We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Dayville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not expensive, but you get what you payed for. To crash for one night, it's reasonable, but I would thing twice before staying there for many days.

The location is good. Close to downtown and highway. The brewery right next to is it awesome!

A plus is that is pet friendly, so you can bring your dog =)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fordanini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    98
    59
    35
    23
See reviews for
69
113
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just off of route 295, this is certainly a convenient and well-priced place to stay for the traveler. The staff was reasonably friendly at check-in, and the breakfast is the usual that you'd expect from the Choice Hotel franchise. The room was a relatively inexpensive as well. Have said that, the reason for only a "poor" rating relates to cleanliness. Our party rented two rooms. The first had a bad smell to it, and dog-hair literally covering the bedspread/blanket. For those allergic to animal hair, this room had major problems, beyond just that of cleanliness and hygiene. The second room had sheets that were just not clean, with fresh stains on them. I'm not convinced that these had been laundered.

In short, despite the low price, we got less than we paid for here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

RVC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I wasn't sure about an Econo Lodge but this hotel proved that you don't have to pay a lot to get a nice comfortable room. The accommodations were very clean and the entire area was clean. The staff was very friendly and the free breakfast was outstanding. Located just outside the city of Freeport and very convenient to all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RORvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had a poor experience with another Econo Lodge in another state and were really nervous about this one but it was great ! The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Flat screen TV, free wifi, free breakfast and a fridge in the room. Really, really happy with this place. Location was great, people friendly. This is not a new hotel by any stretch but it sure made us happy. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FRENCHENGLISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed there on July 14, 2014. Price was 144.. US plus taxes. The motel is akin to a motel you would find on the highway of many small towns across the US or Canada. It was very basis, bathroom very tiny. Room was clean. Staff friendly. Breakfast facilities not bad.

There was a lot of noise in the outside hallways and it seemed everyone wore work boots running up and down the halls at midnight hollering...screaming. I think a bunch of hillbillies from south Carolina stayed there that night.

My biggest beef beside the noise was that it was grossly overpriced for type of motel and services available. They definitely take advantage of the " tourist" season.

Room Tip: try a different motel for that price, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place is inexpensive, but with the extra amenities of a hotel much more expensive. The room was clean, and beds comfortable. Breakfast was waffle fare with hard boiled eggs, and all that I require for a good breakfast. Loved it, and WILL stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hornpout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review!! We are so happy that you think we have the "Best Econo Lodge in the US!" as this is what we all strive for every day as a team! We appreciate your compliments regarding how comfortable and clean your room was, as well as the breakfast options. Thank you so much for your feedback, and we can't wait to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisaiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We arrived late in the evening to our hotel. My friend had reserved two rooms through Priceline.com. We went into our room and the bathroom floor was filthy. (see photo attached). I told my husband I could not stay there. I went to the front desk and luckily there was another room available. I really did not want to stay there at all but had no choice since my friend prepaid on Priceline. Since it was late, we asked if we could just leave some of our luggage in the dirty room and sleep in the clean room. The gentleman at the desk said that it was not a problem.

Upon leaving I asked for a refund. I was told that it would have to be done through Priceline. I called Priceline and they spoke to the hotel manager, Christina. She said that no refund would be issued because we changed rooms.

Maybe this is a business decision on the hotel's part - but it sure is not a good decision for maintaining good customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajuncouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kquirion, General Manager at Econo Lodge Freeport, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review! I am very sorry that your bathroom floor was not cleaned properly; there is no excuse for it, and I have discussed it with the housekeepers to prevent further issues in the future. The gentleman at the desk had moved you to a different room, so we had the room that you moved from marked vacant. When housekeeping went to the vacant room to properly clean the room that had issues the next morning, there was still a guest in that room. Therefore, we rented you a total of 3 rooms for the price of 2 rooms, and for that reason, no refund was issued. If there had been no other room available for you to move to or the original room was vacant and not still being used by a member of your party, I would have been happy to discount your stay. But since you were able to switch rooms, and still occupied the original room as well, I was unable to discount your stay. I apologize for this matter, and will work with housekeeping so this does not happen again.

Thank you,
Kristina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Property: Econo Lodge Freeport
Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing