We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Great Food!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and Great Food!!!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We did our mid day and evening meal while out and about during most of our stay in Freeport but decided to dine in our last night there and WOW the food was spectacular and the service was second-to-none. Wind and dessert in the garden was very enjoyable.
The buffet breakfast was well priced at 9.95 and the wait staff was most pleasant.
I loved the hotel and will definitely stay here again when next in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us and were able to enjoy our delicious food we have! Thank you for choosing us to spend your time with and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit the Freeport area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    312
    53
    16
    5
See reviews for
354
413
30
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stay at the Hilton Garden Inn downtown Freeport ME once or twice a year. We go back to this hotel because it is clean, efficient, pleasant with good amenities and location. The staff is very nice and accommodating; no problems. Good breakfast - cheap if you book when you book your room! No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank anniem354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to fill out a fantastic response on TripAdvisor! We were happy to have you as our guest and look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, NC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Excellence all the way around. From the moment we checked in every person, from the hostess/desk clerk to the maintenance man, to the maid, to the wait staff and to the breakfast chef were kind, courteous, helpful and friendly. The King bedroom was spacious as was the huge bathroom. The bed was adjustable and extremely comfortable. Though we could have eaten at less expensive places for breakfast we ordered freshly prepared omelets every morning and were all delicious. The chef was happy to customize our breakfast requests. The complementary coffees were delicious and the complimentary lemon water in the lobby was a nice addition to help us refresh ourselves after long walks around Freeport and surrounding areas. The fitness room was nicely equipped and indoor pool was refreshing (yes I did swim in Maine in June). Although I had seen reviews about the train running beside the hotel we never once heard nor seen a train run by. We only stayed there three nights but I could have easily stayed the entire week of our vacation.

Room Tip: For an easy exit to the parking lot, which is across the street, ask for a room near the exit doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamestownRGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us a remarkable review on TripAdvisor! It is our ambition to make our guest feel like they are at home, away from home. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a one night stay at the beginning of June .From the outside the hotel looked welcoming and had a good car park over the road.The lobby was very pleasant , with a fire and homely touches . There were cookies and lemon water for the guests to try . Complementary tea and coffee were available too. The check in staff were very polite and efficient and nothing was to much trouble .
Our room was on the 2nd floor and was clean and spacious and we had plenty of towels and spare pillows .The a/c was perfect and not too loud .The walls were thick and we did not hear any other guests .the beds were very comfortable and spacious . We could not fault the room at all .
We then went to the lobby to ask a bout the town and when the shops closed .The lady on the desk was most helpful. the main shopping street was only 400 meters from the hotel.
We were very impressed with the shops and the prices . Best of all the town was very quiet and stress free.
We chose to eat in the hotel for evening meal. It was good and reasonably priced .As a result we chose to have breakfast here too.Another good choice as they cooked omlettes and french toast to order.It turned out this was the best value breakfast of our vacation.
Overall a fantastic place to stay. That made you feel most welcome.
We will be returning again , but for a longer stay next time .

Room Tip: All rooms looked good to us . But if you are put off by trains stay at the front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldExplorer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are thrilled to know that from the moment you set eyes on our hotel to when you departed; you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
293 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am a very picky traveler and I have to say that I have no complaints about this place. Well maybe one but it is minor. I wanted to be able to walk to everything in Freeport and decided to give the Hilton Garden Inn a try. I was not disappointed at all. The hotel is within walking distance to everything. A supermarket, a CVS, all the shops, LL bean and the restaurants. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome. They even gave me a free aromatherapy kit to help me sleep. It included some locally made lavender products from one of the shops in town and ear plugs and a sleep mask. The first night that we arrived was a Saturday and the hotel was very busy and full of noisy kids. At times they were running up and down the halls and were being loud but by 10pm all was quiet. I found out the next morning from the front desk that "kids will be kids but we patrol the halls at night to make sure our guests sleep". I was so impressed by this because I have been in many hotels where they never provide this kind of service for their guests. The decor in the lobby and the bar area is very inviting and homey. There is a fire pit outside with chairs and the landscaping is beautiful. We had a king suite with a refrigerator and a microwave. The room was very nice and clean. Our room faced the railroad tracks and honestly the train is not a problem. It only comes by a few times a day and a few at night but never too late and they do not blow the whistle. It sounds like a car or a motorcycle outside passing by. It was not a disturbance at all. We did not eat in the restaurant but I can tell you that they put out cookies every night for the guests which is really a nice touch. My only complaint is the elevator is a little jerky and that makes me a little nauseous. Otherwise I really liked this hotel and I would recommend it highly and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napagirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review!! We truly enjoy taking care of all our guest and creating a home away from home for all who stay with us. We really look forward to your return to Freeport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

You won't regret picking this hotel for your stay in Downtown Freeport. From the moment we walked in the lobby, we were welcomed and made to feel at home. The property is extremely clean, room had plenty of space, and the beds were very comfortable. An extra bonus was the breakfast with made to order omlets and fresh cut fruit...perfect! The location has plenty of shops and restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are very happy to know that you felt at home the moment you walked through our doors and that your enjoyed our breakfast! Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duxbury
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is one of the nicest Hilton Garden Inn at which I've stayed. Extremely convenient location to downtown Freeport. Excellent rooms and terrific service...outstanding staff and amenities. Highly recommended for a business stay or vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Your excellent response regarding our hotel and staff is very well received! We want our guest to feel at home and we are glad to know you enjoyed our atmosphere. We look forwad to being able to serve you next time you come through the Freeport area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
924 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#7 of 11 in Freeport
411 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casco Bay Inn
Casco Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Freeport
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing