We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

The rooms were clean, bed comfortable, all we could have wanted. The only thing I would change......I would like to order my breakfast instead of a buffet! The help was excellent. Parking was close by. All you could ask for. One thong that did surprise me....every other Hilton Garden Inn we stayed at had cookies in the lobby and coffee all day.. Did not see this. Maybe I missed it!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport2, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you staying here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Freeport! We appreciate your feedback and positive comments! We always have coffee and tea out in the morning 6:30 - 10am and then again 5-9pm daily. With evening coffee service, we also offer cookies which are next to the front desk. I am sorry you missed them. During your next visit, if you aren’t seeing the cookies & coffee, please ask and we will be happy to assist. Thank you for pointing out our excellent staff, we have shared your comments with our team and hope you have the chance to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    316
    55
    17
    5
See reviews for
358
423
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My wife and I were traveling up the east coast through Freeport and stayed here for one night. I'm a Hilton Honors customer and try to stay at Hilton's or Hotels affiliated with Hilton. This place didn't disappoint at all. Great location from downtown friendly service from the front desk to house keeping. The room was very clean, beds very comfortable. My wife used the workout room and was very impressed with everything available. Highly recommend anytime your in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport2, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton brand! We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Freeport! We are happy you enjoyed your time at our hotel and in Freeport! Thank you again for your kind words and your positive feedback! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We've been visiting & shopping in Freeport long enough to remember when the town only had one or two hotel chains represented. Now you have your pick and the Hilton Garden Inn is just a short walk away from LLBean and all of the other retail therapy that Freeport offers. Driving & parking in town can be really difficult, so having a hotel in town (most are a mile or two down the road) is a huge advantage. The rooms are basic but include microwave and mini fridge. Breakfast is about $10 a person (or free if you're Hilton Gold), the pool and exercise room are small.
As it happened, we stayed one night at this hotel and the next night at the Harraseeket Inn. Interestingly, the rates for both rooms were about the same. We thought the Inn was a much better value. It too, is walking distance from the shops, but its history and beauty were pluses for us. A generous breakfast was included as well as 'tea' - fruits, snacks, etc. in the afternoon. I've reviewed the Harraseeket in detail on Tripadvisor.
If you want a modern hotel in Freeport and you are there for shopping, this Hilton is fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback on your recent stay with us in Freeport. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities and found our location convenient for your activities in town. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you venture to the area.

Thank you,

Joshua Cushing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

One of the best hotels we stayed in on our 2300 miles trip around the North East USA (stayed in 7 in total). Arrived at 7 PM after a 300 miles drive so decided to eat in (also a three piece band playing in the bar next door). I don't normally like eating in hotels as from experience it is outrageously expensive - however, here the food was good and plentiful and with 2 mains and 4 alcoholic drinks it was only $42 dollars.
Great sized room and bathroom with good toiletries - swam in the pool both mornings and no other people in there - jacuzzi as well. Also washing/drying room available for small charge.
Only slight issue was with lifts - one never worked and the other was really slow - but as only 3 floors in the building decided to walk up and down most of the time.
Good cold breakfast and also hot food including omelettes available.
5 minutes walk to shops - on our first day it was pouring with rain so decided to drive to the outlet mall in Kittery which we thought was about an hour away - it was actually over 70 miles. Ironically we walked around town the next day and most of the shops in Kittery were also in Freeport !!
Very friendly staff (especially Amber and Danica) pointed us in the direction of two very good bars/restaurants - Gritty McDuffs and Jamieson Tavern.
Would we stay here again ? Most definitely.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtgazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience about your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Freeport. We appreciate your positive feedback and are ecstatic you rated us one of the best hotels on your trip! We want to thank you for choosing to stay here with us. We are pleased you were able to have both dinner and breakfast at the Great American Grill located in the hotel. We strive to provide our guests with an affordable yet delicious menu to choose from. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable experience with our staff! We do want to apologize for the inconvenience of the elevator and have since fixed the problem! Thank you again and we hope you have the chance to visit us again soon! We will be sure to pass your comments on to everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed in Freeport 1 night on the way up to Bar Harbor, and 2 nights on the way back. Both times we had rooms on the first floor which I don't normally like, but we heard no noise, and still had a view of the pretty leaves changing across the railroad track from us. Didn't hear a train at all, not sure if they run there or not. It was actually nice not to have to deal with elevators for a change.

King room was super clean, a good size, and very comfortable. For our 2-night stay later in the week they upgraded us to a suite (they offered without us asking) which was VERY nice. The suite had a kitchenette area with a sink and cupboards to store our snacks in, dining table, big living room, and a large bathroom with 2 doors to enter from the bedroom or the living room. We felt very spoiled!

The location is perfect - far enough from the shopping madness to relax and unwind, but close enough to leave the car and walk over to LL Bean, outlet stores, and lots of restaurants. In the other direction, just beyond the far side of the parking lot, is a wonderful gourmet grocery store and a cute little park with some trails and ice skating in the winter.

The staff was friendly enough though didn't really go out of their way. Some greeted us, some didn't. We needed some help finding a way to the airport in Portland and the girl at the desk just said "I don't think there are any shuttles" and then walked away. No offer to inquire or the number of a cab company or anything. Thank goodness we had wifi so we just looked it up ourselves. Usually Hilton staff goes out of their way to be helpful so this was disappointing.

Overall it was a lovely stay. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as we like to try local restaurants instead. But we loved the fresh cookies in the evening - a nice pick-me-up after shopping all day! We will definitely stay here again when visiting Freeport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnydazeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience here at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Freeport! We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the upgrade to our one bedroom suite provided for your second stay! We are very proud of our central location to downtown and are so happy you benefited from it as well! We would like to apologize for the impersonal attention you received from some of our staff and are disappointed that you did not receive the information you were inquiring about. This is not the service we strive to provide and would like each and every one of our guests to have extraordinary experiences! We have shared your comments with our team to prevent situations, such as yours, from happening in the future. We want to thank you again for your feedback and hope that you can give us another chance during your future Freeport visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed here by accident because the Hilton Garden Inn and Hampton Inn at the Portland, ME waterfront were both sold out on the night we were in town. It was a pleasant surprise. This looks to be a newer HGI property and a perfect location if you are on a shopping trip to Freeport. We were here on Columbus Day Weekend and the area was extremely busy; though we never felt it as the hotel is located on a side street and well off main road. The hotel was quiet and had a well light parking lot with ample spaces provided. Our room was very clean and the lobby and dining areas were spotless. We didn’t go to the outlets but if you walk up the hill a few hundred yards, you are at L.L. Bean and North Face Outlets in the center of Outlet Shopping ground zero. We took the 20 minute drive to the Portland Waterfront for dinner and a ride to Booth Bay Harbor the next morning. This was a great stop. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobHebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
We are pleased you stumbled upon our hotel and want to thank you for taking your time to share your wonderful comments about the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Freeport! Thank you for showing your loyalty to the Hilton brand by choosing to stay at our hotel, we truly appreciate you! We are so happy to hear that you found our central location, to both downtown Freeport and to popular tourist areas helpful! Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our hotel and the amount of parking we offer. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our team! Thank you again and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn in Freeport is a very nice newer property, located within two blocks from a large array of outlet stores including the LL Bean outlet and flagship stores. There are several restaurants including a McDonalds and Subway within a short walk from the hotel. We were driving north heading to Bar Harbor. We ended up spending the next morning in Freeport shopping and visiting LL Bean. Even if you are not a shopper there are many interesting things to see inside the LL Bean main stores. The front desk staff at the Hilton Garden was very friendly. We had a King Room on the third/top floor facing the front or parking lot. There is a railroad track behind the hotel very close to the rear facing rooms. We did not hear a train, but it appeared to be an active track. The hotel was quiet; we heard very little noise from outside or from the hall or our neighbors. There are a few parking spaces near the front door with a large lot across the street. Our room was large and clean. Breakfast was good, but self serve items were low or empty. The cooked to order items were very good. We were very happy with the Hilton Garden and really enjoyed the location and the LL Bean stores.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room, there is a RR track in the back. Top floor is best, but the hotel seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZIPPY87ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
935 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
425 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing