for your kind words and hope that you will stay with us again soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The location is very convenient. The price was too good to pass up when we wanted someplace inexpensive to go to in the middle of winter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review about your experience. Thank you for your kind words about the staff, location, and price. We hope you will pass the word along about your pleasant stay. Come stay with us again soon, and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I wasn't expecting much for the room price but the rooms were clean and the staff was nice. The breakfast is pretty average. The location is very convenient to 295 and all the shops Freeport is known for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shankwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your compliments regarding the cleanliness and the staff. We are glad you found the location convenient during your travels. We hope that you will stay with us again if you find yourself in the Freeport area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a motel priced at ~$80 per night, so don't expect a luxury property. That said, however, it is much better than any other motel I've visited. The rooms are clean, nothing is broken, nothing is stained, and there are no funny smells. In addition, the rooms had microwaves, small refrigerators, and coffee makers. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and had all the basics, so I have no complaints. There were new flat screen TVs, as well, so again, it was nicer than most motels. The staff here are lovely and friendly. The reason I stayed here is because it is PET FRIENDLY lodging. There were many responsible pet owners staying here, as well, so it was a perfect place if you have a K-9 friend. It's only a 5 minute drive into downtown Freeport, so it ideally situated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Wow! Your comments are very refreshing for our entire staff to hear. Thank you for your compliments about the room amenities, cleanliness, and the staff. We are so glad to be a pet-friendly hotel and welcome your pet anytime. It is great to have a place to stay where pet owners are responsible, and we are truly grateful for this. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
2.4 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
1.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range: £45 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing