We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed for just 1 night on our way back to Boston on a family trip. It was a beautiful hotel. No breakfast, that I know of, but the location was great- just down the road from the huge LL Bean store on the main road in Freeport. We rolled in in the middle of a down pouring thunderstorm and the 2 men at the front desk were extremely helpful in getting our bags out of the car and sending extra towels and a blanket up to the room. I think Freeport is beautiful and this hotel was prefect.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allierskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    306
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
346
407
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times and are always pleased with the way we are greeted, with a smile and cookies for the room. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and roomy and the beds are comfortable. Located walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. We visited Wolfs Neck State Park this time (2 1/2 miles from the hotel)and had a very nice mornng walking the trails.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janmariebsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The location is near all the shops and yet in a quiet setting. The patio and courtyard are beautiful with hostas and roses and lots of seating. Our reservation request was for a quiet room away from the elevator and we were given the room closest to the elevator even thought the hotel appeared to have lots of available rooms. There was also a railroad track right next to our window but we didn't hear any trains. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlfromCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
419 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,666 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I can’t think of anything bad to say about this wonderful Hilton Garden Inn. The staff was efficient, amiable, and eager to assist, the location was within walking distance of all Freeport attractions, and the accommodations were nothing short of excellent. As Hilton Gold members, we were upgraded, and our room was superb. The new King bed was a new furry pillow-top variety with adjustable firmness settings on both sides and a nice fluffy comfortable on top. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. There were real shades to cut out light, and we didn’t hear anything outside to wake us up prematurely. We looked out the back (onto a railroad track that was never crossed) with total privacy. Free WIFI and Ethernet access. Even the modern though super comfortable Herman Miller office chair showed some class.

A decent though reasonably priced buffet breakfast was only $9.99 (or free for Hilton Gold members) -- including omelet made to order, organic yogurt, fresh fruit, and waffles. The AAA rate was more affordable than the B&Bs, and we had our privacy. Didn’t use the small indoor pool or Jacuzzi but they were an extra bonus for families. Bottom line – this was a great value, we were well rested, and the hotel easily earned its five stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherry_Wonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We checked in (unmemorable, staff robotic, nothing else) and walked down the hall to our room on the 1st floor, the smell of chlorine filled the air. The room appeared to be overall clean and very spacious. We spent the afternoon shopping and were looking forward to relaxing in the spa. However, we walked down the hall, opened the door and the smell from the pool area was unbearable. Once back in our room we slept very comfortably (sleep system beds). Side note: our room did not have a view...well it did, of rail road tacks!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1CrazyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel had been recommended to us by friends and co-workers who vacation in Maine so we didn't even consider anyplace else when we planned our trip to Maine. Our stay was perfect! The Front Desk agents who greeted us at check in could not have been nicer and they set the tone for the whole stay. The housekeepers and everyone in the restaurant and bar were just as friendly. Just 2 blocks from all the shops and LLBean. The rooms were clean and inviting and very charming. The patio was a really nice place to relax after shopping. Tables and chairs and even a fire pit circled by comfy chairs which was very inviting as the night was a bit cool. We extended our stay a day as we liked the hotel so much. And have already booked a return visit.

Room Tip: We found the suites to be spacious and quiet and definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had booked a room for three nights well in advance of our arrival and asked that it be on an upper floor facing the front with a view of the parking lot area (I like to be able to see my car).

On arrival we were treated well by the girl at the front desk and given the key to our room which we went to look at. The room itself appeared clean but it wasn't what I would have expected from a Hilton Hotel, sort of drab and 'ordinary' like one we could have stayed in at a lesser hotel or motel for a cheaper rate. The room did face the front but all I could see out the window were the shingles on the roof which is over the front entrance, one employee mentioned that there were two rooms that had less than a stellar view and of course we were put in one of them. I went back to the front desk to complain and was assigned another room which looked out onto a side street with a view of the houses across the road which were fairly close .

We ended up staying that night but cancelled the other two and went to a another hotel for the remainder which had nicer rooms, the view of the front parking lot, which I always specify when booking a room, and a better rate.

Too bad the rooms look dated because the outside appeared to be well kept and the lobby was nice also.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing