We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warren, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Tori and Robin made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Taupe room, it was decorated beautifully and had a small kitchen. We wanted information regarding a sailboat ride and Tori had a great recommendation, it was extremely warm that day and the sailboat ride was a perfect way to spend the afternoon. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, the blueberry scones were wonderful! The Inn is located on a side street at the beginning of the downtown shopping it is an excellent location, quiet on the back street but close enough to walk and enjoy the shopping. Our only regret is that we were only staying one night!

Room Tip: Taupe room was an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hans198407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
409
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I used a wedding in Bar Harbor as an excuse to extend our trip up north for one night in Freeport just so we could stay at the James Place Inn again. This was the first time we were there without snow as it's our usual destination for our annual snowshoeing trip. We were greeted with a hug and a handshake by Robin who welcomed us "home" - we were just as delighted to be there and see Robin and Tori as they're by far the best hosts we've ever experienced.

This stay was just for one night and I picked a new room to try - the Yellow Room, which is on the second floor accessible from the front door and up a flight of stairs. It was a good size with a very warm and inviting feel. There are three windows and skylights so the room was bright and cozy. There is a jacuzzi in the room, but we didn't use it since we were limited on time and had an agenda of shopping and dinner. It was quiet up there, which was nice as my husband and I needed some rest and relaxation.

As mentioned before, it is within walking distance of essentially everything in Freeport. Even though the weather was rainy and cool, it is such a quick walk downtown that we threw on our raincoats and headed out. Breakfast in the morning was once again the best I've had - yogurt, granola, fruit, kale frittata, blueberry pancakes, ham, and coffee. Everything was just wonderful! We were sad to check out so soon but we had to make our way up north for the wedding - Robin provided us with places along the way to stop and gave us more information so we could make the decision as to whether to take the scenic route (Rt.1) or the turnpike.

Nothing compares to the James Place Inn as far as accommodations and hospitality - we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAllan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

After reading the reviews here we booked 3 nights at the james Place Inn. My wife and I love B and B's and without doubt this was the best B and B we ever stayed at. Robin and Tori and their daughter Elise made us feel right at home. Location was perfect!! Just a 2 minute walk put us right on main st with great shopping!! From Freeport we went to Portland (20 min) for a great sailboat ride booked by Tori for us! Then the next day ride up rt 1 for antique's and great lobster!! All of the advice they gave us was spot on and great!! Room was beautiful, clean and the breakfast's were amazing!!! You will not find a better place to stay than James Place Inn!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seatrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveton, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We spontaneously decided to go to Freeport for a shopping trip. We had never been there before and had no idea where to stay. We stumbled upon the James Place Inn on Google. They were very highly rated and has jacuzzi tubs to boot! We decided to book a room that same night. We didn't get in until very late and Tori and Robin were very accommodating! The next morning we woke up to a fabulous breakfast, and even better hosts. We got some great advice on where to shop, eat, do, etc. Our room was homey and clean, and the jacuzzi tub was awesome!!! Needless to say we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregAnnAuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were looking for a nice, romantic B&B in southern Maine to spend our anniversary weekend and James Place Inn just exceeded our expectations. The owners are great and they really take good care of you. The room (Wysteria) was spacious, cozy and beautiful. The breakfast was delicious. It was homemade, fresh and there were lots of choices every morning. The place is in walking distance to the famous LL Bean flagship store and other major outlets and restaurants. We want to specially thank Robin & Tori for their outstanding hospitality. We had an amazing experience and will definitely stay at James Place Inn, next time we are in Freeport, Maine.

- Sandipan & Jayita (from Connecticut, USA)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandipan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My mother and sister were looking for the best Bed and Breakfast in Maine, and we found it here! We liked the reviews and booked a week in the Blue Room. It was much more spacious than I thought! Robin and Tori were so friendly and accommodating, giving us all the help and comfort we needed. Great location, food was AMAZING, the rooms cute and the nicest people you’ll ever meet running the James Place Inn. If you are planning a stay in Freeport, look no further.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WagnerLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainedream, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words. You all were fun to have here and we enjoyed getting a chance to talk with you. We get the most delightful guests here at James Place Inn, making it easy to be "the nicest people you'll ever meet." Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Total relaxation for us! We normally have trouble sleeping when we are away from home. I travel for work about six weeks a year and we go away on vacation for another 4 weeks. We usually can’t wait to get home to our comfortable bed. The room had everything we needed and Robin and Tori were just like family. The location is great for in town as everything is a step away. My wife is handicap and she had no problem walking to shops and restaurants in town.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randomando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
947 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.8 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing