We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incompetent and Rude Staff / Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Two months before a wedding we attended in Maine, we made a reservation directly through the front desk. About two weeks before the wedding, I noticed a much better rate through Hotels.com (where I get rewards as well) and booked it. We called to cancel the first reservation and were told we were all set. Fast forward two weeks and the original reservation was charged to our credit card.

Hotel claims they never spoke to us, and that they held the room all night for us and we were a no show... even though we were staying in the hotel. General manager and front desk manager were rude and unwilling to help resolve the situation. Truly terrible experience dealing with management who thinks they are entitled to charge us twice for their staff's incompetency. Don't foresee myself staying at another Holiday Inn Express, let alone this poorly run location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfarrell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sorry you were not satisfied with the way we handled your no show reservation. This reservation was never canceled. After speaking with your girlfriend I asked who she spoke with when canceling this reservation and she gave me a name of someone who does not work at our property leading me to believe she didn't cancel with us directly so the error was not on our end.

We were sold out that night and the room in your girlfriends name was held all night resulting in a one night room charge. If you did put the hotels.com reservation in her name we would have saw you were in house and confirmed you needed two rooms. We offered you a comp. night to uses within the next 6 months and your declined this.

I feel we did everything and more to work this out and I apologize you do not feel the same. For future I highly suggest getting cancellation numbers to prevent this from happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

There are some small luxuries that one appreciates - a cover over the blanket is one. The beds here are comfortable and clean, The rooms are generous with a sitting area, microwave and refrigerator. The staff is friendly. Other than the free breakfast, which was barely edible, this motel gets no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3dogsnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. I am glad you enjoyed your room. We do have large, comfy rooms and strive to have the best house keeping possible. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast. If you would be so kind to email me with suggestions about how we can improve breakfast that would be very helpful because we take all comments and suggestions into great consideration (hiefreeport@gmail.com).

Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review and I look forward to talking further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We wanted a hotel between Boston and Acadia and this suited us well. The room was spacious and clean, the front desk staff very polite and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful. I would gladly stay here again and think it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 660Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for leaving our property a review. We appreciate you taking time to leave feedback to share with us and other future guests. I will be sure to pass this review along to all appropriate departments.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have been staying here for over 4 years during business trips and not once have I ever had a complaint about the staff. They are always helpful with different activities that are happening locally. The rooms are clean,quite and modern in style. The property is always being maintained and updated. The breakfast staff is very accomodating which is great as I'm not a morning person. The management is always asking for ideas to improve and add comfort to my stay.

Room Tip: You can hear very little noise from 295 when staying on the west side of the hotel which is great fo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you so much for taking time to leave our property a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. We appreciate your business and look forward to have you stay with us again. Thank you again for leaving feedback and I will be certain to share this review with our amazing staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Second time we have stayed here. We took three friends this time. A brilliant stay again.
Comfy beds and great service. As hotel fast breakfasts go this was also fine. If you are in the are stay here I dont think you will be disappointed. Hope to be staying again next year.

Room Tip: Upper floor if you can
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you so much for leaving our property a review. We are so glad to hear that once again you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you bringing your friends along to share a great experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. For best rates please contact us directly and let the front desk know you are a returning costumer! Thank you again for taking time to leave us feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport, Maine which was a lovely hotel--clean, friendly and helpful--on a 2 week motorcycle trip from Minnesota to the East Coast.

We had a box to ship from the hotel back to MN. The manager went "Above and Beyond" helping us to resolve the problems we had getting it picked up and shipped. She certainly went out of her way and we thank her for that.

If you are looking for a place to stay where you are not just a number...this Holiday Inn Express cares.

Thanks from the MN Harley folks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,


I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly apprecaite you taking time to leave our property a review. I am glad we were finally able to get your package sent off for you. If you are ever back in Maine we would love to have you stay with us again. I will be sure to share this review with our housekeeping and front desk staff. Happy Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My Mom and I were doing some shopping in the area and decided to pick a place last minute. This one was GREAT! Great deal. Gave us a room on the NOT HIGHWAY side. The bed was lovely. The breakfast was top notch. The room was really clean, as was the rest of the hotel. Even the parking lot was well maintained. The staff was super helpful and kind and wonderful. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: This hotel is close to a highway. Get a room on the side NOT facing the highway if you are a light s...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMorris711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,


We are so glad to hear that you and your Mother enjoyed staying with us. I agree with you, we do have a wonderful staff and I am glad we were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The housekeeping staff love to get guest feedback and I will be sure to share this with them. Typically the housekeeping get the negative feedback and not the positive and I will be sure to share this with them. Cleanliness is our priority and I am glad you enjoyed your room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
322 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
452 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
966 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £79 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing