We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We always seek out Hiltons when available and this one was up to par. Excellent in all categories.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler4175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    306
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
346
407
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Great location. For the money (we paid approximately $250/night, for one room with two queen beds), I'd have to say it was average/very good. If you need/want to stay in the heart of Freeport, within' a 5 minute walk of LL Bean, this is the place. The public space/reception area is nice, but I didn't think there was anything special about the room.....was your standard room, with two queen beds. There isn't any type of attendant to assist with luggage at check-in, and only about 10 parking spots directly in front of the hotel, with the remaining spots located across the street (the traffic is light, though). I guess the microwave in the room would be convenient for some, but I was disappointed to learn at check-in that the rate did not include any type of complimentary cereal/breakfast...... On the plus side, there was free internet, but was very, very slow.
Overall, I'd recommend to a friend, for convenience, but the rate was a little high (although our stay was at the height of their summer busy season).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OaktonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Our vacation turned sour and this hotel helped us to redeem it after a horrible problem at another hotel. The staff here have bent over backwards to help us and take care of us.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm9Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stopped in Freeport as we were driving my son to sleep away camp. The Hilton Garden Inn is a smaller kind of Hilton. It is neat, clean, friendly and comfortable. I would definitely recommend it. The woman who checked us in was very friendly and efficient. She recommended a restaurant for a lobster dinner. The room was a reasonable size with two queen beds, a good sized desk and TV. The bathroom was fine. (We were close to the laundry room and ice machine, but I didn't notice any undue noise.) After our seafood dinner, we walked around Freeport and did a little shopping, catching some good bargains at the Patagonia outlet. The Hilton Garden Inn is within walking distance to all the outlets and restaurants in downtown Freeport. We had Ben and Jerry's for dessert and then returned to the Hilton to use the indoor pool which was quite pleasant, though not large. The next morning, we ate breakfast at the buffet. This was included in the price of our room. There were eggs, omelets, waffles, muffins, yogurts and fresh fruit. It was a fine spread and tasted good. Check-out was effortless. We returned our keys and were on our way. The Hilton Garden Inn was a delightful and well-run hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

This hotel is very convenient to the heart of Freeport and LL Bean. It is an easy walk up the hill to Main Street and LL Bean and the LL Bean Outlet store. The room was comfortable and about as expected. There were cookies in the lobby when we arrived. But the hotel had some quirks for us at least. It was busy which should not be surprising and for some reason the cell phone service in our room was almost nonexistent which was a problem as we were trying to deal with a family problem that required many calls. This may have been Freeport wide however. One big issue was that the bed while comfortable had a wool mattress cover and as my wife is very allergic to wool, she had to sleep on top of the duvet. As the hotel had a power failure at 9 pm, we could hardly complain about our issue so we just made due. The business center was good and free even to send the long distance faxes we did. On that however the fax machine printed out a confirmation page that included about twenty of the most recently sent faxes and phone numbers which we found unusual and a little disturbing for privacy issues. The internet service was on the slow side compared to most places we've been recently. Parking is across the street from the hotel in a large well lighted lot.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichS040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

"Hidden" gem because this hotel is located on a side street tucked away from Freeport's Main Street, but this place truly is a gem and well worth your seeking it out. As others have mentioned, this inn looks and feels brand new: both the inside and outside are attractive, well kept and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. We-grandparents and grandson-visited for two nights and we were truly delighted with our stay. Our room had two double beds (comfortable), a comfy chair and hassock, a desk chair and desk, good-sized TV, dresser, nightstand, large closet with plenty of wooden hangers, microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and a good-sized bathroom.

There is also an indoor pool, a warm and inviting lobby with lots of seating, complimentary coffee, tea and cocoa served in the morning and cookies in the late afternoon. The breakfast buffet's offerings are extensive. In addition to the "usual" things (yogurt, cold cereals, fruits, muffins, breads, assorted beverages, Danish, etc.), one may also request items (eggs, pancakes) cooked to order. And, several hot items (bacon, sausage, oatmeal, hash browns, Belgian waffles, etc.) are available. Dee-lish! Although the servers were busy, they were helpful, pleasant and attentive.

The location is handy. Parking is free. Honestly, I cannot say enough good things about this place. I hope to have the opportunity to return in the not-too-distant future (2.5 hour drive from home.)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lopo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Stayed over for a night while on route to a trip to Vegas. We had planned to do some shopping in Freeport outlet stores and had a hard time in finding a place until I found on the internet. The is a true gem hidden in Freeport. Staff and amenities were excellent. Exercise room, pool & jacuzzi were clean. There was a great sense of friendliness in this Inn. It"s a two minute walk to everything in Freeport. We had a wonderful brunch at the Grill in the morning. This was my first experience with Hilton Garden Inn and it will not be my last. As a matter of fact, we stayed the one at the Portland Airport to take an early flight to Vegas the next day and on our way back we stayed at the new one in Bangor, Maine. Great great service! Truely impressed!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oysterboy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Address: 5 Park St, Freeport, ME 04032-1533
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Freeport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Freeport
#2 Family Hotel in Freeport
#2 Green Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park once, walk everywhere! Discover the Hilton Garden Inn nestled in the heart of Freeport village just two blocks down the hill from L.L.Bean®. Shop ‘til you drop at over 150 up-scale outlets and restaurants, most within walking distance. Unwind with a dip in the pool or hot tub. Enjoy a cocktail in our Pavilion Lounge then sit down to a scrumptious meal prepared by one of our talented chefs in the Great American Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Hotel Freeport
Hilton Freeport
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing