We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great location except for the train tracks. Price has gone up 20% a year for the last three years. Getting up towards 400 a night with NO BREAKFAST. It is a nice place and only quality competition is the Hampton Inn another Hilton Hotel. Nice place just getting a little too pricey for a convenient shopping stopover.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
4  Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a great review on TripAdvisor. I just wanted to take a moment to let you know that our rates our controlled by a system that monitors supply and demand daily. July and August are our two busiest months and the system is utilizing the rates to match the increasing demand that we have in Freeport. I am happy to also let you that we do offer a bed and breakfast package that includes our full hot breakfast buffet within the room rate. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We love this place for staying overnight in Freeport, as it is so convenient and good at all the basic things. We were in Room 215, a suite at the back, overlooking the now working railway line (only about four Amtraks a day). The room is very large, with fridge, coffee machine (no kettle), large lounge area with sofa and dining table, comfy bed, large bathroom. The WiFi is free and fast. We didn't eat an evening meal here, but did have breakfast, which is very good, and excellent value at $10.95. We also used the Gym, which is small but well equipped.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor! We were happy to have you here as our guest and are delighted to know that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

exceillent location. could walk to LLBean and other shops. Teens liked freedom to walk and shop without mom and dad. Was disappointed that hotel did not offer complimentary breakfast for price of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank 743dianeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

We are happy to know you & your family enjoyed your time with us! I am also happy to let you know that we do offer Bed & Breakfast reservation packages which includes the full hot breakfast buffet. Thank you for your great review and we hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A great location - turn right out the door, walk to the corner and look up the street into the LL Bean flagship store. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was excellent (reasonable extra charge). The public rooms were light-filled and attractive and the adjoining patio was inviting. The proximity to Freeport’s main street with restaurants and shopping made this an excellent stop for a family of six. We would definitely choose this hotel on a return visit to Freeport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review and comments on TripAdvisor! We were happy to have you here as our guest and look forward to having you come back the next time you are in the Freeport area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice location within Freeport, walking distance to town. However, rooms and hallways are outdated and could use a freshening. Beds were average in my opinion. Very poor cell phone service in the hotel. Good, HGI breakfast with very friendly service.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank zmoba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We take all our guest comments seriously to help improve our hotel in all areas to better serve our guest. Thank you again for taking time to post a review and we look forward to having you back next time you come through the Freeport area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Were stayed at the hotel for a week. We loved staying there and touring around. The only thing we did not like was there was no free breakfast. We did get to try out some different breakfast sports in town and around the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParrottHead25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

I am happy to see you enjoyed your time with us while shopping in the Freeport area! If you come back, we do have a Bed & Breakfast package that includes breakfast with the room! Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Half of the rooms are facing a noisy railway within 20 feet distance. If you have problems with the noise, be aware! The A/C unit could not be turned off and randomly turned on/off by itself. At one point, the cold in the room was so great we had to get extra blankets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Constantin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIFreeport1, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

I am sorry to see you were not comfortable in your room while you were here! Our A/C units are run by a sensor but we always have the option of putting it to manual mode to better accomodate our guest. We also carry sleep deep kits for any light sleepers that think they will be affected by the train the comes through a few times a day. I am pleased to make you aware of what we offer in case you stay with us again the next time you visit the Freeport area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
997 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
334 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
475 reviews
16 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £80 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing