We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for an overnight: nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Sanbornville, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
365 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight: nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Overall, the EconoLodge is a pretty generic motel. Rooms are small and the bed was a tiny double (seemed even smaller than the double we have at home, though might just have been our impression). Rooms are all open to the outside, so no level of security beyond the standard door locks -- typical motor-inn. Small, well used towels. No fridge or anything extra in the room. Very basic, but serviceable for a night.

The included breakfast was nice extra: make-a-waffle, cereal, English muffins, muffins, toast, cold hardboiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice. However the seating in the breakfast area was quite tight and crowded. We stayed over a Saturday night and the place was likely totally full, and everyone wanted breakfast! LOL...

Location is good: right on Route 1, but on the side OPPOSITE the main highway. So very quiet rooms, no road noise. Easy driving distance to Freeport shopping and a number of area restaurants.

I am conflicted about my 2 rating. Wish I could do a 2.5... but given the rate ($165 for the night + tax given the high season. I suspect the rate is more affordable at other times.), I could not go with a 3 (avg) rating.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the road are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    98
    59
    35
    23
See reviews for
69
113
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a budget hotel but I have no complaints. The location was good and I had a clean and comfortable stay for one night while passing through Freeport. The staff was very friendly and although the breakfast area was small and crowded, it was fine for a quick bite before hitting the road.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Econo Lodge during our stay in Freeport Maine. The first night we noticed the shower curtain was dirty (actually dirty is an understatement). The sheets on one of the beds had what appeared to be grease stains on them. I reported the situation to the front desk and although the shower curtain was changed the next day, the bedding was not! That was troubling. The room had a smell to it and could have been cleaned better. You could tell the cleaning staff just did a quick job cleaning/ prepping the room for our stay.
The motel is conveniently located near the highway and was quiet. The breakfast offered was okay - it had a very limited selection. Also the eating area is quite small for the number of guests at the hotel.
I really don't know if I would stay here again. The cleanliness of room bothered us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadapeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Not expensive, but you get what you payed for. To crash for one night, it's reasonable, but I would thing twice before staying there for many days.

The location is good. Close to downtown and highway. The brewery right next to is it awesome!

A plus is that is pet friendly, so you can bring your dog =)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fordanini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just off of route 295, this is certainly a convenient and well-priced place to stay for the traveler. The staff was reasonably friendly at check-in, and the breakfast is the usual that you'd expect from the Choice Hotel franchise. The room was a relatively inexpensive as well. Have said that, the reason for only a "poor" rating relates to cleanliness. Our party rented two rooms. The first had a bad smell to it, and dog-hair literally covering the bedspread/blanket. For those allergic to animal hair, this room had major problems, beyond just that of cleanliness and hygiene. The second room had sheets that were just not clean, with fresh stains on them. I'm not convinced that these had been laundered.

In short, despite the low price, we got less than we paid for here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I wasn't sure about an Econo Lodge but this hotel proved that you don't have to pay a lot to get a nice comfortable room. The accommodations were very clean and the entire area was clean. The staff was very friendly and the free breakfast was outstanding. Located just outside the city of Freeport and very convenient to all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RORvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had a poor experience with another Econo Lodge in another state and were really nervous about this one but it was great ! The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Flat screen TV, free wifi, free breakfast and a fridge in the room. Really, really happy with this place. Location was great, people friendly. This is not a new hotel by any stretch but it sure made us happy. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FRENCHENGLISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Property: Econo Lodge Freeport
Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing