We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with wonderful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Groveton, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay with wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We spontaneously decided to go to Freeport for a shopping trip. We had never been there before and had no idea where to stay. We stumbled upon the James Place Inn on Google. They were very highly rated and has jacuzzi tubs to boot! We decided to book a room that same night. We didn't get in until very late and Tori and Robin were very accommodating! The next morning we woke up to a fabulous breakfast, and even better hosts. We got some great advice on where to shop, eat, do, etc. Our room was homey and clean, and the jacuzzi tub was awesome!!! Needless to say we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregAnnAuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
409
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were looking for a nice, romantic B&B in southern Maine to spend our anniversary weekend and James Place Inn just exceeded our expectations. The owners are great and they really take good care of you. The room (Wysteria) was spacious, cozy and beautiful. The breakfast was delicious. It was homemade, fresh and there were lots of choices every morning. The place is in walking distance to the famous LL Bean flagship store and other major outlets and restaurants. We want to specially thank Robin & Tori for their outstanding hospitality. We had an amazing experience and will definitely stay at James Place Inn, next time we are in Freeport, Maine.

- Sandipan & Jayita (from Connecticut, USA)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandipan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My mother and sister were looking for the best Bed and Breakfast in Maine, and we found it here! We liked the reviews and booked a week in the Blue Room. It was much more spacious than I thought! Robin and Tori were so friendly and accommodating, giving us all the help and comfort we needed. Great location, food was AMAZING, the rooms cute and the nicest people you’ll ever meet running the James Place Inn. If you are planning a stay in Freeport, look no further.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WagnerLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainedream, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words. You all were fun to have here and we enjoyed getting a chance to talk with you. We get the most delightful guests here at James Place Inn, making it easy to be "the nicest people you'll ever meet." Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Total relaxation for us! We normally have trouble sleeping when we are away from home. I travel for work about six weeks a year and we go away on vacation for another 4 weeks. We usually can’t wait to get home to our comfortable bed. The room had everything we needed and Robin and Tori were just like family. The location is great for in town as everything is a step away. My wife is handicap and she had no problem walking to shops and restaurants in town.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randomando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The James Place Inn is truly the best Bed and Breakfast I have ever stayed in. The rooms were large, clean, comfortably decorated, and set the mood for a very romantic getaway. All the rooms have individual looks, that added to an individualized experience. A few of the rooms had two-person jacuzzi hot tubs in the room that added for a special connection with a loved one. Each room has a TV with DVD player and a radio sound system to help set the mood. The main office has a DVD library for guest to choose from as well as snacks to take back to the room. Water bottles and fresh towels are replaced daily. The Inn Keepers Tori and Robin are fabulous host, are a wealth of knowledge for local activities, make recommendations according to guest interest, and AMAZING cooks!!! Staying at the James Place Inn is worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for a Jacuzzi Hot Tub room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coasty410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed at the James Place Inn for our anniversary. Tori & Robin were wonderful hosts. We arrived later than planned, Tori came out to greet us. Inside she has some delicious homemade cookies waiting for us. She checked us in, showed us around and we were settled in no time! The pictures on the website give a great description of what the Inn/rooms look like but to actually see them, exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Wisteria room, which is right off the kitchen. You might think that location was not the best for sound but we didn't hear a peep in the kitchen either of the mornings we were there! Back to the room, it's bed is so comfy, perfect place to nap & relax! There is a HUGE jetted tub in this room & that too was very relaxing. Breakfast was served each morning & it was delicious. Much much better than anticipated. Everything was homemade & very fresh. There was more than enough to eat, so much so that we skipped lunch both days! The Inn is located on a street right off of Main street. Within walking distance to just about everything. Their location is very convenient. We would not hesitate to revisit this Inn and of course would definiately recommend this to anyone looking to getaway, it's romantic, relaxing and a great way to see what Freeport has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psmom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The James Place Inn strikes a perfect balance for a B&B. Beautiful old home, nicely updated (private bath for every room, several with large whirlpool tubs even), perfectly clean & neat, yet not too far gone in the "full of fussy antiques" direction. The price is a good value for the location, level of accommodation, and great service.

The owners, Robin and Tori, are delightfully pleasant, down-to-earth folks, and Robin cooks a killer breakfast. They are also quite knowledgeable about the local area and can offer great advice on restaurants, sights to see, etc...

Definitely intend to return someday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, just look on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dphuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
947 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.8 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing