We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Of The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
St Albans
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One Of The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

One of the best hotels we stayed in on our 2300 miles trip around the North East USA (stayed in 7 in total). Arrived at 7 PM after a 300 miles drive so decided to eat in (also a three piece band playing in the bar next door). I don't normally like eating in hotels as from experience it is outrageously expensive - however, here the food was good and plentiful and with 2 mains and 4 alcoholic drinks it was only $42 dollars.
Great sized room and bathroom with good toiletries - swam in the pool both mornings and no other people in there - jacuzzi as well. Also washing/drying room available for small charge.
Only slight issue was with lifts - one never worked and the other was really slow - but as only 3 floors in the building decided to walk up and down most of the time.
Good cold breakfast and also hot food including omelettes available.
5 minutes walk to shops - on our first day it was pouring with rain so decided to drive to the outlet mall in Kittery which we thought was about an hour away - it was actually over 70 miles. Ironically we walked around town the next day and most of the shops in Kittery were also in Freeport !!
Very friendly staff (especially Amber and Danica) pointed us in the direction of two very good bars/restaurants - Gritty McDuffs and Jamieson Tavern.
Would we stay here again ? Most definitely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtgazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience about your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Freeport. We appreciate your positive feedback and are ecstatic you rated us one of the best hotels on your trip! We want to thank you for choosing to stay here with us. We are pleased you were able to have both dinner and breakfast at the Great American Grill located in the hotel. We strive to provide our guests with an affordable yet delicious menu to choose from. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable experience with our staff! We do want to apologize for the inconvenience of the elevator and have since fixed the problem! Thank you again and we hope you have the chance to visit us again soon! We will be sure to pass your comments on to everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    306
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
344
407
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in Freeport 1 night on the way up to Bar Harbor, and 2 nights on the way back. Both times we had rooms on the first floor which I don't normally like, but we heard no noise, and still had a view of the pretty leaves changing across the railroad track from us. Didn't hear a train at all, not sure if they run there or not. It was actually nice not to have to deal with elevators for a change.

King room was super clean, a good size, and very comfortable. For our 2-night stay later in the week they upgraded us to a suite (they offered without us asking) which was VERY nice. The suite had a kitchenette area with a sink and cupboards to store our snacks in, dining table, big living room, and a large bathroom with 2 doors to enter from the bedroom or the living room. We felt very spoiled!

The location is perfect - far enough from the shopping madness to relax and unwind, but close enough to leave the car and walk over to LL Bean, outlet stores, and lots of restaurants. In the other direction, just beyond the far side of the parking lot, is a wonderful gourmet grocery store and a cute little park with some trails and ice skating in the winter.

The staff was friendly enough though didn't really go out of their way. Some greeted us, some didn't. We needed some help finding a way to the airport in Portland and the girl at the desk just said "I don't think there are any shuttles" and then walked away. No offer to inquire or the number of a cab company or anything. Thank goodness we had wifi so we just looked it up ourselves. Usually Hilton staff goes out of their way to be helpful so this was disappointing.

Overall it was a lovely stay. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as we like to try local restaurants instead. But we loved the fresh cookies in the evening - a nice pick-me-up after shopping all day! We will definitely stay here again when visiting Freeport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnydazeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Freeport! We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the upgrade to our one bedroom suite provided for your second stay! We are very proud of our central location to downtown and are so happy you benefited from it as well! We would like to apologize for the impersonal attention you received from some of our staff and are disappointed that you did not receive the information you were inquiring about. This is not the service we strive to provide and would like each and every one of our guests to have extraordinary experiences! We have shared your comments with our team to prevent situations, such as yours, from happening in the future. We want to thank you again for your feedback and hope that you can give us another chance during your future Freeport visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed here by accident because the Hilton Garden Inn and Hampton Inn at the Portland, ME waterfront were both sold out on the night we were in town. It was a pleasant surprise. This looks to be a newer HGI property and a perfect location if you are on a shopping trip to Freeport. We were here on Columbus Day Weekend and the area was extremely busy; though we never felt it as the hotel is located on a side street and well off main road. The hotel was quiet and had a well light parking lot with ample spaces provided. Our room was very clean and the lobby and dining areas were spotless. We didn’t go to the outlets but if you walk up the hill a few hundred yards, you are at L.L. Bean and North Face Outlets in the center of Outlet Shopping ground zero. We took the 20 minute drive to the Portland Waterfront for dinner and a ride to Booth Bay Harbor the next morning. This was a great stop. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobHebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
We are pleased you stumbled upon our hotel and want to thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful comments about the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Freeport! Thank you for showing your loyalty to the Hilton brand by choosing to stay at our hotel, we truly appreciate you! We are so happy to hear that you found our central location, to both downtown Freeport and to popular tourist areas helpful! Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our hotel and the amount of parking we offer. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our team! Thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn in Freeport is a very nice newer property, located within two blocks from a large array of outlet stores including the LL Bean outlet and flagship stores. There are several restaurants including a McDonalds and Subway within a short walk from the hotel. We were driving north heading to Bar Harbor. We ended up spending the next morning in Freeport shopping and visiting LL Bean. Even if you are not a shopper there are many interesting things to see inside the LL Bean main stores. The front desk staff at the Hilton Garden was very friendly. We had a King Room on the third/top floor facing the front or parking lot. There is a railroad track behind the hotel very close to the rear facing rooms. We did not hear a train, but it appeared to be an active track. The hotel was quiet; we heard very little noise from outside or from the hall or our neighbors. There are a few parking spaces near the front door with a large lot across the street. Our room was large and clean. Breakfast was good, but self serve items were low or empty. The cooked to order items were very good. We were very happy with the Hilton Garden and really enjoyed the location and the LL Bean stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room, there is a RR track in the back. Top floor is best, but the hotel seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZIPPY87ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

This hotel has a nice appearance and great location. It is easy to get to parking at LL Bean or to the shops in the Village. Breakfast had shut down when we were ready for brunch, so check on serving times for the restaurant. Other restaurants and cafes are in close proximity though, so it's no problem. We took the archery and fly casting classes at LLBean's Fogg Farm. Great fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our tour of New England. The room was very good and clean with lots of space. All the hotel staff were very helpful. We had an evening meal in the bar which was very good. Breakfast we had to wait 1 hour to get a table. It was a Sunday morning and we were not down for breakfast until 9.00am. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices and servied by staff that were very helpful all were happy with the work. Customer service was very good

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the road / car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

The Hilton Garden Inn has been a great addition to the lovely town of Freeport since our last visit.

Easy walking to famous shopping and restaurants. Great breakfast served at the hotel. Terrific employees.

A very pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing