We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much for the money.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Freeport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Freeport
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Bancroft
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not much for the money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Eonolodge so that we could attend a wedding. The hotel was very busy during the Labour Day weekend. The bed was comfortable while the room was quiet. The breakfast room was very busy, so much so that after checking twice we decided to eat elsewhere. Our room was marginally cleaned on the second day. The worst part of this was the price. It cost over $300.00 Canadian for the two nights. There are much better places in Freeport for that kind of money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayakKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    95
    58
    35
    23
See reviews for
68
112
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Despite an excellent locaiton, the bathroom exhibited years of dirt and mold on the floor, and had to literlaly place towels around the bowl to avoid human contact.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freeport hotels

vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

Been a long time since last stayed with this motel chain due to fact they really have gone down hill in quality over the past few years. Booked with this one totally because of positive reviews listed with this site.
Far from being the best place we have ever stayed but I also have stayed at 4 star places where you were glad to be leaving the next morning. This location was very near town, clerk was very pleasant and recommended an excellent place to eat just down the road.
One warning.....I had asked for a handicapped room! As we have found in most older motels/hotels......their idea of handicapped is a railing screwed on the wall beside the regular tub. Standard low toilet's with no support to help raise yourself,etc. Won't fault them that bad as newer places we have stayed didn't do any better. We opted out of their handicapped room for regular ground floor after looking at it before signing in.
Breakfast was okay.....not the worst or the best.....did the trick! Noise level was standard as it usually is with older buildings. Not bad enough to not get good nights sleep for sure. Value I would rate as good for what we paid. Would stay at this particular branch again if in area but am still wary about past experiences with this brand.
So if you are on a budget for a lower priced chain.....you can count on this location and we would book again here if back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rup53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

We found this hotel right off Exit 20. Frint desk - Mark, was very friendly and helpful regarding places to eat and things to do. We paid almost half what other hotels in the area wanted to charge us and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Nice little breakfast in the morning too.

  • Liked — Extremely friendly staff
  • Disliked — cant think of anything
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shoppingqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

Great place! Hotel was conveniently located close to shopping, staff were super. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Friendly and the price was unbeatable - $48/night for 3 adults and 1 infant.! I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Liked — Staff, location and price
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

A standard motel room with two queen beds. Very modern and very clean.
Complimentary breakfast consisted of juice, cereal, muffins, bagels and coffee served just off reception.

Convenient and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue_bunny950
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

I would HIGHLY recommend the Econo Lodge of Freeport. I've had numorous stays with different Econo Lodges and this is by far, the best one i've stayed at. Rooms were very clean, comfortable, and thier continental breakfast is great! The Front desk was very helpful. A big thanks to Sarah and Ashley for help with directions and places to go in the area. Very sweet young ladies!

  • Liked — Clean and Comfortable
  • Disliked — No microwaves or fridges
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Blue_bunny950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
1.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#2 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Freeport

Property: Econo Lodge Freeport
Address: 537 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Freeport 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Awarding Winning by Choice Hotels Econo Lodge(R) is conveniently located less than a mile from L.L. Bean's Flagship Store, a world-famous outdoor gear & apparel store, open 24 hours every day year round. Also nearby is the Desert of Maine, a famous natural phenomenon, hundreds of outlet stores, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Wolfe's Neck Woods State Park & the Maine Maritime Museum, featuring gallery exhibits, a historic shipyard & narrated boat cruises. Springtime in Freeport is an exciting time of year! Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park and Old Orchard Beach are about 30 minutes away. There are many outdoor activities for the whole family to enjoy including sailing, biking, bird watching at the Mast Landing Bird Sanctuary and even lighthouse tours! Want to squeeze in a game of golf or two? The Freeport Country Club, Toddy Brook Golf Course, the Falmouth Country Club and more are just a short drive from our hotel. In addition, Portland International Jetport is 18 miles from the hotel. This Freeport, ME hotel features Free Expanded Continental Breakfast and free local calls. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access, a business center in the lobby & access to copy/fax services. All spacious guest rooms include work desks and cable television with Showtime. Non-smoking and Pet-Friendly rooms can be requested. Whether your favorite activity is hiking a mountain on a crisp spring morning or spending the afternoon laying in the sun at Popham Beach State Park Freeport, Maine provides a great room, convenient location and wonderful service at an exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Freeport Hotel Freeport
Freeport Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing