We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION, GREAT SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Hilton Garden for a wedding, It was well located for shopping and the wedding!
Front desk staff were cheerful and very helpful.
Room was a good size, bathroom small.
Quiet. Good sleep... comfortable mattress.
Extremely friendly staff in dining room at breakfast.
Very good, custom made breakfast for $10.99. Impressive!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Darlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

All of us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Freeport and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay! We look forward to being able to serve you the next time you come to Freeport, Maine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here our first night in Maine while waiting for our cottage to open up. This is a very clean, up to date hotel with excellent front desk staff. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. The wireless connection was quick and easy. There is a very nice patio area with a gas fire pit. The lobby is very cozy with lots of seating. A nice perk was the free Whoopie Pies! The location could not have been better, close to LL Bean and all shopping and dining in Freeport. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank grhagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in while waiting for your cottage to open up! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time here and got to experience the tasty Wicked Whoopies we had out for our guest! We hope to see you again next time you come to the Freeport area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here to shop in Freeport. Best location possible - it was easy to walk back to our car to put shopping bags in our trunk!
Definitely paying for the location.
However, it is also a beautiful, clean, friendly place

They also had a free welcome gift, with local Maine-made goods from a shop in Freeport. We visited the shop and it was a really cool place that we might not have found on our own.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator - we had to walk so far to get to the elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in while doing some shopping here in Freeport! I am delighted you enjoyed your time here and am glad to know you enjoyed some local amenities we have from the Wishfull Moon! Thank you again & we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I usually take a trip to Freeport once a year, and we always stay at this hotel. It's perfectly located, clean, has a nice pool, and is reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's just an easy place to stay and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: My daughter goes swimming multiple times a day so we always ask for a first floor room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We are delighted to know that you keep coming back year after year! This is the type of relationship we like to build with our guest as it gives us a chance to get to know them! Thank you for your nice review and we look forward to having you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great hotel, reasonable prices, clean, and awesome breakfast. Location is a very short walking distance to local downtown Freeport. There are lots of outlets and stores very close by including the LLbean Flagship store. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time here and want to thank you for your response! The nex time you come to Freeport, we hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, it was late in the day. The front desk employees were a lot of fun and informed us that we were the 'guests of the day', they upgraded us to a king suite from a regular king room, reduced our rate to the lowest published rate of the day, and provided us with a goodie bag. It was really fun.

I had read reviews about the railroad directly behind the hotel, so was leery of staying there, but it appeared to be the most convenient hotel in Freeport. I'm happy to report that although the train came through, it didn't interrupt our day, didn't make much noise, and was completely uneventful.

The hotel was clean and comfortable and provided all of the amenities we needed. We did not use the pool or the bar, but we did have the complimentary FULL breakfast. They had everything you could imagine for breakfast, from granola & yogurt, fruit & fruit salads, and Danish, buns and all kinds of goodies. On top of that, they had a choice of a number of full breakfast entrees, from waffles to French toast to eggs, along with bacon, sausage, corned beef hash and the like.

This hotel is definitely within walking distance of LL Bean (2 blocks), and all of the restaurants in downtown Freeport. Go to the Broad Arrow Tavern on the main street - it's worth the 4-5 (short) block walk. There is a CVS nearby for the necessities that you forgot.

In addition, we were a short drive from Wolfes Neck State Park, which had excellent vistas & trails and was near the LL Bean Outdoor Center (where they teach you how to use your kayak and paddleboard!).

All, in all, an excellent choice of a clean, comfortable, well-appointed downtown hotel.

Room Tip: if you could be bothered by the train noise, definitely ask for a room at the front of the hotel - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for a very nice survey on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your comments about our staff and I am happy to know that not only were you able to enjoy what we have to offer but that you had fun! Thank you again and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is in one of the best locations in town for accessing all the shopping in Freeport on foot. Our family room was clean , spacious and well appointed. We had free wifi and were able to check in early and use all the hotel facilities. I would recommend this hotel to anybody considering visiting Freeport with young children. There was a firepit with seating outside during teh evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeanW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a fabulous review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to see you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again next time you come to the Freeport area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
332 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
471 reviews
16.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £82 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing