We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Freeport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Robin and Tori were fantastic innkeepers. The breakfast was fantastic, as were the cookies and muffins (available all day long in the kitchen). It was a very relaxing atmosphere and all of Robin's suggestions were spot-on. My wife and I loved it there and can't speak enough of our experience. Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank afarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We are so glad that the suggestions were what you were looking for and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and share your experience with others. We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed only one night in this B&B but it is PHENOMENAL. The rooms are beautiful and allow for privacy. Tori and Robin were very kind and accommodating to special requests. Everything was very laid back and the breakfast was wonderful. This kicked off our honeymoon and after staying at 6 different locations, my wife and I without hesitation claim this to be the best! We will absolutely be staying here again. I highly recommend the James Place Inn... so long as you leave us room to make another reservation! =]

Room Tip: The Pine room is VERY nice and has two doors for sound proofing. It also has a private deck you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lifeofphysics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Congratulations again on your marriage. We are so pleased that you and Laura enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to have you here for the start of your honeymoon. Thank you for taking the time to write such kind things about us and your time here. We look forward to your return. Meanwhile, enjoy San Francisco and many happy years together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Tori and Robin are the perfect inn keepers. Breakfast was outstanding, our room was great, and the location, a few blocks from LL Bean and all other outlets is perfect... We really enjoyed our conversations over breakfast, everything was just perfect.......

Room Tip: just enjoy the inn wherever you are within the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you Bruce! It was a delight to have you and Bernadette with us and we enjoyed your company over breakfast each morning. The best part of our jobs is seeing the smiling faces of our guests as they enjoy themselves here at our inn. We are glad the location and inn were what you were looking for and fit just "perfect." Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and experiences with others. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed one night on our way to central Maine and Stonington. The Inn is located in Freeport, about 2 blocks from the outlet stores, including LL Bean, however sitting on the porch, you feel like you are miles away. .

Tori, the owner/manager, greeted us on arrival and made us feel welcome. I have to echo the term "super-nice" that I read in another recent review.

We have dietary issues, gluten and dairy and Tori arranged the best hotel breakfast I can remember. The gluten-free and milk-free French toast was delicious. Tori and her staff were attentive to all of our needs and questions. We stayed one night and felt like regulars.

The room was comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated. The inn was quiet. Our sleep ws excellent. The whirlpool tub was a nice extra.

We will definitely return and give this inn our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfast was so enjoyable! It was truly a pleasure to have you here and to have the chance to talk a bit. You were such a delight and so patient with my helpers while Robin was out of town. Thank you April and Gary! And thank you for sharing the delightful wine with me. It tasted wonderful after a long day. I do hope the rest of your vacation was relaxing and wonderful. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I are repeat customers of The James Place Inn for all the right reasons. Innkeepers Tori and Robin are very welcoming and provide a relaxing atmosphere that exceeds one's expectations of a Maine B&B. The Inn is quaint, clean and comfortable. Tori and a Robin have a wonderful way to make you feel at home while providing peaceful accommodations where you can enjoy your stay exactly how you want it.

The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and Robin's homemade breakfasts are worth the price all by themselves!

We highly recommend The James Place Inn and will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Greg Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you Greg for taking the time to write such a nice review. It was great to see you and Erika again. We loved hearing of your new adventures for the coming year. We are pleased that we were part of the beginning of it and that you two enjoy it so much here. Enjoy yourselves and all the best along the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a very pleasant stay - it was similar to being in the home of a good friend. Tori and Robin were very helpful in recommending places to see and had a variety of recommendations for experiencing Maine in the Freeport/Portland area. They were great to visit with! The breakfasts our two days were amazingly delicious, with a wide variety of choices. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay with here again if we get the chance to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and share your experience with others. It was a pleasure to have you here and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your recipe - we cannot wait to try it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Anyone who wants to stay at a clean, beautiful B&B close to everything in Freeport with AMAZING food and genuinely super nice owners with personalities second to none, look no more!! Tori and Robin have done a spectacular job on this B&B!

- Bed (we stayed in the Rose Room)- Extremely comfortable, large room (especially for a B&B), bottle water in the room and chocolates were a nice touch, beautiful tub, VERY COMFY BED (not your Grandma's lumpy mattress like you typically get in other B&B's), and a plus to all the guys - CABLE AND TV IN THE ROOM!

- Breakfast - Extremely YUMMY and good portion! Started off with granola, fruit, and a Robin's blueberry muffins that are to die for! Next came the amazing frittata (I need that recipes Robin!), bacon, and toast. This meal was definitely CALORIE WORTHY! (See Tori I told you I loved that expression!)

Even though they definitely exceeded the B&B expectations, Tori and Robin's hospitality truly made it a memorable experience. Thank you so much for all the stories and the laughs! Cannot wait to see you guys again! :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmilingGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerToriBaron, Owner at James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much Michele and Pete for all of the compliments! We continue to say that we have such fun, nice and interesting guests. It really was such a pleasure to have you here. Our cheeks still hurt from laughing so much:-) We hope the rest of your Maine experience was wonderful and we look forward to welcoming you back with more smiles and laughter. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.4 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
974 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.8 mi away
Kendall Tavern Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11 Holbrook St, Freeport, ME 04032-1204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Price Range: £144 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 Bed and Breakfast in Freeport, Maine (as rated by TripAdvisor reviewers). Beautifully restored Victorian sitting on a nice quiet side street, just 1 block from LL Bean and all the rest Freeport has to offer. Rooms have a private bath, TVs with cable and DVD (with DVD library for you to access), some rooms with Jacuzzi tubs or a fireplace. Full gourmet breakfast awaits you every morning, along with fresh-baked snacks upon your arrival. Delightful deck to enjoy during the finer weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your James Place Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Place Inn Bed And Breakfast Freeport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing