We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just this side of perfect.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 August 2011

........ we should all have something to strive for.
My significant other and I enjoyed our stay so much we intend to return often. Perfectly located Robin and Tori were wonderful hosts. We felt like we were at home. Most essential attractions in Freeport were within walking distance. We enjoyed dinner and a sail in Portland with one of their packages. Also, on alternate days we visited the Maine Desert and Maritime Museum. All our excursions were short drives away. The James Place Inn is perfectly situated whether you want to stay busy or simply relax.
I've stayed at several B&B's, this was the best.

Room Tip: Request the Yellow room. The two windows keep it light and airy.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prof_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

We traveled to Freeport from Olathe, Kansas, as part of our honeymoon trip. The James Place Inn and the innkeepers Tori and Robin far exceeded our expectations. The house and our room was adorable and immaculate. Breakfast was served on the porch with cranberry muffins, Maine blueberry pancakes, sausage links, vegetable frittata, fresh fruit, and homemade toasted granola and yogurt. Absolutely delicious. Tori and Robin's recommendations for a restaurant and ice cream place in town were excellent. We felt right at home at the James Place Inn and we are planning to return next year with both sets of our parents for all of our anniversaries!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlkucinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed at the James Place Inn 4 times when it was owned by different folks and returned in July for a 4-night stay with our daughter who is now 5. Current owners the Barons truly want their guests to have a good stay. Breakfasts are plentiful and varied, and there are cookies and tea available all of the time. This is an historic building within walking distance of all of the shops and restaurants in Freeport--just park at the Inn at the beginning of your stay and only drive again when you have to leave.

The Barons are also quite knowledgeable about the towns and attractions in Freeport and neighboring communities--don't be shy about asking.

We'll be returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Robin and Torry are great. Breakfast was awesome and the owners were extremely nice and accommodating. The Inne is right next to all the good shopping. This is the place to stay in Freeport.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife and I spent just a night in Freeport, but I'm glad we chose to stay here! We were able to check in quickly, the room was very, very nice, they made a reservation for us at a wonderful local restaurant, and we were able to just stroll back to the Inn. The Baron's were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. We had a fantastic breakfast the next day... cinnamon french toast, a fritatta, and quiche. They've perfected they're recipe for relaxation all the way around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9392Batman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

What a wonderful stay at the Jame Place Inn. Robin & Tori made us feel just like one of the family. The breakfast was awesome down to every detail. They gave us some great suggestions for dinner and things to do in the area. Freeport has lots of shopping and some great places to eat in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyGal_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My husband and I found the James Place Inn back in September 2010, and we absolutely fell in love with it! The accommodations are lovely, and they make sure you have all the comforts of home, while taking advantage of the relaxing benefits of a vacation. Best of all is the breakfast! The innkeepers provide gourmet breakfasts, and even do special orders. My husband (and I, best especially my husband!) loves the coffee cake, and each time we have gone back to the inn Robyn makes it as a special treat! Also, if you're new to the area, the innkeepers help you find as much or as little to do as you like! Maybe you want to relax in your jacuzzi tub, or go on an adventure! They will find what you're looking for, and even help make reservations. We recommend the James Place Inn to anyone looking for the best overall experience in the Freeport area!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandR987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
967 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.7 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: £144 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing