We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlebay Inn(Freeport)
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
590
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspine roomquichehomemade granolaprivate deckfrom scratchtaupe roomcookiesquiet side streetwonderful hostsfrench toastbreakfast was deliciousll beanold friendswithin walking distancehome madeplace to stayhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This being our first time at a B&B, I really did not know what to expect. AMAZING is an understatement, I truly felt so at home here that I did not want to leave. Tori and Robin go out of there way to make sure that you feel totally comfortable, they honestly go above and beyond. The breakfast alone is reason to stay here. My kids and I enjoyed eating the delicacies prepared every morning like scones, blueberry pancakes not to mention home made bread. At night you could always find something freshly baked for just in case you wanted a little something before bed.I will be visiting often and only hope that they have a room available. Trust me when I tell you, you do not want to stay anywhere else. Centrally located and so inviting!! A TRUE GEM of a place and a wonderful family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraceG0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

It was such a pleasure for us to have you and your family here. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for the delightful review. It is always fun to hear "first time" B&B goers express of different the experience is than they thought it would be and how much they enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back and will continue to work hard to make this the place you want to stay. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A friend and I stayed at the James Place Inn this past weekend. Tori & Robin certainly understand why travellers choose B & B's over regular hotels. It's the details that make you feel welcomed and taken-care of for your entire stay. Everything about the inn was inviting and made us feel at-home. An amazing hot breakfast served to us on the deck was my favorite part. Totally relaxing & restoring. I highly recommend The James Place Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessInNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and yes, the deck is indeed delightful this time of year! Breakfast with a hot cup of coffee seems to taste better there. We are glad you enjoyed the inn and the details we try to provide. We both travelled a fair bit in previous careers and work to consider what might make our guests comfortable. Thank you for letting us know your appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

For our first trip to Maine, we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Nothing could compare to the hospitality, comfort, cleanliness and location. Robin and Tori (and Elyse) were excellent at helping with suggestions for dinner and the whale watching excursion they recommended was AWESOME!! We stayed 3 nights in the Taupe room and would have loved to stay 3 more. Thank you Robin and Tori - we will be back. Don & Brenda

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Awe, thank you! We so enjoyed having you here. We love to see our guests having a good time and wanting to return to Maine. It is great to hear about your experiences and the things you enjoyed doing and seeing. Thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about your stay here and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at James Place last weekend. Our friends, another couple, also stayed at the Inn. All four of us were in Freeport to visit a third couple who live nearby with their two children. Tori, Robin, and their daughter were so kind and generous. They gave spot-on recommendations for meals and they encouraged us to hang out at the inn with our local friends. When we forgot crackers for our cheese and wine, they were quick to donate their own. In the morning, they fed our friend and his kids breakfast, even though they were not staying at the inn! And what a breakfast. Robin whipped up two types of scones (cinnamon and raspberry), a quiche, a fritatta, bacon, AND buttermilk blueberry pancakes. Next time I'll have to also try their daughter's famous scrambled eggs. It was the best breakfast we had on our weeklong trip to Maine. It was also the best place we stayed. We will be back again and we are happy to have such a friendly place to stay in Freeport!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jaymes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

It was such a pleasure to have all of you here and watch you enjoy each others' company during your reunion. What a great thing that you have remained friends all these years.

We are glad you enjoyed the food and your stay. That the food was among the best breakfast while in Maine is saying something, with all of the great food in our state. Thank you for that!

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at James Place for one night and would love to have been able to stay longer! Tori and Robin are great hosts, and very helpful and accommodating. Robin gave some very helpful suggestions for finding the right spot for dinner. The room was clean, pleasant and very attractively done. We loved the homemade soap! And the full breakfast was unbelievable - from Tori's homemade granola to start, to the delicious quiche and frittata in the hot course. The inn is located on a quiet side street, and an easy walk to all the downtown Freeport stores and restaurants. Tori and Robin are exceptional hosts, and we can highly recommend James Place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is important that all of our guests have a wonderful time here on their vacation. Thanks for sharing with others. We look forward to welcoming you back some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews