We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beat my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2010

The hotel wasn't necessarily "cheap", but I think this was a good value considering the service and location. It was literally 5 minutes from the outlet, and I couldn't fault the hotel service granted I only stayed there for 2 nights. The lady who was working at the breakfast station was very very diligent.

Overall, it beat my expectations. would come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccc362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

We appreciate your review of our hotel. We strive have a great value for our rooms and services! I will be sure to show your kind words to our breakfast hostess.

I'm glad your family enjoyed your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express, and hope that you will return soon! We'd love to become your 'Freeport Home'!


Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The room was comfortable and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was OK and it was nice to have the free wireless. There was a little road nosie if you are a light sleeper. Certainly close to the Freeport shops.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Planner73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express! I'm glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We're sorry your sleep was disturbed by the highway noise from 295.

We hope you will return and have another enjoyable stay, feel free to ask for a room on the front side of the building to reduce chances of road noise. We understand that light sleepers can be disturbed by the highway.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Very nice Hotel, close to everything ! I would suggest that you request a room in the front of the hotel since the back is a little noisy because of the HWY. Breakfast is great !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express! I'm glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We're sorry your sleep was disturbed by the highway noise from 295.

We hope you will return and have another enjoyable stay. Thank you for suggesting to our future guests about requesting a room on the front side of the building. We offer the same recommendation and will do all we can to honor that request. We understand that light sleepers can be disturbed by the Highway.

Thank you for the kind compliment about our breakfast! We strive to make it even better!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Stayed one night in September, and enjoyed our stay. Desk staff was helpful, and check-in speedy. Room was very clean and comfortable. Only drawback was the bathroom lighting was too dim, in need of brighter bulbs. Overall very pleased and would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3jstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for your kind words about your stay last September! We're very pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We strive to make your experience with us as convenient for you as possible. I appreciate you letting us know about the dim light in your bathroom. I will follow up with maintenance to ensure that there is adequate lighting in all rooms. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I am a very basic type person. I want a clean place to stay that is quiet. That's it. This place matches my needs. Breakfast was actually very good. Basic stuff but done well. The desk staff was remarkably friendly. TV was decent and the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank_castle911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for your kind review of our location! We here at the Holiday Inn Express strive to accommodate the need of all our guests, and I'm pleased to hear your stay was exactly as you wanted! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We came from Switzeland and stayed two weeks in the Freeport area, most of the time in the Holiday Inn Express that we loved.
We liked the way the rooms are decorated, the great wi-fi, the very friendly staff, and the nice free breakfast. During these 2 weeks, we also spent one night at the Hilton Garden Inn (probably the best in the region but more pricy, not so good wi-fi, and poor Verizon reception), one night at the Confort suite (clearly the worse of what we've seen here), and didn't stay but checked the rooms at the Best Western and at the Hampton Inn. But we came back 3 times at the Holiday Express, our best choice all things considered.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pseudocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

We are so glad you decided to stay with us! Our staff remembers you and is pleased to hear you enjoyed your stays with us! We strive to be the best and most friendly hotel in Freeport! Its no wonder we are becoming one of Freeports Favorites!

If you come to this area again we certainly hope you will return to us here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I spend one might at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport. TRAVEL TIP: pick up one of the hotel coupon saver booklets at the Tourist Information booth on the way. I saved over $79 on my room by clipping one coupon. Well worth the 5 mintue stop. I think I would have been disappointed to spend $179 for this room but was ok with the $99 I got the room for.
Back to the hotel - it's about what you can expect from a new HI Express. Decent room, clean, spacious, safe and a nice continental breakfast. Granted, this is not the 4 Seasons so lower your expectations accordingly but for a "value" chain, this hotel was quite nice. The woman at the front desk was terrific - very friendly and helpful. Kuddos to her! Here's the bad..I was given a room in the back of the hotel, which is very close to the interstate highway. When the air conditioner was on, the noice was not an issue, but when the fan wasn't running, the noise was very loud which made it difficult to sleep. Because of that, either book a room at the front of the hotel or be sure the fan is running all night or sleep will be a problem.
The location was good - just a few miles from the center of Freeport with all the outlets.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
2  Thank CarynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiexpressfreeport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and give tips to our future guests! We certainly appreciate it! I'm sorry your sleep was disturbed by the highway in the back, we do recommend that light sleepers request a room on the front of the building, we do all we can to accommodate such requests!

We hope that if you return to this area you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Freeport Inn
Best Western Freeport Inn
#8 of 11 in Freeport
475 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
997 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport

Address: 450 US Route 1, Freeport, ME 04032-7017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Freeport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freeport
#6 Family Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: £54 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A salty, warm breeze fresh from the Atlantic surrounds you here at the Holiday Inn Express in Freeport Maine. The world's best lobster can be found here along with L.L. Bean s flagship store open 24hrs a day. Come visit the birthplace of Maine, Freeport! This history-filled town is close to many attractions such as local mountains, trails, beaches, golf courses, and lighthouses, all just minutes away. Holiday Inn Express is the ideal destination whether you are traveling for business or leisure. You are just minutes away from the adventures that Freeport has to offer. We are located just 15 miles north of Portland International Jetport (PWM) and 10 miles south of Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our hotel with its coastal New England charm is waiting to welcome you with the newest accommodations Freeport has to offer. Our purpose is to take better care of you and your needs by offering a variety of amenities and services. During your Freeport/Brunswick stay you can enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, a fitness center, coin laundry, business center with printer, wireless and wired internet access, free on site parking, 24-hour coffee and tea service, the Simply Smart bedding collection, Express Start Breakfast Bar, Smart Roast coffee and our exclusive cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Freeport
Holiday Inn Express Freeport
Holiday Inn Freeport
Freeport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing