We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely friendly and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and never been disappointed. They are so nice and helpful. It is always clean and fresh. They bake cookies every afternoon (really).

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Honors program. It's free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skm822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    309
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
347
410
30
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn a total of three nights and it is a nice, above average hotel. Reasonably priced. Very clean. Nice fitness room. Located within a short walk of the Freeport attractions. Very friendly staff. Nothing extraordinary but nothing bad either.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Great experience with very friendly staff. Arrived late and a quality meal at the bar was no problem. Staff at front desk, bar and breakfast all had great attitude - thank you. Hotel is clean, in good order, represents good value and well suited to the leisure market. Location is just off the main shopping street of freeport and full of outlet stores and of course LL Bean.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cohasset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Very good location but the hotel is just okay. Rooms are dated and one of ours looked out to a parking lot and was dark and depressing. The comforter covers are polyester. Which would be fine but it's very pricey for a mid-class hotel. Can't comment on the food because we didn't eat there. We stayed on our way back at another hotel in Freeport which was even more expensive but so much better and nicer so it was actually a much better value. Much more of a New England flavor than the Hilton Garden Inn and a dated one at that. Service was spotty especially in the lounge area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calibre57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

My girls and I like to stay places where we can just park the car and walk everywhere. This was the perfect location for that. The rooms weren't as nice as the newer Hilton's. They were nice but a little dated. Could of used more pillows. The service the first night was horrible. We actually left the restaurant because we waited so long to have someone come to the table. They however did make up for it the second day. We ordered room service and the lady was very nice and the food was very good. We also had a lot of fun swimming in the pool and relaxing in the hot tub. We would stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melmarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Thank you for this valuable feedback. It is our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests and I'm sorry we fell short of simply meeting your expectations during your stay. I'm glad you had a better experience on Saturday night. We will certainly look into the circumstances that lead to the long wait you encountered on Friday to understand how we could have been better prepared to service our guests and to prevent something like this from happening in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I had to travel each day up to Augusta for work, but I'm really glad I stayed here. Augusta didn't have any hilton properties, and this one was very clean and comfortable. Great staff. I grabbed a starbucks coffee each morning and make the drive to Augusta. I liked coming back to Freeport each night to do some shoping and visit the great restaurants in town. I'm planning on going back in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efitravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank your for staying with us and taking the time to post this wonderful review of the hotel. Freeport is a fabulous destination and I'm glad you found it worthwhile to headquarter yourself here while you commuted to Augusta for work. We look forward to seeing you again in a couple of weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangor, me
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

There is at least one other hotel we like to stay at in Freeport but it is $100-150 more PER NIGHT than the HGI.

The location is great and the overall experience is what you would expect from a Hilton Garden Inn. Nice facilities, generally clean, friendly staff, nice pool and fitness facility.

For the price point and location it cannot be beat. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skimaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing