We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at James Place Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We go to Maine every summer to visit our son in camp and usually stay in a chain hotel in Freeport or Brunswick. This year decided to try something different and was happy to find the James Place Inn. The room was excellent, very comfortable and clean, but not "stogy" or "dated" liked some New England B&Bs. The room had a flat screen TV, which I appreciated. The Inn is a quick 2 or 3 blocks to town but is on a quiet, shady street so felt like a break from the hustle and bustle of LL Bean and the outlets. Tori and Robin were very friendly and helpful, and were very accomodating and flexible to people's schedules. Breakfast was excellent and served out on the deck. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

Tori and Robin made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Taupe room, it was decorated beautifully and had a small kitchen. We wanted information regarding a sailboat ride and Tori had a great recommendation, it was extremely warm that day and the sailboat ride was a perfect way to spend the afternoon. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, the blueberry scones were wonderful! The Inn is located on a side street at the beginning of the downtown shopping it is an excellent location, quiet on the back street but close enough to walk and enjoy the shopping. Our only regret is that we were only staying one night!

Room Tip: Taupe room was an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hans198407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I used a wedding in Bar Harbor as an excuse to extend our trip up north for one night in Freeport just so we could stay at the James Place Inn again. This was the first time we were there without snow as it's our usual destination for our annual snowshoeing trip. We were greeted with a hug and a handshake by Robin who welcomed us "home" - we were just as delighted to be there and see Robin and Tori as they're by far the best hosts we've ever experienced.

This stay was just for one night and I picked a new room to try - the Yellow Room, which is on the second floor accessible from the front door and up a flight of stairs. It was a good size with a very warm and inviting feel. There are three windows and skylights so the room was bright and cozy. There is a jacuzzi in the room, but we didn't use it since we were limited on time and had an agenda of shopping and dinner. It was quiet up there, which was nice as my husband and I needed some rest and relaxation.

As mentioned before, it is within walking distance of essentially everything in Freeport. Even though the weather was rainy and cool, it is such a quick walk downtown that we threw on our raincoats and headed out. Breakfast in the morning was once again the best I've had - yogurt, granola, fruit, kale frittata, blueberry pancakes, ham, and coffee. Everything was just wonderful! We were sad to check out so soon but we had to make our way up north for the wedding - Robin provided us with places along the way to stop and gave us more information so we could make the decision as to whether to take the scenic route (Rt.1) or the turnpike.

Nothing compares to the James Place Inn as far as accommodations and hospitality - we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAllan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

After reading the reviews here we booked 3 nights at the james Place Inn. My wife and I love B and B's and without doubt this was the best B and B we ever stayed at. Robin and Tori and their daughter Elise made us feel right at home. Location was perfect!! Just a 2 minute walk put us right on main st with great shopping!! From Freeport we went to Portland (20 min) for a great sailboat ride booked by Tori for us! Then the next day ride up rt 1 for antique's and great lobster!! All of the advice they gave us was spot on and great!! Room was beautiful, clean and the breakfast's were amazing!!! You will not find a better place to stay than James Place Inn!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seatrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We spontaneously decided to go to Freeport for a shopping trip. We had never been there before and had no idea where to stay. We stumbled upon the James Place Inn on Google. They were very highly rated and has jacuzzi tubs to boot! We decided to book a room that same night. We didn't get in until very late and Tori and Robin were very accommodating! The next morning we woke up to a fabulous breakfast, and even better hosts. We got some great advice on where to shop, eat, do, etc. Our room was homey and clean, and the jacuzzi tub was awesome!!! Needless to say we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregAnnAuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were looking for a nice, romantic B&B in southern Maine to spend our anniversary weekend and James Place Inn just exceeded our expectations. The owners are great and they really take good care of you. The room (Wysteria) was spacious, cozy and beautiful. The breakfast was delicious. It was homemade, fresh and there were lots of choices every morning. The place is in walking distance to the famous LL Bean flagship store and other major outlets and restaurants. We want to specially thank Robin & Tori for their outstanding hospitality. We had an amazing experience and will definitely stay at James Place Inn, next time we are in Freeport, Maine.

- Sandipan & Jayita (from Connecticut, USA)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandipan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

My mother and sister were looking for the best Bed and Breakfast in Maine, and we found it here! We liked the reviews and booked a week in the Blue Room. It was much more spacious than I thought! Robin and Tori were so friendly and accommodating, giving us all the help and comfort we needed. Great location, food was AMAZING, the rooms cute and the nicest people you’ll ever meet running the James Place Inn. If you are planning a stay in Freeport, look no further.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
Thank WagnerLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainedream, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Thank you so much for the kind words. You all were fun to have here and we enjoyed getting a chance to talk with you. We get the most delightful guests here at James Place Inn, making it easy to be "the nicest people you'll ever meet." Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
996 reviews
15.7 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.8 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: £123 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing