We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Comfortable Overnight Stay;”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good, Comfortable Overnight Stay;”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed overnight on Oct. 12 during a visit to Freeport. The high standards of the Holiday Inn brand were all in place, including several selections for a tasty and wholesome breakfast. However, in our case, two employees at the hotel, Stephanie and Charlotte, made our day special through their kindness and patience. A good hotel stay begins with their kind of service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for the fantastic review. I will be sure to pass this along to the girls that provided you with fantastic service. We have a fantastic team and I am glad you were provided with their great costumer service! We greatly appreciate you taking time to leave us feedback and we hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    177
    59
    19
    17
See reviews for
147
181
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staveley
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Great, easy to find location, friendly, quick check in and room upgrade all combined to welcome us but poor cleanliness, an uncomfortable bed and an absolutely shocking breakfast means that we will not return! I am an Ambassador for IHG and cannot believe that any of the senior team would sign off on sugar icing coated pastries and eggs that looked to have come from a chemical factory rather than a chicken for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Bridgehouse_10,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Ambassador member and for leaving us a feedback. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to the level of cleanliness and the quality of breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giessen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very disappointing. Not up to the standards of most Holiday Inn Express hotels. Bedding was wrinkled and looked like it had been slept in. Rooms just minimally satisfying. Needs modernizing.
Breakfast like any other sub luxery hotel. Over priced too for what it offers. Been at other Holiday Inns that were much nicer. Days Inn in Gettysburg the night before was much cheaper and nicer.
Evidently there is quite a difference among the Holiday Inns. Kind of ruined it for us.

Room Tip: choose another hotel in Freeport..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank leeGiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear leeGiessen,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bedding condition and the breakfast selection which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived and brought in our things. The room was stuffy so we turned on the air conditioner and went to LLBean to shop then have dinner. After dinner we returned and the room was very cool so we switched over to heat and settled in for the night. Soon after the smoke detector went off and the room filled with a terrible odor of something burning. We called the front desk and the man on duty thought nothing of it and said it happens this time of year (October) He finally offered to come up and check it out. I was in the hallway as I wanted to avoid breathing in the terrible smell. He said it is fine and would clear out in a little while. We refused to stay there so he offered another room and we had to pack up and move everything OURSELVES then unpack again at 10 PM at night! He must have done something to the thermostat in the new room because the fan was not on auto and ran all night making it almost impossible to sleep. I finally looked it over and put the fan on auto and got a few hours of quiet before morning. After complaining to the morning desk clerk about our terrible experience the night before the manager deducted $20 from our bill and that was the only nice thing they did.
There was also an odor of urine by the toilet in both rooms! Not clean and we will never stay there again!

Room Tip: Be sure the fan on the thermostat is on Auto. Ours ran the entire night and I couldn't get to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Constance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so sorry to her you did not enjoy your stay at our property. I apologize that you heater/ac unit had a foul smell after changing it from air conditioning to heat. Unfortunately this does happen and we have already had the maintenance clean all filters prior to your arrival but there is not much else we can do to prevent this from happening. It DOES NOT happen often however it does from time to time. We have maintenance check all units frequently and had them all cleaned and switched to heat for 30 minutes the first week of September to help prevent this from happening.

We thank you for bringing this to our attention and apologize again for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Remember back when Holiday Inn's motto use to be "The best surprise is no surprise"? This hotel had a few surprises. Check-in went smoothly and the desk clerk was pleasant and cordial. We were given a room that met our request but when we arrived at the room, that is when the surprises began. The first thing I noticed were napkins on the chest where the television sits. Then I noticed one of the condiment packages at the coffee station had been opened. Then I went into the bathroom and saw a used towel on the counter, used soap in the shower and paper plates in the trash can. I immediately called the desk to explain the problem and request another room. She was rather nonchalant about the whole thing and said they had new housekeeping whom she did not know and they did not even leave her a list of the rooms that had been cleaned that day. Having been up since 3:30a that morning, we just wanted a clean room and a good night's sleep. The second room was much better. The facility itself seems to be fairly new, so that gets a plus from us. If I had waited another day to write this, they might have gotten 4 stars...or maybe not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side is the building as the back obviously backs up to a highway and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB4469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave our property a review. I apologize about the confusion and inconvenience you experienced while checking in. The women who checked you in did bring this to managements attention and we have already spoke with housekeeping to prevent this from happening in the future.

I am glad you enjoyed your second room and we hope this miscommunication does not prevent you from tying with us in the future.

Again thank you for taking time to leave our property feedback and we hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here for one night after arriving from Europe and driving up from Boston Airport.
Much better than HIE's in the UK, this was the second time we've stayed here. This time we were ugraded to a suite due to our Priority Club status.
The room was large and clean and the be was very comfortable which is all we look for when staying at properties of this type.
It's a 5 minute drive to the shops and restaurants of Freeport, although there are a few eating places nearer (Thai etc). Breakfast was included and was typical for an HIE. Pastries and some hot dishes as well, not what I would generally choose but hey...
Would happily stay here again if ever I was in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlee0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you greatly for taking time to leave a review aboutyour stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your membership with our IHG rewards program. We look forward to havin you stay with us in the future and if there is anything at all we could have done to improve your stay please email us: hiefreeport@gmail.com

Again thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Two months before a wedding we attended in Maine, we made a reservation directly through the front desk. About two weeks before the wedding, I noticed a much better rate through Hotels.com (where I get rewards as well) and booked it. We called to cancel the first reservation and were told we were all set. Fast forward two weeks and the original reservation was charged to our credit card.

Hotel claims they never spoke to us, and that they held the room all night for us and we were a no show... even though we were staying in the hotel. General manager and front desk manager were rude and unwilling to help resolve the situation. Truly terrible experience dealing with management who thinks they are entitled to charge us twice for their staff's incompetency. Don't foresee myself staying at another Holiday Inn Express, let alone this poorly run location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfarrell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry you were not satisfied with the way we handled your no show reservation. This reservation was never canceled. After speaking with your girlfriend I asked who she spoke with when canceling this reservation and she gave me a name of someone who does not work at our property leading me to believe she didn't cancel with us directly so the error was not on our end.

We were sold out that night and the room in your girlfriends name was held all night resulting in a one night room charge. If you did put the hotels.com reservation in her name we would have saw you were in house and confirmed you needed two rooms. We offered you a comp. night to uses within the next 6 months and your declined this.

I feel we did everything and more to work this out and I apologize you do not feel the same. For future I highly suggest getting cancellation numbers to prevent this from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
2.2 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
BEST WESTERN Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
11.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing