We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but a Little Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Very nice Garden Inn with very friendly service and clean rooms. The beds were also particularly comfortable. Very good location for walking around Freeport - only about 2 blocks away from Main Street and the LL Bean flagship store. Just be aware that a railroad line runs right behind the hotel, so every now and then you'll hear a train go right by!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We appreciate your kind comments about our accommodations and our service! I am so sorry that the train was a bother to you during your recent visit with us. The positive is that Freeport has passed a quiet zone, thus the whistle will be stopping on the train in about a month! Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Freeport!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel four times over a two month period while house hunting, closing on a house, and waiting to move in. It is really comfortable and the staff are wonderful. Breakfasts are good, although some mornings you should walk up to Frosty's Donuts to try the maple cake donuts, which are out of this world. The hotel is in convenient walking distance to all of Freeport's downtown stores, including LL Bean. Ask for rooms on the side away from the railroad tracks if you are a light sleeper.

Prices can be a bit high, but that's a function of supply and demand in the area. If you need something a bit less expensive, the HGIs in Portland are usually a bit less.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixthgentexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown while you were in the process of moving! We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our staff and our accommodations. Thank you again for taking the time to share, we hope to see you again soon!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great experience with this property, a quiet location in downtown Freeport, customer service outstanding and the breakfast was home cooked. Perfect location, did not need my car the whole time i visited. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you so much for staying here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay! We would like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our breakfast buffet! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Freeport!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Have stayed here multiple times. Great location, very clean, everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. Pool is small but clean. It's kind of pricey, but still a good value. Will come back again, I'm sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay here with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We appreciate your loyalty and thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The staff was very helpful and our rooms were cleaned well and in a timely manner each day. The hotel is located within walking distance of the outlet stores and a few restaurants and cafes. Complementary breakfast is not included so plan ahead for that. Overall, our stay there was great and we had no issues.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoMama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had an enjoyable three night stay. The hotel is very convenient to LL Bean stores, factory outlets and movies. You can easily walk to all. We had a stay with breakfast package. The breakfast was very good. We got freshly made omelets and pancakes. The buffet also included fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, bread, coffee, tea, and bagels. During the day ice water was available in the lobby and coffee and tea in the evening. The waitstaff were friendly and gave excellent service. The hotel staff were excellent as well. The hotel has an indoor pool which we did use.

Room Tip: We had a room on third floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We greatly appreciate the positive feedback about our breakfast buffet and the compliment about our service! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Quick check-in and check-out, friendly, helpful counter staff. Modern rooms, clean. We did not take advantage of the pool because we had other things going on-next time! Train runs behind the hotel-yes you can hear it but not a distraction or inconvenience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Trudi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Services Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown! We appreciate your positive comments about our staff and our accommodations! I am so glad to hear the train was not a distraction or an inconvenience during your stay! Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Freeport!

Kaitlin Roderigue
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
974 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
327 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
458 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £96 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing